We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand-new, modern hotel in excellent location with very low prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seng Hout Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Seng Hout Hotel to your Saves list
Seng Hout Hotel
#1008B, Road 02 | Prekmohatep, Svaypor, Battambang, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 42 Battambang B&B and Inns
Sydney, Aus
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Brand-new, modern hotel in excellent location with very low prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

This hotel is right next to the market but is on a quiet street - the best of both worlds! The room was beautiful, the staff friendly and the prices very low.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    84
    38
    12
    15
See reviews for
23
106
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Here & There
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

This was my second hotel in Battambang. A much nicer stay than my previous experience in the city.
The room was large and clean and well located in the safe part of town. No services, no travel advice and no coffee was the downside but perhaps that will come. The wifi was slow and not reliable in the rooms but there was a great cafe nearby with very fast wifi.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

Stayed 3 nights at the hotel in July 09. Arriving by bus l phoned the Hotel and the owner himself picked us up from the bus station after calling us during the day to ask what time we would be in etc.. We had two rooms. One twin for our nieces and one for us, which is Mum, Dad and our 13 year old son. Beds lovely a big and rooms so clean and sparkly.

Bathroom even had its own small shower recess, so no water all over the place as is the norm in Mid range accommodation in Cambodia.

Fantastic outdoor areas, a roof top area to lounge around and enjoy soem take away from the many road side food stalls.

Location is excellant ~ a minute walk to the main Market. Safe.

No breakfast served at all, but only a short walk tto restaurants.

The service and friendliness shown to us by the owner was exceptional. Even sending us in his own car the next day with his driver to the Bamboo Train! no cost for the car and driver. He is very proud of his hotel and his journey to get their. We wish him well.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

The hotel is located near Psar Nat in Battambang. The owner has personally picked us up and drive us back to the bus / ferry station. It has a family atmosphere, the room is very clean and the furnitures are brand new. It is highly recommended for budget and mid range travellers.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

We stayed at Seng Hout for 3 nights in July 2009. It was one of the best value-for-money places we stayed in in Cambodia. Our room (Dbl room at $13) was a good size, impeccably clean, as was the bathroom.

We had free Wifi in our room, which was a pretty good speed. There were also computers with free internet in the lobby downstairs. The staff were all really friendly, although some of them didn't speak a lot of English (not a huge problem though, their basic communication skills were fine).

The only problem was that the bathroom was a wee bit smelly - always fine for a few hours after they cleaned the room, but the smell would come up the drain and be a bit distracting. If we'd asked to move, I'm sure they would have moved us as the hotel was quiet but we weren't too bothered by it. Still, that would be my only criticism.

For more on our time in Battambang, visit www.moodtotravel.blogspot.com

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

Battambang is a great little town to spend a day or two. There is one beautiful place in town to stay La Villa but the rest of the hotels seem pretty similar. We were pretty happy with Seng Hout spending 15US per night for a fairly basic but clean enough room with cable. There are some very nice communal areas on the roof with terrific views but it's hardly 5 star as one reviewer wrote.
The staff were indeed very friendly and the owner is obviously very proud of his tripadvisor reviews! A decent place to stay on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

We stayed at the Seng Hout Hotel in March with our four children aged 3-9.
We could not have been happier. The hotel was beautifully appointed with great facilities. The staff were friendly and went out of their way to assist us. The location is great, right next to the market and a walk or bike ride to cafe's and shops. There is lots to explore in the surrounding areas and don't miss the bamboo train!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seng Hout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seng Hout Hotel

Address: #1008B, Road 02 | Prekmohatep, Svaypor, Battambang, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About our hotel...Seng Hout Hotel is located in the heart of Battambang city. Built in 2008 is has beautifully appointed rooms with cable television, air conditioning, refrigerator and hot and cold water. Seng Hout Hotel is in a safe, quiet area close to Psar Nat Market and café area. Relax at the hotel after taking in the sights and experiences that Battambang Province has to offer. Watch the spectacular sunsets as you enjoy a drink on the roof top of the hotel with views over the city of the surrounding mountains. TripAdvisor loves us and you will love too..., if you are looking for a budget Battambang hotel, you need to look no further! Built in 2008 is has beautifully appointed rooms with cable television, air conditioning, refrigerator hot, cold water and you can enjoy with wireless unlimited in your room. Rooms are designed with a spacious space overlook the city and the garden terrace. Each room is equipped with air-conditioning. After along day touring the city; our cable television is where you can channels all news and entertainment around the world. The bathroom is equipped with both hot and cool water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Seng Hout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seng Hout Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.