We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ants and hair for spice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of White Rose

White Rose
St 2, City Centre, Battambang, Cambodia
(855) 012693855
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 70 Restaurants in Battambang
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Battambang
2 reviews
“Ants and hair for spice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Traveling around here doesn't make you very picky but can't give a good review after a hair and an ant in the soup. The flavour was okay but not one of my best meals. Though the atmosphere upstairs on the balcony was lovely!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    94
    68
    30
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Staff were too busy watching khmer tv to serve us,food was ok,but only just,quite a dismal experience after the reviews we'd read, constant begging on outside porch by children and adults spoilt the meal.I understand this is Cambodia but the locals weren't being harassed ,just the foreigners.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and Great services!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Don't miss this restaurant. This was by far the best meal and dining experience in Battambong province and at an amazing price for the quality and creativity of the food. I would say this was one of the best meals of my life and I will not forget it. The atmosphere was comfortable and unpretentious. I wish I had known about this place earlier in my trip so that I could have visited more than once! This would be a great meal and restaurant in any city, the only difference is in the Battambong province the price is much lower. Once again most of the drivers know that place!! I would like to recommend this restaurant to all of you !!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battambang, Cambodia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“The Rose Puzzle Warped in a Mystery”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The White Rose Restaurant nestled in the heart of Battambang’s city center is a puzzle warped in a mystery. It’s an expansive corner eatery that serves a hybrid western-Cambodian fare. The place is perpetually crowded; with a mix of foreigners and locals. One might assume with that kind of thriving business it would indicate that its cuisine was something special.
It ain’t.
Actually the two times I dined there the dishes I had were disappointing. They ranged from mediocre (the chicken curry) to awful (the so-called chili con carne).
The chicken curry was a listless affair of insipid curry sauce, wide white noodles and a smattering of small pieces of boiled chicken. For inexplicable reasons the curry included soggy French fries mixed in the soup. All in all the curry was not offensive, just instantly forgettable.
Now the chili was in a dismal class all by itself. In all my years as a chili aficionado I’ve never tasted a batch of chili that was so non-chili. Not sure how to describe it except that in no way could what I was served be called chili- maybe stir fried veggies with shoe-leather beef, but certainly not chili.
The service was predictably slow and the hospitality staff not very hospitable. I don’t mind a long wait for decently prepared food, but for the low quality at the Rose, it’s annoying.
Which comes to the puzzle warped in a mystery: how on earth does a restaurant do such a brisk business when its food is so lackluster?

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“MAGGOTS IN THE FOOD!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We have just walked out of this place as half way through out meal my girlfriend noticed there were maggots in her meal. Whilst complaining the owner (or who we assumed to be the owner as he seemed in charge) picked one of the maggots off the food and gestured as if we should carry on eating. Before we had noticed it the maggots the food was very average anyway. As we stood up to complain some homeless kids grabbed the plates and ate the remainder on the floor, this didn't seem to phase the owner either.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Rose also viewed

Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 
Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 

Been to White Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Rose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.