We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smokin' Pot” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Smokin' Pot

Smokin' Pot
Battambang, Cambodia
012 821400
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 75 Restaurants in Battambang
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Smokin' Pot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The food was very tasty. It was nice to have the kitchen out in the open where you could see the food being cooked. The bathroom was totally flooded when we were there. Water was all over the floor. There are certainly better values in the area.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    63
    40
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very over-rated.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The food was ok, but that's the best I can say. I think Lonely Planet is out of date when it rates it as the best restaurant in town. I ate at several other places that were much better.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Best food in town? You must be Smokin' Pot.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

If you think this is the best food in Battambang, I'll take a hit of what you've been smoking.

Sure, the food here is...okay. But this is one of the most overrated restaurants in town. I've eaten all over the world and have a pretty high threshold for "native charm," but the cleanliness here is considerably below even Cambodian standards.

I peeked into the kitchen on my latest (and last) visit, and I think they'd do better to prep the food in the bathroom. Seriously.

Everything you can get here you can get better at the Bamboo Train, Cold Night, Nary's Kitchen or any of the other good restaurants in town. And at those places, you won't have to worry about spending the rest of your trip on the toilet.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Had a good meal here as a couple. First time I'd tried Amok so can't comment on how it compares to other places but thought it was really good. Nice relaxed place within the central area. Good value and good friendly service.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The most delicious food in Battambang!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The Smokin' Pot, run by the lovely Vannak and his family, serves both Khmer and western food. Vannak is passionate about cooking, and passionate about Khmer food, and it shows. He uses organic ingredients, food is cooked from fresh, and it's just so delicious! Vannak also runs cooking classes- we went, had a great time, and learnt a lot. Really recommend it!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokin' Pot also viewed

Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 
Battambang, Battambang Province
 

Been to Smokin' Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smokin' Pot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.