We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa

La Villa
Battambang, Cambodia
730 151
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 66 restaurants in Battambang
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Colonial treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely little hotel, dwarfed by the buildings around it. We found the bedroom and bathroom extra special, we loved the high ceilings and found it to be a beautiful colonial French residence. Lovely atmosphere, friendly staff, nice restaurant. Defiantly recommend this one.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    31
    22
    11
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Had the best Fish Amok ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I dined in the restaurant from time to time under my stay at the hotel. It was a pleasant surprice to have their croque monseiur. It was even better than my own ( and I have done that since I worked at a cafe in Copenhagen in the '80 ties)
For breakfast you have bagette of cource. But also great small bons - and cake, which I alwas find strange as for breakfast.
And there there where my fish amok; it came in banana leafes, and was o so tasty.
If you are in to wine, the white one by the glass is great, the red one less so.
But the best thing of La Villa's restaurant is the staff. Very charming kitchen staff and lovely waiteress (and the French manager is cool).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I had dinner there i was very happy to find salmon here ! The food was very good and the woman who manages this place is very friendly, like the staff.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Lovely building”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The staff are a little inattentive here. The croque monsieur was good. A good example of art deco. I would come back to give this place another go.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Restaurant: be careful. Perhaps order Khmer menu?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I am not one for attacking an individual on here and hiding behind the computer writing a review and being a bully. When i travel i like to support people in the country that i travel to and try to look for positive always. However, La Villa under the Restaurant is listed in the latest published Lonely Planet guide as "Battambang's Finest Restaurant" It could be, who knows, but perhaps order from the Khmer Right hand side of the menu? We ordered the Western Special Fish Dish of the house, and got 'frozen boil in the bag white fish' with a cream sauce that was like flour and water!! Eeks!! Came with boiled potatoes and soggy green veg!!! Staff are nice, efficient, pleasant surroundings and no need to book, but would suggest giving the Western Menu a miss.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Villa also viewed

Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 
Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 

Been to La Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.