We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gecko Cafe

Gecko Cafe
Road No 1 | 1 Block South of Psa Nath Market, Battambang, Cambodia
017 712 428
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 70 Restaurants in Battambang
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I dined at this cafe 3 times during my stay. The staff were cheerful and friendly and the food was great.
The cafe also helps train and support the locals so as well as great food it is helping build and strenghten the community.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    120
    65
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“An excellent place in Battambang”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

It seems as though Gecko is THE place to go in Battambang. Nearly everyone we spoke to recommended we come here. And it didn't disappoint!

The menu is extensive - from various western options to Khmer and Thai favourites. There should be something to suit all tastes. We tried some beautifully fresh spring rolls, a tasy chicken panini and a lovely sweet&sour fish. The Pad Thai (which I didn't try) looked sensational and was highly recommended by others in our group. I can also particularly recommend the fruit smoothies.

As indicated in some other reviews the service can be haphazard (not an uncommon occurrence in Cambodia) but as long as you're prepared to go with the flow this should not be a negative.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yummy food and drinks in a quite a nice spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had dinner up on the balcony which was nicely decorated and had a good atmosphere as the tables weren't overcrowded together. The food was very good and the service prompt.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great idea, good food, bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Really wanted to love this place, but was put off by the extremely poor service. Although it is awkward to be critical of this well-meaning operation, my experience is offered in the spirit of contructive criticism. The server seemed very distracted and forgot to bring basics like salt and pepper, plates and cutlery. Got my simple drink order wrong and took 15 minutes to do it. To be fair, the burger was good but it arrived 15 minutes earlier than my wife's order showed up. C'mon guys, this isn't thailand. Compared with the excellent serving skills of the equally disadvantaged servers at haven in siem reap, all i can say is that there was plenty of scope for improvement on the evening i was at gecko.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
349 reviews 349 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Great food that does Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Had heard of this cafe but heard popular with other foriegners so had been put off. But having visited and seen the story of how this establishment is helping Cambodian youth, I was really impressed. Food great and handicraft store downstairs added value.
Only wish I has more time
A gem in BBang

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gecko Cafe also viewed

Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 
Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 

Been to Gecko Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gecko Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.