We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with welcoming staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Star Hotel to your Saves list
Star Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Lark A, Group.12 | Preakmohatep, Battambang, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Battambang
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great stay with welcoming staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

A great hotel with staff that are both friendly and helpful. The rooms are what you expect, clean and comfortable, lets be honest if your after Marriott standard accommodation then Battambang in general is probably not the place. Couldn't fault my stay. Well done guys.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    62
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
8
47
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed at the Star for 10 nights while in Battambang, and found everything very good. Staff were helpful and warm. Room was large and clean. Good wifi, good AC were a plus. Only improvements would be hot water and pillows, which were hard. Good budget hotel in Battambang.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battambang
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I booked a delux Room with a Kingsize Bed, that room should be 24 qm big.
They had no delux room with a Kingsize Bed and also the room was much smaller. There is some problem about what is offert on internet and what they have. I talked about these withe stuff and so we get hot water for the shower but no delux room and only a queen size bed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

It was a nice place! Very nice. The rooms are clean with large bathrooms, cable TV, and a choice of AC and hot water, or a fan and cold water. We were showed a room at first with snaking price of$20 USD. And stating true to Cambodian roots, you can always bargain anywhere. We got him down to 10$. With this being said, I would just show up there rather than booking it ahead of time online, because you may get ripped off by paying double the price or more.
Also! - they actually have soap and toilet paper, which can be a luxury to come across in Southeast Asia. I think this is the first hotel within the past 1.5 months I've seen with these assets. I highly recommend this place. The staff is great too!
Cheers to Star

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Clean hotel, centrally located, with quite good facilities (incl. basic breakfast) - though some internet issues. All in all, quite good value for money. One of the staff members - called Pizza - doubles as a tour guide and he's great, very kind guy with good English, eager to show around, share information about Battambang and its surroundings. My day with him, touring the Cambodian countryside around Battambang on a small motorbike, was a great experience, I really recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Decent hotel 5 minute walk from central Battambang.

Rooms are large, clean, have good wi-fi and good air-conditioning. Wet room bathroom but that's fairly standard for Cambodia.

Will arrange free pick up from bus station. Also recommend prices for tuk tuks etc.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Steps away from my bus depot, and with room ready for me after an overnight bus, the Star was really convenient. The room was fine, and though the Wifi never worked, given how little I paid I can't really complain.
From the moment I walked in, the receptionist followed me around, trying to get me to hire his friend to be my guide for the day. Regrettably, I relented in my sleep-deprived state and wish I didn't. His English was poor and I actually had to hire another guide to take me to the Killing Cave (not worth it, by the way--it's just a cave with a reclining Buddha and a grungy cage with some bones) and the mountain top for sunset, as my guide wouldn't drive up the hill and was unable to tell me how to get there on my own.
So, here's my advice: take advantage of the Star's cheap rate, but find a guide outside the hotel to take you to the sights; there are lots around who speak good English and are knowledgeable. And don't miss the bats, 3 million of which funnel out of their cave in a matter of minutes, and check out the circus in the evening. The kids are truly amazing.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Hotel

Address: St. Lark A, Group.12 | Preakmohatep, Battambang, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Battambang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.