We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay, great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star Hotel

Save Saved
You added Star Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Star Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Lark A, Group.12 | Preakmohatep, Battambang, Cambodia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 hotels in Battambang
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good stay, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the star hotel for 3 nights this march. We stayed in a standard double room on special for 10 a night.
This was great value as the hotel has very large rooms with comfortable beds by s.e.a standards, tv, fridge, big bathroom which ours had 2 showerheads.
The hotel is clean and tidy. The staff are all friendly and speak reasonable English.
It has a good location as it is easy walking distance from the centre of town, it is located opposite a bus terminal for easy transport to other cities and as it is not located directly in the city centre it is quite quiet at nights.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    49
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
7
37
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

It's virtually opposite where the bus will drop you off so really convenient. The hotel itself is really clean and the room we had was large with decent bathroom and amazing shower. The staff are friendly enough and speak good English but are very keen to sell you tours to the local attractions (bamboo railway, killing caves etc) but if you're not keen then a couple of no thanks and they get the picture. The hotel offers breakfast but we'd suggest going to the family run restaurant across the road that's excellent value, friendly and good food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We reserved a room at this hotel by agoda, and it was cheaper than in person.. Even if we tell them that they are more money if we book directly with with them.. Anyway
Room was perfect, one of the cleanest we had in Cambodia. Everything in the room was perfect. The employes speak enough English for me :) they didn't annoy us for anything. We booked a tuktuk driver affiliated with this hotel, Mr Soon.
He speak an amazing English, and a little bit of French! :)
We LOVED our day with him, he really want you to learn about his country and to show you the best. He put on us absolutely no pressure, and we laugh a lot with him. He is the reason we loved our stay in Battambong. You can ask for him, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue, Vietnam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Pros
-Big room
-Good wifi
-Good location. Capitol-bus station 50m away.
-Good bed.
-Roof top breakfast place.

Cons
-Smoking is allowed in the rooms apparently.
-They use pineapple peels in the room to take the smell of cigarettes away. That brings lots of tiny ants.
-Big ants in the bathroom.
- Minus point for not being eco-friendly. Towels were changed even though we left them on the rack. Also the one time used soap had been changed.
- Next morning there was no room service at all.
- Every time you walk by the lobby, you are offered a ride, tours, bus tickets. One time one guy walked almost to the room with us, trying to sell stuff. This after we´d politely informed them that we will let them know if we need something.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a good stay at Star Hotel. Rooms were well sized and nicely appointed. Breakfast was decent. For the price I paid, I thought I recieved a very reasonable deal. I would encourage others stay at this place if youre looking for a clean place at a good price. Also, the staff are pleasant and welcoming.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Star is a budget hotel in Battambang and is good value for the price range. I appreciate there a grander places to stay but for what I payed I was satisfied with what the hotel had to offer.

Rooms where clean, staff where friendly and attentive. They seem to cater for large groups of western tourists so it might be worth booking ahead for a room with an out facing window.

I felt safe - secure and slept really well.

The location is good and it's just. 3 min walk to the riverside and 5 to the market.

Only one frustration, the tuk tuk drivers use the downstairs toilet and when I first arrived I saw a man returning from the bathroom and I assumed he was staff, I asked him a question and he was really rude. I understand it must have been frustrating for him to be asked about the hotel but no need for his response.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed Christmas & Boxing nights 2012. We were part of an Intrepid trip. Had a lovely big room. Close to everything. Staff friendly & helpful. Wifi good. Breakfast ok and plenty of eating options nearby. Close to bus station.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Hotel

Address: St. Lark A, Group.12 | Preakmohatep, Battambang, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 hotels in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Battambang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.