We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amazing Nyaung Shwe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Amazing Nyaung Shwe to your Saves list
Hotel Amazing Nyaung Shwe
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Yone Gyi Street | Inle, Nyaungshwe, Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Nyaungshwe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Just excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

- Everything is excellent..especially the breakfast..
- Nice room with good decoration.
- 2 mins walk to city center, 1 mins walk with choices of restuarants
- Can arrange to boat for Inwa.

Cons:
- they charge us 26000Kyat for a taxi back to the airport; we found another one for 18000Kyat in an agent in town within 2 mins walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    104
    28
    4
    1
See reviews for
40
120
20
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Amazing Nyuang Shwe had just what you needed in this very charming little town. If you don't want to be restricted by staying actually on the lake, then there is no better choice I saw in the town. There are plenty of restaurants and places to have a beer, nearby. This is no party town but you find a few drinks beyond just up the road but things close early here like in most of Burma.

The downstairs rooms were very pleasant and sitting on the veranda after a long day on the lake, was bliss. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

There are two basic choices in terms of accommodations for a tourist when visiting Inle Lake: One could stay in one of the many 'resorts' surrounding the lake, far removed from town and isolated from the local population and rub elbows every day and night only with other Western and Asian tourists or one could opt to stay in Nyaungshwe and get a feel for small town Burma, although admittedly a small town oriented to the tourist trade. You have to ask yourself why you are really visiting Burma. If you are one of those for whom Burma is just another notch in your travel belt of exotic third world countries, your idea of a great meal in Asia is pizza ( or whatever other comfort food you are morbidly attached to) , you cling with anxiety to other tourists with like language and expect luxury among abject poverty, then by all means head out to any one of the numerous 'resorts' along the Inle Lake shores. You will learn little about Burma. On the other hand if you are one of those tourists curious enough to interact with the local people and are truly interested in learning more about their culture, you would be a little better off staying in Nyaungshwe. If you opt for the latter I can enthusiastically recommend The Hotel Amazing Nyaungshwe, a small (a bit over a dozen rooms) hotel located at the edge of town but close to most everything you might want to visit including the local market which certainly merits a tour when in session. The town itself has few if any 'tourist sites' per se but a simple walk down the dusty main street to observe the daily life of the locals and occasional personal interactions will be rewarding enough. The hotel Amazing is a charming, modern and well kept property with clean and comfortable rooms. The staff are a quite attentive and basic English is spoken by some of the receptionists and other hotel workers. If your room is located near the office on the second floor, the ringing telephone may be a minor annoyance. The hotel restaurant is highly recommended with excellent Burmese dishes with a Shan bent. The grilled lake fish was our choice for all of the nights we ate there. Give it a try if you choose to lodge there. You may enjoy your meal either in the dining room of the hotel or outside on a small wooden bridge spanning the adjacent creek. The outdoor setting is quite lovely and we seemed not to be bothered by flying critters during our evening meal. We tried other disappointing restaurants in town and in the end ate all of our meals at the Amazing. The breakfast (included) was basic and adequate but not stellar. Besides located in the center of things, the Amazing Nyaungshwe serves as great base for exploration of Inle Lake area. We looked around town and found the best prices for excursions were offered by a place a block or so down the street (on the right as you are walking into the main part of town) with a WIN sign out front. A full day trip to Sagar by boat and return was $ 45 US, a half day trip on the lake to visit the closer sites was about $ 20 and a trip to Kakku via Taunggyi was about $ 50. You will need a Pa O guide as well to visit Sagar and Kakku.Remember to tip the boat operators and guides and consider that they really only earn $ 2-3 dollars a day for their efforts.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
315 helpful votes 315 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had a perfect stay here. The proximity to stores, restaurants and travel services makes this a great choice. The fact that the rooms are really really really nice with balconies, views and a fantastic service puts this place in a category of its own in Nyaung Shwe. The room was perfectly appointed, great size and the bathroom really nice. Very clean too. On site laundry was really affordable as well. The restaurant over the canal is so amazingly picturesque. Breakfast was really pleasant and relaxing. This hotel is a great starting point or base for exploring Inle and the surrounding areas. We stayed one night on the lake and were wondering why we didn't just stay in this hotel the whole time and simply arrange boat rides to explore the lake. Would have been much saner and more pleasant.

Room Tip: Security conscious travelers might want to request a second floor room since the first floor patios...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Amazing Nyaung Shwe for two nights in July 2012 and also at the sister hotel (Amazing bagan resort) in Bagan. We had been recommended to stay at the Hotel Amazing as the best hotel in Nyaung Shwe and we would have to agree. Life is fairly primative here and the tourism industry is just getting back on its feet so there aren't too many options of reasonable accommodation. Nyaung Swhe is perfectly placed to explore Inle Lake and we found two days was perfect to explore the area. The Hotel is well located in the town yet peaceful and quiet. I am pretty surprised by other average reviews of this hotel as this certainly wasn't our experience. While the front desk service wasn't quite as good as the exceptional service at the Bagan resort, they were still pretty good. The upstiars room we had was very clean and comfortable and the aircon fantastic. We ate at the restuarant for dinner which was very good, as were the breakfasts. The restaurant staff were delightful. The hotel was a great oasis to come back to after exploring out on the hot, dirty dusty streets. Our only gripe would be that the hotel charged significantly for to arrange a taxi to the airport than the standard rate which we payed to go to get to the hotel from the airport when we arrived. If they are going to charge a premium, they should at least make arrangements to have new(ish) vehicle (or better still buy their own quality van) to make the airport tranfers which almost every guest staying at the hotel would require.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, Netherlands
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

After disappointing hotel experiences in Yangon, New Bagan and Mandalay, this hotel was like a little beacon. Comfortable, clean, friendly staff, good service. Breakfast was fine - not amazing, but perfectly acceptable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The Amazing was the hotel we liked the least of all our hotels in Myanmar. It was not awful but it was not great. Ok to sleep but would not rush back. We were told it is the best in town and maybe it is from a western hotel point of view but I would have preferred to stay at a guest house.
It was clean and while the rooms a bit ho hum – perfectly functional. The Amazing felt like a cheap small town motel rather than a hotel and certainly did not feel like part of a large chain.

The upstairs rooms while up a steep stair case had lots more privacy than the downstairs rooms but these had a nicer deck area. None of the downstairs rooms were let out when we were there.

The good stuff first for the Amazing
• Great central location – walkable to everything
• Fantastic breakfast – really huge. I could never finish even half of it and I had the local choice which was delicious – Simply Shan I think it was called - the 4th or so on the list. You had to select a breakfast choice the night before. They specially made a pancakes for my son too as he was not too keen on the options which was nice. As with all places we stayed – great freshly brewed coffee
• Most of the staff were lovely – special mention to ZuZu. We had an issue with the manager at check in that did not seem to get better – she was very abrupt and unlike the other staff not very friendly.
• Has air-conditioning – apparently they are currently installing new air-conditioning units as the one in our room was woeful. The one in our sons room was ok.
• The restaurant was surprisingly good – with grilled fish and other BBQ treats plus other dishes – and cheaper than some local places in town.
• The eating area on the little bridge was a nice area and as it was set back from the main road not as dusty as the towns restaurants – where even the menus needed to be wiped down before they gave them to you as every time truck went past everything would be covered in a cloud of dust.

The stuff we were not that happy with:
• We arrived in the morning from the flights from Bagan around 10ish – we had 2 rooms booked and were told we would have to wait until 2pm for one of them. Seemed really mean and rule driven as the hotel was empty – one or two other guests. I could understand in peak times but there were never more than 3 rooms booked at the one time during our stay. This was not a great start as it was obvious that there were plenty of free rooms. seemed that they were only using a few of the rooms over and over again. They said they were renovating but we could not see or hear any evidence of this.
• Holes in the sheets and big ones in my sons room.
• Wifi – forget it – never worked during our whole trip. Nort sure why they even both to offer it as it just causes frustration
• Air conditioning did not work that well
• Smell in the bathroom pretty bad until you ran the water for a while
• Spa ridiculously expensive - $22 for a foot massage – we gave that a miss

We paid $60 a night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amazing Nyaung Shwe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amazing Nyaung Shwe

Address: Yone Gyi Street | Inle, Nyaungshwe, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Shan State > Nyaungshwe
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nyaungshwe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nyaungshwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Amazing Nyaung Shwe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Nyaung Shwe Town, the Hotel Amazing Nyaung Shwe is a landmark, combining the best of traditional Myanmar architectural style with all modern conveniences. The Hotel Amazing Nyaung Shwe surpasses any other hotels in the area and defines true luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Amazing Nyaung Shwe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Amazing Nyaung Shwe Myanmar/Nyaungshwe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amazing Nyaung Shwe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.