We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Paradise Hotel to your Saves list
Paradise Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40, Museum Road | Tharzi Quarter, Nyaungshwe, Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Nyaungshwe
Middelburg, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Nice hotel in a nice location: very quiet. I had a deluxe room, which has a nice porch and a very nice (modern) bathroom. Staff is very friendly and breakfast is quite good (included in the price).

Bed is on the firm side (not to my linking, but could be different for other people :)). There is no wifi, but they do have two computers in the lobby that you can use (for a fee). The internetcafe in town is cheaper though.

Would come again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    54
    25
    7
    6
See reviews for
10
48
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The only reason we didn't stay on the lake was because there was not a single bed available anytime around when we could be in the Inle area, so this was a default choice. With hindsight really glad we did NOT stay ON the lake - you're really stuck out there, and no boats will take you back to your resort on the lake after dark, so it's dinner at your resort every night! Paradise Hotel was not bad at all. basic but clean, fair size rooms, hot water, nice chalet-style layout to the hotel. Like almost everywhere in Myanmar, forget about sleeping in - between temples and tourgroups getting going while it's still dark, and loudly, it's impossible. Not a bad option. Don't waste your time with the breakfast, even if included - go to one of the local restaurants for much better noodles and soup!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were in tears when the boat pulled up to Paradise Inle Resort - the musicians on the steps up to the pavilion, the cooling drink, the cottages-on-stilts right on the water. We were delighted to be taken to a Superior front cottage. We could watch the Leg-rowers Ballet from our balcony, and bathe in the large tub overlooking the lake. The drinks in the bar were a bit light on alcohol, but the food in the restaurant was good. But - the next morning, beginning at 5AM, the chuga-chuga boats begin arriving. Seeing sunrise on the lake was lovely, but if you want to sleep a little later, perhaps you should try a room further from the entrance. Oh, and don't forget to tell your boat driver that you want to go to the silk weaver's workshop, where you can watch women spinning and weaving fibers from within lotus stems, as well as silk. Cat-lovers? Silky Burmese, part of a project to restore the breed to Myanmar, are waiting for laps to jump into at Heritage House/Burmese Cat Café. Good drinks and a very interesting library for those looking for more than lap cats.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danang
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

As many other reviewers posted, this IS NOT the one on the lake itself, but is in the town.

I am happy we stayed in the town rather than the lake because more food options and drinking options. Anyway, you will be on the lake throughout the stay. So, for the hotel. As I mention in other reviews about places in Myanmar, they are all completely overpriced and with names not quite matching what they actually are. Paradise? Uhm, not really, but actually pleasant to walk around and the rooms have nice big balconies to relax on in the evening. Rooms aree basic with a tiny little tv with no English stations. Three cans of soda in the fridge at check-in. Drank all within a day and they were never refilled. Soap/Shampoo/Water had to remind the hk staff about. How is that???
The staff? Always greeted with a "Mingalabar" or "Good morning" and a smile and one of the gardeners gave my girlfriend freshly cut flowers a few days.
We didn't book anything through them and chose to use the internet elsewhere as for some reason they charge twice the rate to use their computer. ($2.50/hr)
The food was as basic as every other "budget" place around the country. Some toast and choice of eggs. The staff at the restaurant are very nice, especially one fella...should have caught his name.
The hotel is near to restaurants and beer spots and a close walk to the central market. Bit of a hoof to the ferry area, but not so bad.

All in all, I suppose I would stay here again. Compared to the rest of Myanmar and other hotels, the 50 I paid here was decent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I am reviewing the one in nyaung shwe which is the closest town to inle lake.. NOT the one on inle lake. The pictures i see posted on this are mostly from the place on inle lake. The one in nyaung shwe is best avoided. There are many hotels of good value in nyaung shwe and inle lake. I believe this property is doing well only because people confuse it for the other when booking a room. Service was fair, though we found a lady behind the reception rather unfriendly and with a perpetual scowl, so very unusual for myanmar. You have to pay for internet usage, much more than what you would at internet cafes around the corner. Mediocre breakfast, but the pancakes/ crepes were a welcome change from the standard breakfasts served all over myanmar. Room walls are thin, you can hear neighbours and even people in the room above talking and yes.. sneezing!

Room Tip: Best avoided
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay in this medium-sized hotel which is close to several shops and restaurants and only about 20 mins walk (or a 5 min rickshaw ride) from the jetty to boats for Inle Lake. We stayed in a very pleasant bungalow room next to Reception, which made it a bit noisy when the early morning departures were underway. Comfortable bed, lovely verandah to sit on and the bathroom was certainly a lot more modern than many we encountered in Myanmar. The breakfast was excellent and although there was little choice, it was swiftly and pleasantly served. All in all, a good place to stay and we would be happy to return.

Room Tip: If you don't want to be woken early, try to avoid being near reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Paradise Hotel is well situated in Nyaungshwe (a little town close to the lake), close to the town restaurants and little shops. The hotel itself is basic, don't expect great luxuries, but the hotel staff is amazing: they arranged for us our boat trips (for a good price), cars and made reservations wherever we wanted to go to eat... When we were there (august 2012) they were renewing some of the bungalows of the hotel and they looked well, much better than the old ones that we had (Lotus compound), that as I mentioned were basic. Nevertheless everything was clean and the employees took care of everything. We had a small glass that was broken and they fixed the problem just in a while. AC was working well (although noisy...) and we had no power cuts while being there. Summarizing, basic and clean but with very helpful staff.

Room Tip: There are some new bungalows, ask for them!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Hotel

Address: 40, Museum Road | Tharzi Quarter, Nyaungshwe, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Shan State > Nyaungshwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Nyaungshwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Paradise Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Hotel Myanmar/Nyaungshwe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.