We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but management isn't so friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gypsy Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nyaungshwe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gypsy Inn
Save
You added Gypsy Inn to your Saves list
82 Canal Rd | Win Quarter Inle Lake, Nyaungshwe, Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 39 Nyaungshwe B&B and Inns
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice location but management isn't so friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The location isn't central, but it's beside the river. The guy owner isn't so friendly but I think he's not aware of it. He always say, "YOU UNDERSTAND?" like he's talking to some kid who has never travelled nor spoke English. I'm not affected with it though, it doesn't cloud over the mesmerizing beauty of Inle lake anyway.
The room that I stayed has two beds. I shared it with another traveller. It's relatively clean, as well as the toilet. It's spacious. There is an aircon, but I didn't try if it's working--it was too cold to switch it on anyway. One of the issue is the hot shower, it's not even warm. The lights sometimes work sometimes don't--maybe some power loading issues. The wi-fi wasn't working at first, then my roommate and I reset their wireless router (when they were not looking) and it started working! :)
This is a "sleepable" place especially when there's no more rooms available in other guesthouses.

I spent two weeks backpacking in Myanmar. If you want to know how much I spent during the entire trip, feel free to read my blog: http://aldrinmercado.com/2014/01/10/budget-solo-travel-two-weeks-myanmar/

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    26
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
24
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The place itself is ok but the management is very poor, not very helpful and very rude. Breakfast staff are nice and breakfast is ok. Rooms clean and ok too. Management lets this place down badly. He didn't tell us that if we put our names on a boat list we could share the cost of the boat to save on money so we had to pay for the whole boat. We wanted to pay for our room in dollars and when we checked in he said twenty dollars and when we checked out he said twenty one dollars and when we said he had said twenty dollars he got angry and chucked a book down and told us not to go there ever again. A very rude man.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel - there are much better alternatives
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumagaya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We arrived in Inle Lake around 6pm and didn't have a hotel booked. After being turned away by 3 hotels, the Gypsy Inn said they have 1 room left. We jumped at the room ($30 USD a night) because we thought there might not be anywhere to stay. We were worried that we were going to get a crappy room since this was the last one, but we were wrong. The room was clean, the bed was nice (super good pillows), the shower had good pressure and hot water. The staff were great! We arrived by motorbike and they allowed us to park at their house and wanted to make sure our bike was safe. They also were very concerned when we lost our bag! The hotel owner was also very helpful in planning boat trips and give information. We also used the laundry service (cheap) and the breakfast was very big and good! We loved this place! The only drawbacks are limited internet (turned off at 10pm) the noise from the canal which is right across the street from the hotel. A room on the back of the hotel might be better if you want to have a quieter stay.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, try one in the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I arrived at the Gypsy Inn a little exhausted after 3 days trekking and 2 nights of not much sleep. Initial impressions were wobbly - the welcome team struggled to smile! However, the room was clean, comfortable and the shower was great. Breakfast OK too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We moved from the Joy hotel to the Gypsy Inn and we were very happy with the move. 2 other people we met at Joy moved as well and they were also very happy with the move. It can be a little noisy in the morning when the boats start to leave but it was much cleaner and cheaper than the Joy guesthouse and the family are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weert, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

A family run hostel, friendly staff, very comfortable rooms, great breakfast. Hire bikes, hire a boat driver and ask for directions and connections to other destinations, they know it or find it out for you. Don't expect anything of wifi, because most of the time there's no connection.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location as it is on the river connected to the lake itself. You can arrange a boat trip from the inn at a competitive price for the whole day and the boat leaves from across the road, share you boat with others to save money. The rooms vary in price so you can get a good deal but as with anywhere in Myanmar the rooms full up fast. The breakfast is included and is exceptionally good, the wifi however did not work for the duration of our stay as was only available in reception. It's cheap to hire bikes which in my opinion is the best way to explore the town and a trip towards the hot springs is a really fun day. I recommend only eating in local restaurants in the town look out for places with draft beer.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gypsy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gypsy Inn

Address: 82 Canal Rd | Win Quarter Inle Lake, Nyaungshwe, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Shan State > Nyaungshwe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Nyaungshwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Gypsy Inn Myanmar/Nyaungshwe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gypsy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.