We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lakeside Beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aureum Palace Resort & Spa Inle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aureum Palace Resort & Spa Inle to your Saves list
Aureum Palace Resort & Spa Inle
Mine Thauk Village, Nyaungshwe, Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Nyaungshwe
Scottsdale Arizona
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lakeside Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

After a fast and thrilling longboat journey to this beautiful resort on Inle Lake, we settled into our magnificent room, really a suite. Enormous closets, a lovely sitting area, and a separate bath area the length of our room were among the features. The large shower with pebbled floor, huge wooden tub, and completely enclosed toilet were across our hall from the sleeping/sitting room. The food at the hotel was excellent. Service was courteous and efficient. The lobby and gardens were very attractive, and a free computer was available in the business center. We really wished that our stay had been longer so that we could have time to spend at the pool and spa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    37
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
74
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

After trekking from Kalaw to Inle Lake for 2 days, we arrived at Indein (western side of the lake) and was taken by boat to Aureum Resort with a stopover at the floating gardens. Having stayed in a Pa-O village, which had no electricity and modern bathroom the night before, the Resort was like a welcome paradise! We were booked into the one of the huge, second row villas that overlooked the lake. It afforded us a stunning view of the gorgeous sunset (see photo) that very evening!

Although the facilities were world-class, we felt that the "software" was sadly lacking. Don't get me wrong. The staff were gracious and ever ready to please, especially the manager, "Papa" as with most Burmese that we meet everywhere we go in Myanmar. However, the standard of service needs to catch up with Thailand and Bali where similar resorts abound. When we first arrived, we were seated at the lounge area and served a welcome fruit punch and cold towels. Once the check-in process completed, we were escorted by the GRO to the front porch, where an electric buggy was waiting for us to take us to our villa. Unfortunately, there was a group of guest that just got back to the hotel and they simply "hijacked" our transport, much to the chagrin of our GRO. She should have signaled to the young driver to wait for us, but she just let him go off with the guilty party. Instead of apologising to us and offering another buggy, she asked us to walk to the villa with her, which was some 200m away.

After sunset, we decided to dine at their only restaurant. The decor was akin to a fine dining restaurant with soft lighting, so we thought that we were going to enjoy our dinner that night. However, the food was, at best mediocre. We ordered the vegetarian tempura as a starter, but the batter used was oily and the vegetables disappointing. There was even just a lettuce leaf that was fried in batter and served with the other tempura pieces, which really surprised us. Oh yes, there was no tempura soya dip served with the tempura and we had to eat them plain and very dry. We had to ask the waitress for some ketchup to dip the tempura in just to add a little taste to the otherwise insipid dish. When our main courses came, there was more of the same vegetables that accompanied as side dishes, which showed that the chef just merely recycled most of the same stuff for the different entrees. The buffet breakfast the next morning at the terrace was much better tasting and was the only culinary saving grace for us.

Beyond the raw service and so-so food, thank God that we'd booked the foot reflexology spa treatment on the evening of our arrival because we thoroughly enjoyed the treatment in our room by the two masseurs. Maybe it was because we had trekked for over 50 km to get to the resort and suffered from extremely sore feet and calves that we appreciated the massage much more. The next morning after breakfast, we booked the Burmese-style massage and had our lovely treatment at the spa center for more than an hour each. Don't miss this or you will regret it.

When we checked out on the second day and our guide and boat came to pick us up, we had the chance to pass some resorts along the huge lake and then we really appreciated our stay at the Aureum Resort because it was superior to all the others that we passed along the way back to the Northern shore of the lake, where a car was waiting to pick us up to take us to the Heho airport for our flight back to Yangon. Oh, our boat did make an unscheduled stop alongside one of the boats of famous one-legged Intha fishermen and he proudly showed us how he used his special cone-shaped nets to catch a live fish as well as showed us how he rowed his boat with one leg and a single oar. Remember to give them a tip, although we had the feeling that they are used to "performing" for passing tourists in their boats and probably they get more income from tourist tips than from actual fishing for a living.

Room Tip: Request for the bigger villas that overlook the second row villas. You will get an unblocked view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights starting March 10th. We had a lake view bungalow (room) which was top class, it was very large beautiful and very well equipped, bath room is amazing and the views of the lake were incredible (it should be even much nicer during October to January while water level is higher). There is also a nice swimming pool to relax and have a drink at the late afternoon hours. The stuff is very polite and always smiling and helpful and the food is fine. We would certainly recommend the resort for top stay at beautiful Inle lake area

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, HaMerkaz, Israel
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We own a small travel boutique, catering for specialty group, seeking to blend authentic experiences with top-notch accommodations. It's no wonder that we arrived at this resort as soon as it was recommended to us by our supplier.
We found the place to be an impeccable combination of service and infrastructure. Pa Pa Win, our hostess, is for sure one of the best all-around service managers I have ever come across, and the rest of the team is no doubt of the best available in Myanmar – attentive, patient, and responsive.
The restaurant is amazingly well, and serves delicious and sumptuous Shan menus, that are ubiquitous, as it IS the Shan state we are in. the bar is a hit-and-miss thing. I have had about 20 Mojitos over the past 2 years there, half of which were of the best I ever had, and the rest a kind of a Lemonade.
Rooms are the main issue in this hotel. Each the size of a small apartment, with a bathroom that is as big as a deluxe room in major hotels. Rooms are beautifully decorated, and in good taste.
And that's where troubles begin: for starters, there is no central control of the lighting in the room. To turn lights on and off, you need to search the premises like an FBI agent, as some of the switches are well hidden, and there are so many of them…
Then there is the matter of this "decorative" height gap between the room and the bathroom. Each night, as you try to feel your way to the bathroom (we DID mention that light switches are long way into the room, didn't we?) you can hear the screams of people falling on this "step", cursing in languages I didn't even knew existed. It's a real menace and danger, and should be replaced very easily with some board that will end this hazard.
And then the thing with the hot water. For a hotel this size, it would be more appropriate to have limitless amounts of hot water coming from a central heater, and not a small personal heater, that runs out too soon. The shower is so amazing, and so much fun, it's a shame you have to flee halfway through on account of you freezing out there in the cold (no curtains – you are taking a shower in the middle of Yankee stadium…)
All in all, an AMAZING experience, well worth all 5 stars on all accounts, 5 stars that could very easily be there, if only for these minor adjustments to the problems mentioned.

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms are to be avoided at this stage, as boats are running their motors when arriving at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

You will have to travel a very long way to find a better resort. The rooms are huge but tasteful, you could have a party in the bathroom and there is ample storage space.

As with most places in Myanmar the staff are very attentive and their English is better than most of the guides. Food is varied and good. It is a bit out on a limb but it you want a couple of days of pure relaxation, you won't find anything better.

Room Tip: The single rooms are on the front line with uninterrupted views of the water and the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Beautiful resort by Inle Lake! The location is idyllic, private and ... quiet. It took more than an hour by boat to travel from land to the resort. The villas layout are such that the first row is on the water, with beautiful views of the lake; the second row is in between lake and land; while the last row is on the hillside.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norddeutschland
Top Contributor
647 reviews 647 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 208 cities Reviews in 208 cities
538 helpful votes 538 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Location:
Just on the eastern side of the Lake in the middle of nowhere, which is very good for a very tranquil atmosphere and a nice view on the sunset but leaves you a bit trapped. Lot´s of green and a very nice birdlife for people who love nature. On the other hand, the villas are literally above the lake, so moscitos will come out at sunset.

General layout. A very nice and big reception and from there ist is wooden planks over the lake to the rooms/villas. All in small bungalows above the lake. There is a large pool (not heated and a very nice sitting area close to the main lobby.

Room:
We had one of their villas for two nights and the room had a sort of vow effect. An extremely spacious bath area (double sink, very large wooden bathtub), lot´s of seating opportunities, a large slepping room with very good view of the lake, all in a very wooden design. The one negative about this room was that it was impossible to fill the tub with hot water. It can get cold at night, so the offer of hot water bottles and extra blankets should not be turned down easily. Morning and afternoon turndown. The very good thing was the large veranda overlooking the lake.

Food: We did not have any dinner, the breakfast buffet and the lunch on our tours was more than enough. On the first night the hotel was very empty so they served a very good ala carte breakfast. If you are in that situation: One item for two persons is enough. The buffet contained hot and cold dishes, western and myanmar style, I recommend the hot noudle soups they offer with cilantro and lime. You will certainly find all you need.

Staff: Very friendly and helpful even though we are low maintenance guests.

One important thing: If you choose not to dine there, after 6 (when the tours are done for the day) it gets very dark and there is no activity outside. That can be very relaxing...

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aureum Palace Resort & Spa Inle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aureum Palace Resort & Spa Inle

Address: Mine Thauk Village, Nyaungshwe, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Shan State > Nyaungshwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nyaungshwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inle Lake is stunning and to appreciate the extensive natural waterways from the lake shores of Aureum Resort and Spa offers unsurpassed luxury accommodation of villas built over the waters and shores of one of Myanmar's most stunning natural and cultural wonders, Inle Lake. Each expansive villa is elegantly decorated with generous space for bathroom and Jacuzzi and lavishly equipped with amenities. With private outdoor terrace for viewing a spectacular sunset over the lake and hills beyond, Aureum Resort is the perfect location in which to explore the wonders of this unique destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Aureum Palace Resort & Spa Inle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aureum Palace Resort & Spa Inle Myanmar/Nyaungshwe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aureum Palace Resort & Spa Inle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.