We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Inle Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villa Inle Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Villa Inle Resort & Spa
Maing Thauk Village, Nyaungshwe, Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Spent two nights at the resort. We were supposed to be picked up by prearranged transportation from Heho. The SUV was obviously too small for 6 persons and luggage. After much rearrangement we reached Nyaungshwe where we were taken by boat. The journey was breathtaking.. floating gardens, boatmen who used one leg to paddle, The resort was everything we were hoping for and more. Great service, Nice little touches like nice hot ginger tea as a night cap just before sleep.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room. You pay a little bit more but its worth. Try to select rooms which are clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    36
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
82
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed here for two nights to conclude our trip in Myanmar before flying home. I can't fault the villas which were very well constructed and appointed and had lots of nice touches. Very comforable and relaxing overlooking the paddy fields with herdsmen and water buffalo going about their daily chores. We took a half-day Lake Cruise which was a great trip - recommended. I felt the restaurant was poor. Falling to the old problem of trying to cook what they think westerners / Europeans want - and then not doing it very well. I stuck with the local options but they were pretty uninspiring and bland tasting. There is no bar as such - only limited seating outside and service from this is somewhat tardy and reminders were frequent. The staff were otherwise excellent so I'm sure this can be addressed. The internet / wi-fi is at best flaky - not unusual in this country. We were unable to pay by credit card as no connection could be established so make sure you have the back up US$ if necessary. My only other real gripe was the price - for Myanmar. Easily double what we paid everywhere else but with the issues above. The hotel does not a pool so I'm not sure what you'd find to do if you stayed here for say a week unless complete relaxation is your thing. There was building next door and the Lake is rapidly developing with new villas and hotels which may ultimately change the character of the place. Did not seem set up for families if that is a consideration.

Room Tip: Get a villa looking out stright on the lake. There are two rows - some at the front and some set beh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights towards the end of a two week trip in Myanmar. Arriving by boat was a special experience. We were quickly checked in and taken to our villa on the lake side. The room was absolutely lovely with a balcony to watch the water buffalo in the fields, the lake and the sun setting over the mountains. The food (both breakfast and dinner) was very good although as we were visiting during the low season there was no atmosphere in the dining room. I enjoyed a traditional Burmese massage in the spa which was very good and excellent value. As per all of our trip in Myanmar, the service was excellent.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, washington
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

You will arrive by boat to this small resort on the edge of this massive lake. You will be escorted to your personal cabin where the shower floor is smooth stones sitting around teak stepping path. We arrived after a long day viewing more pagodas in the heat. After checking in we headed to the spa. Our massages we so good and only $60 for an hour, we went for 90 minutes.
The only place to eat is in the dining room, a nice diverse menu some good wines and low average price.
Sitting on the deck of our room after a long day cruising the waters was very relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

You arrive and leave the hotel by boat. The last few metres being rowed through floating gardens by an oarsman using the peculiar leg technique typical of the area. We were lucky to have a room overlooking the lake and from our balcony had wonderful views of the sunset and the bird life of the lake. The room was beautifully equipped in dark wood. The bed was large and comfortable.
The hotel restaurant is very good with attentive and ever helpful staff.
This was a magical experience and staying here was one of the highlights of our trip to Myanmar.

Room Tip: Try and get one of the cabins overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Very charming little place nestled onto the side of Inle Lake. Princess Inle is my top choice but this one is a VERY close second. The overall atmostphere is very cozy. The rooms are private villas which are very tastefully done. Actually the rooms are better than Princess rooms BUT the overall facilities cannot compare. Also the food was simply average. Certainly give it a tyry if Princess is fully booked which it usually is. Price is quite cheap as well. A solid little place to escape to for a little Burmese bliss...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

This Place is Amazing and VERY Glad that We Stayed here. No Complaints. We had a Wonderful Stay Here. We were Very Impressed From the Moment We Arrived by Longboat and for Our Entire Stay at this Resort. Our Guest House was Beautiful, Well Appointed, Cozy and Comfy Bed. Great Views of the Rice Paddies and the Lake, the Grounds are Beautiful. Food was Great and Very Satisfying. Extensive Menu from Which to Choose, Asian and International Dishes; Great Service. No Complaints. Quiet, Peaceful and Restful. We enjoyed the Daily Fresh Fruit in Our Room every day.
Overall, I would say the Service was Exceptional and Top Notch. You will be Amazed by this place, it is Like Paradise on Inle Lake.
Our Tour Guide Met Us Daily at the Dock and Off We Went by Boat to Tour the Lake and Very Interesting Sites and Places of Interest in the Inle Lake Region. The Lake Region and this Hotel, the Villa Inle, is a Very Unique Place in Myanmar; it was Really Neat to Tour Around by Boat, Arrive and Depart Daily at the Dock of the Villa-Inle and then the Ride by Boat to the Airport When We Left.
We hired a guide in advance of our trip and in the mornings our guide and boatman would be waiting at the hotel dock to take us to various places around the lake. Making our way up the canal, to and from the hotel, was really Nice. The Ride on the Lake and throughout the Canals gave us a Very Interesting and Unique Perspective of the Lake Region. It was Amazing.
Highly Recommend a Stay Here to explore the Delights and Very Interesting and Unique Sites of the Lake.

Room Tip: Select a Lake Front Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Inle Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Inle Resort & Spa

Address: Maing Thauk Village, Nyaungshwe, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Shan State > Nyaungshwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Nyaungshwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Inle Resort & Spa is the ideal choice for those seeking a unique experience, away from mass-market tourism. All villas are designed to harmoniously blend in with the natural environment. Featuring hand-selected local paintings and antiques, high wooden ceilings, and spacious living areas and bathrooms, they radiate a sensation of luxury and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, EasyToBook and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Villa Inle Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Inle Resort & Spa Myanmar/Nyaungshwe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Inle Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.