We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ViewPoint Lodge & Fine Cuisines

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added ViewPoint Lodge & Fine Cuisines to your Saves list
ViewPoint Lodge & Fine Cuisines
Near Talk Nan Bridge and Canal | Shan State, Inle Lake, Nyaungshwe, Myanmar (Formerly View Point Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Nyaungshwe
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here as we were travelling with young children and did not want to stay out in deep water. We made the right decision in choosing this place. The beautiful resort is located on the canal in the town on Nyaungshwe with the 'jetty' right next door.

From check-in (welcome drink) to check-out it was a great experience overall. The over water villas were beautiful and spacious. Eventhough there were 5 of us in the villa we didn't trip over each other and had enough space to do our own things. They prepared beautiful single beds for our boys with their own little mosquito nets in the living room, which delighted them to no ends and provided them with a "tent entertainment" for hours. The children enjoyed feeding the ducks from the boardwalk or from our balcony.

Breakfast was good with a variety but more western fare than traditional. We thoroughly enjoyed the different types of bread presented in a basket to us at breakfast. The restaurant was open on all sides and provided a lovely ambiance and a taste as to how the Shan "sawbuahs" used to enjoy their palaces. Dinner at the restaurant was also good.

The little natural-traditional bathroom amenities were a winner as well as the fresh fruits.

Overall, the staff were wonderful, the place was well kept and it did not dissapoint. Great for families with young children as eventhough the villas are on water, it felt safer than being out in open lake. The location is also close to Nyaungshwe town centre, which is a 10 mins walk away. The jetty being located right next to the resort is also convenient after a tired day out on the boat on Inlay Lake.

Room Tip: I think it will be better to have the villas closer to the road side than the canals and probably fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    61
    14
    1
    3
See reviews for
38
115
28
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in January. The hotel is fairly new and well designed, nice touches include books in the rooms and Tattinger available by the glass at the bar ($14). Rooms, which are individual cottages on stilts are laid out in a ' Y' shape over a small man made lake at the back if the hotel. Beds are large and comfortable and each one has a nice little balcony over the water. As Pixrover (see earlier reviews) discovered, rooms nearest the hotel on the right in the stem of the 'Y ' such as 102-108 do not have quite such a nice configuration and don't all have a balcony. They also have no outlook at all, as they look onto a busy dirt road and noisy canal. They are family suites which interconnect. Friends of ours who were placed here asked to be moved.

Food - particularly the western food - was very good though we were not so keen on the Shan cooking which we found not terribly interesting. Breakfast was continental served on a tray at the table - excellent pastry/bread basket and good coffee. Eggs are also offered - but as someone has already commented, always underdone, no matter how you ask for well done! We found it cold in the open- sided restaurant at breakfast and dinner, although blankets were provided. There is a very nice small indoor and outdoor lounge area downstairs in the bar area, where there was also a fire lit every evening. This was very popular and we could never get near! We did not sit outdoors at night at all, because it was too chilly.

I think this is a good choice in the winter as it is handy for the town (someone suggested you could eat there but we saw nowhere that looked worth trying). However i would not choose Dec/Jan to return here as i prefer warmer weather and being able to sit outside. Days were warm and sunny but as mentioned, mornings and evenings were very chilly. in the warmer weather I think I would go for a resort with a view of the lake and a garden or pool for relaxing. Service was always cheerful and willing.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

If you have money to spend, these serene and well appointed stilt bungalows are divine. Viewpoint offers some of the best service in town, with prices to match. The rooms are clean, airy, with balconies, new bathrooms, and local decor. Think Western aesthetic touched by Myanmar culture. Throughout the hotel you will find service with a smile and good English skills. The food in the lounge is good, but definitely more expensive than you will find elsewhere in local places. Bikes can be rented on the premises, souvenirs are available for purchase on site, and you can enjoy tea on the veranda or French food in the first floor alcove. They also have a full bar and plenty of wines to choose from. Top notch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The hotel, under French ownership, has a main building close to the main road in the center of Yawnghwe, near the bridge and the starting point of many boats going to Inle Lake. The rooms are towards the back, away from the noise and built over water. The rooms are large and comfortable. The breakfast was good, but don't order soft boiled eggs. We asked for a 4 minute egg, but both the white and yolk were so thin, it all run out once the egg was broken.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

A luxury hotel in Nyaungshwe, the town at the head of the Inle Lake. The hotel is run by a Swiss guy, and is styled very nicely and luxuriously (and european). The bungalows are on a artificial small lake, two flats per bungalow. The nicely furnished room have a terrasse to the lake, are spacy and have a comfortable bed with a view and a mosquito net. There's hot water but it takes half a century until it has found its way to the bungalow - especially when having one of the last in the row. Nyaung Shwe is a quite busy place and during the day pretty loud. Because the hotel is located on one of the main bridges, both bikes, trucks and boats are roaring by - with loud motors which are typical for the country. The city is quiet during night, though.
The hotel has an excellent restaurant, too, although a bit too much for european tastes and quite expensive. Guests who prefer to eat and pay like locals won't be happy here.
The staff is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Tastefully designed bungalos on stilts on a canal on the edge of the main street. Location is perfect :close to the center and the departure point for lake boats yet a bridge away from the city noise.
Service impeccable and excellent food: breakfast was the best in three weeks of travelling the country. So were the bikes to rent which made cycling the countryside path really pleasant.
Tip: take a boat on the lake at dawn to see the light on the mist for the real experience.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colo.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at ViewPoint during our recent visit to Myanmar. It was a great respite from hectic Nyaungshwe and a great home base for an Inle Lake visit. The 2nd story lake and street view restaurant is a great spot for people and boat driver watching. The breakfast is top-notch. We had dinner there twice, too. Great wine, which was a nice change of pace from Myanmar beer.

The rooms are lovely and spacious. Our room had a great outside space so we could sit and relax in the afternoon. The jetty is right outside so it was easy to catch a ride to Inle Lake destinations.

While we were there, a Swiss student, Jeni, was doing an internship at the hotel. She was charming and made the stay even more friendly.

Room Tip: We had room 202 and it was quiet and had a sunset view. A local road is nearby so you could people-w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ViewPoint Lodge & Fine Cuisines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ViewPoint Lodge & Fine Cuisines

Address: Near Talk Nan Bridge and Canal | Shan State, Inle Lake, Nyaungshwe, Myanmar (Formerly View Point Inn)
Location: Myanmar > Shan State > Nyaungshwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nyaungshwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A MEMORABLE IMMERSION IN THE MYANMAR WAY OF LIFETHE PLACEViewPoint Eco-Lodge sits on the edge of the canal leading to the magnificent Inle Lake in the colorful Southern Shan State village of Nyaung Shwe.ViewPoint Eco-Lodge is nestled on its private lake, on the shore of Nyaung Shwe villageROOMSLuxurious Cottage Suites are built in the traditional Shan way. All are easily affordable without compromising comfort, amenities or the unique atmosphere of the Lodge.All Suites are equipped with wireless internet, home cinema, LCD TV and unlimited digital movies and music.RESTAURANTSViewPoint is the only lodge in the Shan region boasting two restaurants that blend excellent local and continental cuisine and wines, room service, together with Swiss management.ECOTOURISM JOURNEYS AND ACTIVITIESViewPoint organizes tours for mountain bikers, trekking and cultural tours. all supervised by experienced local guides.ENVIRONMENTFruit and vegetable plantations Orchid garden Biotope fishing lake Village life at your door step Rice fields and flooding gardens.Because of our ecological commitment, ViewPoint contributes a portion of our income for rural development and sustainable farming in the Inle region.INVISIBLE BENEFITSThermal & sound insulated rooms Double-insulated glass windows Drinking and wastewater are biotechnologically treated before consumption or returned to nature.Food safety is a #1 priority at ViewPoint. We practice specialized food safety procedures to ensure that physical, chemical and biological hazards are eliminated throughout all stages of food processing and preparation.‘ViewPoint is more than just a lodge. Some hotels sell rooms. We sell global satisfaction and lasting memories’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your ViewPoint Lodge & Fine Cuisines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ViewPoint Lodge & Fine Cuisines Myanmar/Nyaungshwe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ViewPoint Lodge & Fine Cuisines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.