We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place, very reasonable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aquarius Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aquarius Inn to your Saves list
Aquarius Inn
2 Phaung Daw Pyan Rd | Nam Pan Quarter, Nyaungshwe, Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 Nyaungshwe B&B and Inns
Ventura, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great little place, very reasonable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Considering where things are headed in Myanmar with respect to the tourism trade, this place is an absolute gem in one of the most popular tourist areas in the country. The people running Aquarius Inn are fabulous...friendly, attentive and just plain good at what they do. I will definitely go back when I return to Nyaungshwe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    52
    19
    8
    3
See reviews for
9
84
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Aquarius Inn is very very nice guesthouse with one of the friendliest people I've met in Myanmar. They really look after you and do small things like bringing you some tea and fruits when you came back from your day trip, give you very good tips about restaurants (the one very next to them is very good!) and help you with whatever you might need. And they won't extort you. I highly recommend it. (the rooms have no AC, but the night there is cool so you don't really need it).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The hotel exceeded all expectations. Clean, tidy, furnished with taste, the patio is small, but also neat and tidy. Very pleasant, friendly staff, always ready to help. They called for us the boatman for a trip on Lake Inle to Indeyn village and even Jumping Cat Monastery, and a taxi to the airport in Heho.
In Nyaung Shwe was pretty cool, but the hotel room was very warm. However, there were very few small shops and restaurants nearby. Most of purchases are made in the market, which is still not up to as close as I would like - about 10 minutes on foot.
Next to the hotel you can find two interesting monasteries and photograph them.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Been there 2 nights and was really satisfied. Warm caring from hotel owners. Great breakfast with fruit and change food every morning. Good atmosphere to make friends as well as relax. Convenient location to reach harbor and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

As the title of this review suggests, my husband and I had a wonderful experience with the owner and staff. They helped us with laundry, directions and suggestions on meals. The Inn, overall, was a lovely setting and filled with interesting curios. The common space is very welcoming. We were a bit disappointed by our room. It was dark and worn beyond what one might expect at an inn in Myanmar. Because they did not have a room the next night, we had to change to another hotel, the Remember Inn, which had brighter, less worn rooms, but lacked the homey feel of the Aquarius and the welcoming staff.

Before we booked our room at the Aquarius, I questioned whether or not we should stay on the lake itself or in Nyaungshwe. I am so glad we stayed in the town. Not only is it a fraction of the cost, we were able to explore the town more and have some really great experiences that we might not have gotten stuck out on the lake.

I would suggest calling ahead. We were there during low season and the Aquarius filled up!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Wonderful, welcoming guesthouse. The manager helped us arrange bike hire, boat trips and airport transportation all at very reasonable prices. Clean, basic rooms with mosquito nets and bathroom with hot water. I think this was also the best breakfast I ate in Myanmar; big plate of fresh fruit. bread and a different egg dish each day. Very helpful and friendly staff serve tea and fruit in the cozy courtyard at the end of each day. There are a lot of mosquitos (but that's Inle not the fault of the guesthouse). A huge "thank you" from my 5 year old son who thoroughly enjoyed watching cartoons with the family and staff in the evening. When he left his stuffed toy behind in the room they also somehow managed to persuade another guest to bring it to Yangon by plane the same day. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krasnodar, Russia
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel staff is super friendly and helpful. We arrived from Heho airport in the afternoon and manager helped us to organize a trip on the lake. They called their boatman. Just during our check-in they offered us hot herbal tea and fruits. Rooms are wery spacious, warm and decorated in traditional style. There are antimosquito nets inside. Cozy courtyard with lots of flowers and plants. Delicious rich breakfast with fruits.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquarius Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Inn

Address: 2 Phaung Daw Pyan Rd | Nam Pan Quarter, Nyaungshwe, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Shan State > Nyaungshwe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Nyaungshwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Aquarius Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Hotel Nyaungshwe
Aquarius Inn Myanmar/Nyaungshwe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquarius Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.