We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well managed-value for Inle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of May Guesthouse Inle lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nyaungshwe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
May Guesthouse Inle lake
Save
You added May Guesthouse Inle lake to your Saves list
85 Myawaddy Road, Nyaungshwe, Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 39 Nyaungshwe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Well managed-value for Inle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Managed to obtain a single room without a reservation, which in this area is an achievement. The staff are really helpful and sincere. Despite having a budget room with shared bath facilities I was more than impressed. The whole place is immaculate and has great facilities in particular, piping hot water and good wifi connection. The breakfast is comprehensive and to a good standard. The lake jetty is 500 metres away and there are plenty of shops and restaurants within the immediate vicinity.
Try to make a prior reservation because May's is extremely popular

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    39
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
25
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Lucky for us we got a few night stays in May Guesthouse (thanks to someone who canceled else only a night for us), as it turn out this is our favourite guesthouse throughout Myanmar. The owner and the boy was soft spoken and helpful. They are all also very attentive, like how we left out bicycles unattended outside for few minutes they have already lock it for us. The place is also well thought of with a nice garden for breakfast, and all the little things that make a place a good backpacker place. The only gripe is that the walls are too thin, we can hear what's happening in nearly all rooms surrounding us. All in all still value for money and we had a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puno
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Found a room here when we were getting desperate

Liked in very much. Good vibe, friendly staff , good breakfast

Walls a bit paper thin but once everyone settled down very quiet

Very honest. They warned us that there might be noise from next door but no problem

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We paid $16 / night for a room with 2 beds and outside showers. The outside showers are amazing – great water pressure!!!!! The toilet is also clean! The room was really basic but that is all we needed. There is wifi in the garden and reception area. The owner and his nephew are very kind-hearted and tried to help in whatever way they could.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The rooms are adequate, May Guesthouse used to have a reputation for a good breakfast, it's not bad but I missed having the usual two eggs. I did love eating in the nice garden though! The neighbours can be noisy with music, as well as the huge stray dog population which it seems is all over Myanmar now. The hotel prices have gone up all over Myanmar, but sadly the quality hasn't. Don't expect white sheets anywhere, or aircon everywhere. May doesn't have it, and often doesn't need it. Inle lake is a must see place!

Room Tip: Myanmar is a hot travel spot, and hotels are filling up fast so book ahead. The good old days are ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The May Guesthouse is in a quiet location about 10 minutes walk from the "main street" of Nyaungshwe.The proprietor is friendly and helpful in arranging boat rides on the lake and other excursions. I thought it better to go through him rather than try to haggle directly with the boat operators themselves, in case of a dispute later.
The room I had, with hot water and breakfast, was good for the budget price I paid. I didn't need air con -- the Inle Lake region is at a higher elevation than Bagan and so is comfortably cooler.
Nyaungshwe itself is small and very walkable. Folks in town seemed friendly enough, but attitudes may change with the onslaught of tourists as Myanmar opens up to the strange ways of foreign visitors. I noticed a more jaded attitude already among the shopkeepers and artisans visited during a day-long excursion to smaller villages and markets along the lake, people who are becoming more dependent upon tourism.
Nonetheless, the almost idyllic environment and rich culture of the lake region had me wishing I had more time to explore the area; two days were not enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiping, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The worker at the guest house was extremely friendly. On that day we left the guest house around 5pm back to Rangon, even though we had checked-out in the morning, the boss still ask us to take a rest inside and have a shower before we left. Besides that, the room was still very cheap, only cost us 15USD for 2 person with superb calm & homely environment.

Room Tip: Do some survey from books / net before you travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to May Guesthouse Inle lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Guesthouse Inle lake

Address: 85 Myawaddy Road, Nyaungshwe, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Shan State > Nyaungshwe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Nyaungshwe
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
May Guesthouse Inle Lake Hotel Nyaungshwe
May Guesthouse Inle Lake Myanmar/Nyaungshwe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage May Guesthouse Inle lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.