We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greedy owner of a good place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Teakwood Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Teakwood Guesthouse to your Saves list
Teakwood Guesthouse
Nyaungshwe, Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 33 Nyaungshwe B&B and Inns
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Greedy owner of a good place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed there for 2 days while visiting the Inle Lake area. Rooms are clean, nice, have air condition and a separated bath. However prices are high compared to other offers in the city. Thanks to Lonely Planet I guess.

Price range between 30 and 45$ per night.

Breakfast included but barley something to eat.

If you travel and want an authentic place to stay, I do not recommend it. However it is quiet, the owner speaks english, but pushes the prices too hard for the level of quality.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    59
    21
    28
    25
See reviews for
6
70
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Not so cheap, but very comfortable and clean accommodation in Nyaungshwe. Please, be aware that the Shan Lady and her daughter (that own and manage the "business") will try to sell you almost every kind of additional activities (boat trip, SPA treatment and transport, massages, bus & flight tickets, ...), and they are used to insist a bit in their proposals! And prices are not the best you can find around.
Rooms are fantastic, especially the ones in the new building, with bathroom walls coated with natural stones. Quite and relaxing.
Breakfast is included an very good!
In case you need to change money the rate is good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The hotel is great for the price, the rooms are big and clean, and the brakfast is really good. But the family that owns the hotel is quite rude, which contrasts a lot with the kindness of all the Burmese people we met on our trip. Also they are in a hurry to make you pay for their excursions: don't do that, their prices are much higher than those you'll find in Nyaung Shwe !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negros Island, Philippines
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Teakwood has the our pick status on LP. and I understand why. Considering the meager choices, Teakwood has a nice garden, bigger and well-decorated but basic (fan & hot shower)rooms. That is as good as it gets, however.

The guesthouse has a weird, cold atmosphere. The owners are not friendly and just give off bad vibes. They insist it is high season when it is in fact low season(and that we are lucky to have a room), demand full payment fr the get go (insist on a day to day basis), promised we can watch tv near the reception for the Euro finals and on the said date said that we can go to town to watch it, told us to park our rented bicycles(fr another place) at the back of her house, yelling "this is my place, my place!" and it goes on and on and on...

We believe in spreading the money around when we travel and also patronize smaller establishments especially if the owner is nice. PYI Guesthouse has nice, newish rooms for 30 dollars, same as Teakwood. But tv and internet is available. Across it is a small store that also rents bicycles. The owner is a wonderful man.

Also, Teakwood charges more for everything else (boat trips, transfers, tours). The taxi service owner, insists on us paying ahead or the driver but doesnt want to go thru the guesthouse "because difficult owner." That gives you an idea what their neighbors think.

There are a lot of construction going on for new guesthouses. More choices for travellers who shouldn't be stuck with unscrupulous people. Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Really charming. A family owned guest house with perfect common areas to curl up with a book after a long day exploring Inle. The food is fantastic and the rooms are great. If you're looking for five star boutique hotels, you've kind of come to the wrong country for that (at least for now). But if you're looking for a charming place run by a helpful family, then I couldn't recommend it more. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The bungalows in the back are a bit more expensive but farther away from the common areas so I'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed at Teakwood in April 2012 for three nights. Originally, we had planned to stay for one night and then move on to a nice hotel at the Inle Lake. But after spending one night on the lake, we decided to go back to Nyaungshwe and the centrally located Teakwood. The rooms and the communal areas are neatly decorated, clean and very spacious. We had the 35USD room with our own bathroom/shower, which was great. The breakfast definitely stands out from the average Burmese hostels.
Tinki, the owner, is indeed a good business woman but we never felt talked into anything that wasn't worth spending the money. The prices are fair and we never had the feeling of any sort of rip-off. The tour around the lake she organized for us was a bit pricier than tours you can find with other agencies but was very much worth it. The rental bikes are in good conditions. All in all, very recommendable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Saturnin les Apt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed at the Teakwood guesthouse in the end of February 2012. Before arriving I called ahead to try to reserve a room and when I inquired about the room rates the ower was very vague, she just repeated that she had all kinds of rooms and that she would keep a room for us. We arrived late afternoon ater a 12 hour exhausting bus ride from Bagan. In the Lonely planet guide book as well as the French guidebook Le Routard the room rates are quoted between $12 and $20. Upon arrival the owner said she had rooms in the price range of $35 to $50. I told her that I found it bizarre that the the prices had doubled in a relatively short time and her answer was that the rooms are very nice and that the breakfast is very good! I tried to negociate with her saying that we wanted to stay three nights, but she would not give in and since we were very,very tired we decided to stay one night in a 35 dollar room. When we went to pay she said that if were interested, the following day she would have a $30 room available
and I very,very stupidly said yes. She demanded the full amount, $95, for three nights up front. Usually in Burma you either pay every day for your room or most commonly, at the end of your stay. When we arrived back at the hotel the following day she had moved our luggage into the new room... The more expensive room ($35) where we stayed the the first night was OK, quite bright and with a small outdoor space with two chairs. The "new", $30 room, was a dark, humid hole with a view of a dark covered passage way and two water heaters. The furniture consisted of two beds and a small stand for your luggage. No chairs, no table, not even a hook to hang up a piece of clothing or a towel.
The price for bike rental, boat trips, bus trips, everything is much more expensive in this guesthouse than in town.
The staff is very young.
This arrogant hostess has dollar signs for eyes.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Teakwood Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teakwood Guesthouse

Address: Nyaungshwe, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Shan State > Nyaungshwe
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Nyaungshwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Teakwood Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teakwood Guesthouse Hotel Nyaungshwe
Teakwood Guesthouse Myanmar/Nyaungshwe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teakwood Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.