We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a real market in Asia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kengtung Market

Kengtung Market
Kengtung, Myanmar
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Kengtung
Attraction details
nottingham
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“a real market in Asia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

typically busy with a money changer at good rates too, but hard to find! Lots of tribal crafts and embroidered jackets at bargain prices if you bargain well. Also useful for buying medicine and sweeties prior to trek to the hill villages.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    16
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Locally Local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Excellent market selling everything, not cheap but Burma isn't. Good too for money changing but be careful to compare with the different lenders there. I tried the fried bamboo grubs, a local delicacy like pork scratchings. Good to wander around and soak up the atmosphere.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Shasta, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous Market Scenes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

If you don't make it to any of the villages you can definitely get a good taste of what you missed strolling around the market. It is a photographers dream. If you arrive early you can watch the market come to life as the villagers make their way to town. It takes a good bit of time for the villagers to get to the market and a few of them still dress in their beautiful and colorful tribal clothes and jewelry. It is truly amazing to see these beautiful women, it's like being in a National Geographic Magazine setting. Unfortunately, the traditions are slowly slipping away to modern times and fewer people are wearing the traditional clothes. You can see several different tribes throughout the market, but the best place to be is in the hardware section. The market itself is an interesting place to experience a little of this fabulous culture hidden in the far reaches of Myanmar. You will not be disappointed. The market opens about 6:30a.m. and closes by noon.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samut Prakan, Thailand
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
100 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“A real immersion kind of activity where when you go, you truly feel you're at a local gathering”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

This market was really neat to go to but keep in mind it only operates in the morning and closes by I think around noon time so one needs to go early. I took my time and really enjoyed this market. There were many many vendors selling all kinds of products from CDs, DVDs, meats, fish, breads, and fresh fruits and vegetables. (I ended up buying some large purple grapes which were not too bad but they had seeds in them haha).
Even more surprisingly, I noticed how most of the people at the market (and in the town for that matter), spoke Thai! (although now that I think of it, it may have been Shan they were speaking rather than Thai...)
Either way, when I spoke a few phrases to them, they understood and the despite Kyaing Tong being 5 hours north from the border of Thailand, along with the language, Thai Baht was still readily exchanged at the market. This is however one of the first places I ever saw Myanmar Kyat!
Aside from Baht, Kyat can also be found at the market and the food stalls will also accept them.
All in all, this market was quite a cool place to see and explore. If one wants a real insight to local attraction, this is a good place to stop!
It's also so unique as I believe I was one of the only foreigners present at this whole thing! I can't remember seeing another westerner the entire time I was there.

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooge zwaluwe
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“One the biggest market in Birma. Try to go early before the tourists (only a few goes to Kyaing Tung), and enjoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

I liked everything there. Buying our food before going on trek, sharing time with people, buying things you won't find elsewhere.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kengtung Market also viewed

Kengtung, Shan State
Kengtung, Shan State
 
Taunggyi, Shan State
Kengtung, Shan State
 

Been to Kengtung Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kengtung Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.