We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic best available hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Hotel Kyaing Tong

Princess Hotel Kyaing Tong
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Princess Hotel Kyaing Tong to your Saves list
Princess Hotel Kyaing Tong
21 Zay Dan Kalay Rd., Kengtung, Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kengtung
Metar, Israel
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good basic best available hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The place is clean. Big Rooms. Basic o.k. breakfast.
Hot water 24 hours, they have a boiler (not just a solar water heating!)
Staff is very friendly.
Free Wi.Fi. in the lobby.
Near to the central.
We get a Morning waking call by next door rooster so we could start our day earlier than planned. Rooster side is left, facing the front.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    33
    4
    3
See reviews for
9
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

As previously mentioned, a basic hotel with very basic facilities. Beds were small and hard, but the place is clean and there is hot water. Breakfast is boring as it the same every day (orange juice, cooked egg and toast). Nothing more to add.
There some "posh" looking new hotels, but we were told they were for visiting government officials only.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Room comfortable (sadly twin beds!), clean – great to have a duvet! Hot water and 24hr electricity – a luxury in Kyaing Tong! Breakfast was very limited – but enough to fuel the stomach for a day’s trekking. Owner pleasant to talk to. Staff very friendly. All tours & guides in the area are organized by this hotel. It is a beautiful region – we would love to come back! Our only question - we wonder if the organizers of the tours also help the villages that they send the tourists up to?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I had read that you should not stay in the basement rooms of the Princess Hotel in Kyaing Tong. We were there in November 2013 and found that the basement rooms had been upgraded and the carpet had been removed. So there these rooms are no longer a problem. Of course, there is no view and the rooster outside of our window woke us up very early every morning. But we found the owner to be accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

In this small remote town, this hotel is the place to stay. I was happy that it was very clean and had nice warm duvets. Clean hardwood floors in our room, no dirty carpets noticed anywhere. Always hot water and electricity. Internet basically not available as in most hotels in Myanmar.
The staff were very helpful and always keeping a schedule of airline flights etc. The dining room located in the basement was the weak spot, cold in the morning and unattractive.
If you are expecting western amenities then don't go to Kengtung it is not for the weak at heart.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles,ca
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

What can I say. You all know that this hotel is very basic-that roosters awaken themselves and us at 4:30 A.M.That the shower and sink and toilet are all together. However, the bed was comfortable with lots of blankets so we were not cold once we got into bed.Getting out of bed is very difficult, however. The hotel was as cold as the outside temperature. All the restaurants in Keng Tung are open air in the freezing night cold as well. We were well prepared for the climate. Staff was hospitable and friendly.Bring flashlights and long underwear. Kengtung and environs are not to be missed.

Room Tip: We were in a superior room on the second-or the first if you are European. I don't know if its p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My brother and I stayed, for 1 week, in this 19 room hotel, in November of 2013. It is clean, well maintained, conveniently located for the market, with very good service. Most of the staff could make themselves understood in English. It was hard to find fault, with the room being serviced in a timely manner, an abundance of fresh towels, soap, shampoo and the like and the breakfast was adequate. This is not 5 star, but remember where you are.
The hotel offered the ideal location for us to embark on daily treks, into the hinterland, to meet with the many hill tribes, which surround the area. Most are within a couple of hours or so, and some are even closer (Akhi tribe). If you visit, make sure you take some things for them like soap, shampoo, skin lotion, and a little something for the children.

Room Tip: Don't take a room over looking the back of this hotel, as you are likely to be woken up by barki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Princess Hotel Kyaing Tong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Hotel Kyaing Tong

Address: 21 Zay Dan Kalay Rd., Kengtung, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Shan State > Kengtung
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kengtung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Princess Hotel Kyaing Tong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Hotel Kengtung

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess Hotel Kyaing Tong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.