We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inle Princess Resort

Save Saved
You added Inle Princess Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inle Princess Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Magyizin Village, Inle Lake, Taunggyi, Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 hotels in Taunggyi
boulder,co
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“beautiful spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Hotel is in a beautiful location on the lake. Be sure to get a room facing the lake not the lagoon. Service is excellent bar and restaurant are very good, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, but and this is why four stars not five they are very nice but at least ours is beginning to be in need of refreshing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    288
    97
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
53
254
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Top Contributor
373 reviews 373 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

You arrive by boat powered by a one legged boatman- surreal. The rooms are ethnic-chic, , tribal decor, dark woods ,outdoor shower and indoor bath/boat. Our rooms were pond pacing but i assure you they were stunning. The views, the surrounding area, the excursions, local walks makes this place pretty unique and unspoilt ( i suspect not for long). Downsides- mosquitos ( use repellant, there is a cosy net in the room) and service that doesn't match the surroundings ( restaurant food was so slow and seemed to favour the tour group). However if the management take heed this place would be perfect .

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Fabulous, serene and beautiful lagoon setting, away from the noisy Inle Lake front. Wonderful traditional structures with soaring teak ceilings, great eating terrace, amazing gardens, incredible spa. Individual Lagoon Chalets perfect place to sip and watch the sun set over the lily lagoon with the dramatic mountains backdrop. N.B there are new and older chalets obviously the new are better. If you are a group I recommend booking the Wine Cellar Dinner. It is a spectacular setting, service and food.
Only accessed by boat but the journey is why you go to such a remarkable place. Make sure you book a boat and tour guide for at least a day if not 2 days to really take in this truly remarkable place with floating gardens/farms and entire villages.

Room Tip: If you journey all the way there you have to treat yourself to a Private Lagoon Front Chalet. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Once you are settled into the Inle Lake Princess, you're in for a wonderful time. This is a unique, place, full of local touches, great rooms and service, a sumptuously decorated bad and restaurant overlooking Inle Lake.

I have to add one note of caution: Upon arrival, be careful that you are assigned the room you reserved. We had a problem, and there was every sign the problem was not unique to us. We reserved a Lake View room. When filling out the arrival forms, we discovered we had been shifted to a Pond View room. We had to live through a discussion that reminded us of the Monty Python "dead parrot" routine, in which we were told several times that a pond view was not a pond view but a lake view, that there was no difference etc., etc., until we were finally given the room we had reserved. They later explained that they had problems in the past because the description of the rooms were"confusing" (actually, they're not confusing at all).

I want to emphasize that after this initial hassle we had a wonderful time and would strongly recommend the place to anyone and everyone. The only other problem we ran into was the fact that the resort is close to a Buddhist monastery from which come loud chants, even over the loudspeakers, throughout the night. They were particularly strong at 4 am. The hotel recognizes the problem and offers earplugs for its guests.

Room Tip: See above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

we spent three nights at this amazing hotel. The rooms are huge, high ceilings, fabulously comfortable beds and many of the bathrooms have a bath which is made from a wooden boat with a huge overhead shower and a second outdoor shower in your own little garden. The cottages are built on stilts and have a fabulous large veranda with sunbeds and a seating area overlooking wildly exotic lily ponds or the lake front. On arrival which can only be made by boat, the engines are switched off and a leg rower jumps on board to take you silently in to the hotel where the welcome is warm and very friendly. Many tours can be made by boat to see local temples, stupas, local villages, floating farms, silk weaving factories (a tad expensive ), leg rowing races, local market which is fascinating if a little noisy. We were lucky enough to attend a notification ceremony for young boys to become Buddhist monks. The food and drink was excellent, service charming and the Spa was phenomenal, amazing massages and very reasonable too. From other travellers comments I think we got the best hotel available on the lake. Some of our party ate out at restaurants outside of the hotel and to a man they were not good reviews.

Room Tip: Rooms with the outside bathrooms are worth having and there are some much larger houses (honeymoon s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Beautiful hotel, slightly eclectic design but comfortable and great restaurant with reasonable prices especially considering it is virtually impossible to go offsite for dinner. Staff helpful. Slight problem with smell in room (mentioned in other reviews) which was dealt with quickly - seems to be something to do with the wood treatment used. No pool but nice sun deck outside each room - take plenty of books!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed at the Inle Princess Resort for three delightful nights in October 2013 and will never forget the experience. The near-silent approach to the Resort in a longboat powered by a single leg-oarsman was magical. My villa was number 214 with lovely views over the lake and mountains. Inside, it was stunning and the bathroom likewise. There was a private outside shower too which was such fun. I had dinner in the restaurant for three nights and enjoyed exploring the Asian and Western menu which has many interesting temptations.I also enjoyed the Myanmar Red Mountain estate Sauvignon Blanc wine which was simply delicious. The peace and tranquility of the Inle Princess Resort is very precious so I hope you get the chance to experience it too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inle Princess Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inle Princess Resort

Address: Magyizin Village, Inle Lake, Taunggyi, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Shan State > Taunggyi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taunggyi
#1 Family Hotel in Taunggyi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inle Princess Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Otel so you can book your Inle Princess Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inle Princess Hotel Taunggyi
Inle Princess Lake
Inle Princess Resort Myanmar/Taunggyi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inle Princess Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.