We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical resort in an exotic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inle Princess Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Inle Princess Resort to your Saves list
Inle Princess Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Magyizin Village, Inle Lake, Taunggyi, Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Taunggyi
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A magical resort in an exotic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I just returned from a 3 night stay at the Inle Princess Resort and have to say it was an extraordinary experience. From our arrive by special transfer boat to our check in. Everything was really impeccable. We were especially lucky to be at Inle for the beginning of the Phaung Daw Oo Pagoda Festival. The boat guide arraigned by the hotel was very nice and took us out 3 separate times. He took us to many typical tourists sites but then also to some personal site - including his family village which was a real treat. The hotel food was great - and the bar - which seemed to have a game table focus was fun. We also took advantage of the spa and the treatments were excellent (though the bathtub was a bit tricky to get in and out of). Overall I was thrilled with the experience and would love to return for a longer stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    99
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
60
287
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Arriving at the Inle Princess by long-tailed boat is special - to maintain quiet around the hotel the boats have to turn off their engines some distance from the hotel and are then rowed in the unique leg-rowing style of Inle Lake. The most memorable feature of the hotel is however the stunning sunsets over the lake before and during dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed at the Inle Princess Resort with a friend. We booked the Mountain View Chalet on Agoda. We were impressed by the way the boats enter the resort & how peaceful it was. When we arrived, we were advised that we had been upgraded to the Lake View Chalet, which was a lovely start to our stay & gave us a great first impression. The staff were lovely, our room was absolutely gorgeous, the design & the cleanliness of the room were of a high level, it was so relaxing. The breakfast was great & you can have espresso type coffees, the cereal is a must try! The resort is like a tropical paradise to walk around, the scenery & the way it is kept is lovely. It is so peaceful.
We stayed for 3 nights & were very pleased that we had chosen this resort - we couldn't fault it & all of the locals seem to know where it is so there was no trouble getting there. The locals seem to have a high opinion of the resort too which looks good in my eyes.
Yes there are mosquitoes, etc. around at night, but you are on a lake so you have to expect it & Myanmar in general has a large population of mosquitoes & bugs! Use some repellent & all is well. Housekeeping visit the room at night to put down the mosquito nets & turn on an electric anti-mosquito device, so we didn't have any trouble.

Room Tip: If you can afford the Lake View Chalet, then it is certainly worth trying!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Princess Inle Resort was supposed to be a highlight of our Burma trip - but it turned out to be a totally overpriced tour-group hotel. The place is outdated and a bit shabby, the breakfast buffet was terrible and the the staff was neither helpful nor friendly. The rooms and the restaurant were full of mosquitos and flies. Princess Inle charged us 50 USD for the airport transfer, the next door place only charges 30 USD.

The hotel is far away from offering five star standard and service, we have paid 250 USD per night and we felt totally ripped of. The Inle Resort next door looked much better (and it is less expensive), you might want to try it there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

When we approached the hotel from the long boat the hotel appeared to be unassuming, quiet...nothing fancy from afar. However, once we checked in and got settled you slowly realize how great the hotel is, the architecture blends in with the nature, the amenities are just the right amount. There were quirky stylistic elements to the hotel which just made it absolutely amazing. My friends and I spent lazy evenings in the bar, the restaurant..the food was absolutely great too. The best "bread" we had all throughout our trip. Everything was just right..very whimsical setting. The only downside is that we had a bit of a "row" with the front desk when we extended our trip to another night...they kept on changing the price on us which was very annoying. That being said, all good!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

A wonderful setting on the lake with more thoughtful touches than it is possible to list in a single review. We particularly enjoyed the way that the motorboat picked up a leg rower at a nearby stilted hut to row you the last few hundred meters to and from the hotel. Not sure if this is to reduce noise or to let you experience the famous leg rowers first hand but it works on both counts. The hotel bar is one of the best in the world, and just screams out for you to have a pre dinner drink or two. The menu is split into Asian and International and isn't too badly priced bearing in mind you are essentially a captive market. We would recommend you stick to Asian as the quality of some of the international dishes was variable. The roasted duck was braised and the breakfast omelette was one of the worst we have had anywhere. On the other hand the Shan noodle breakfast option was excellent although you need to make sure you order it the day before. This is fine if you are staying more than one night but if not you will be disappointed. Restaurant staff were good at night, but less efficient at breakfast but this is a hotel you should try out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a most enjoyable time at the Princess in Inle Lake in August. The hotel is well located on the lake close to the various places to visit. Travelers should note that Inle Lake is fairly remotely located in Myanmar, so the quality of hotels becomes a bit challenging. Nonetheless, I would stay here again and recommend the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inle Princess Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inle Princess Resort

Address: Magyizin Village, Inle Lake, Taunggyi, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Shan State > Taunggyi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Taunggyi
#1 Family Hotel in Taunggyi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Taunggyi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Taunggyi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inle Princess Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Inle Princess Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inle Princess Hotel Taunggyi
Inle Princess Lake
Inle Princess Resort Myanmar/Taunggyi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inle Princess Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.