We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT REORT BUT COULD EASILY BE EVEN BETTER” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inle Lake View Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Inle Lake View Resort to your Saves list
Inle Lake View Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Inle Kaung Daing Village, Nyaung Shwe Township, Taunggyi, Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Taunggyi
Leeds
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“GREAT REORT BUT COULD EASILY BE EVEN BETTER”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We had a good stay here. The location is superb and we had a very good room (109) with a lovely view over the lake. As people have said before it does get hazy in the morning and probably the best views are just before sunrise. The bedroom was well equiped and the local staff were always pleasant. There is even a free shoe cleaning service.

The only reservations come with the restaurant service. The breakfast can actually be very good; as others have said you can really have whatever you want; the trouble is you do not know what is on offer (it is not a buffet and no menu is produced). However if you insist you can order nearly anything and it is cooked very well. It is the same in the evening; like many others we had been booked in by a tour company with dinner provided. One senior waiter just said "you are having the set western menu". Again we persisted and asked to see all their menus. When we had them we negotiated to have what we wanted (and as the cost was less than the set menu they agreed). When it arrived the food was superb, the best we had had all tour. So my recommendation in the restaurant, find out what is on offer and choose what you want, Try to ignore the senior staff, because anyway if you are not French they will ignore you!

Room Tip: Room 109 and other upper rooms in this block have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    65
    28
    12
    6
See reviews for
29
126
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed in several good hotels in Myanmar (Traders, Mandalay Hill, Tharabar Gate) and this was the best in terms of rooms. The room (#109, a deluxe) was beautifully appointed and furnished, had a balcony/terrace, and a fabulous view over the lake. You need to be on the first floor (as opposed to the ground floor) and in the correct wing to get this view.

The hotel is a little remote, but there's no nightlife anywhere anyway, so that was not a problem.

Breakfast is poor. It is over-elaborate, with multiple courses being brought out one by one, but the one that matters (eggs and bacon) is tiny. They'd be better off simplifying the presentation and improving the quality and quantity. The coffee was weak and not hot enough, and the staff seemed ill-equipped to fix things.

We opted against dinner in the hotel as it seemed over-priced - we're talking Hong Kong prices in rural Burma. Walk five minutes into Khaung Daing village and go to the excellent Myat That Kaung restaurant instead (cheap and very cheerful, great food).

Sandy on reception was very helpful in booking boats, planning a route, and ensuring the boatman knew where we wanted to go. I left my hat on the boat one day with no hope of ever seeing it again, but it was there waiting for me in reception. Sandy had called the boatman, found the hat, and someone had brought it the five miles to the hotel before I'd even got up.

They don't accept credit cards, and there are additional taxes on quoted food prices - both of which are significant negatives.

So, the rooms are superb, the location good, the service okay, but the F&B strategy needs attention. Definitely worth staying there though.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elmo, Minnesota
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Our comfortable second floor room included a deck with a wonderful lake view. The four plex units front on lovely gardens. The hotel sits on a slope and lake access is via a canal. The lake was low in February, but in the rainy season it floods the marshes and low lying fields.

Our room was spacious and comfortable but rather dark with the blinds drawn. The staff was universally polite and helpful. The senior staff have good English skills but the junior staff is more limited. Sometimes requests were misunderstood--like getting white wine when ordering red while in the bar.

Breakfast is partially fixed and partially a la carte. Service did get slow on our second morning when many guests arrived at the same time. The evening meals we had were good, but pricey. If you want Asian food, you will find it limited here. The menu has a European bias.

Some other reviewers have mentioned that it is a long boat ride to the attractions near the south end of the lake. We found that time restful and our guide introduced us to the local fishermen and their techniques.

We loved our stay and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms see the lake better, ground floor views are mostly garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the resort on New Years Eve and the following evening. We enjoyed the resort and touring Inle Lake immensely. The cocktail party preceeding the New Years Eve dinner and the dinner itself were both professionally conducted and enjoyable.
After we had checked out and arrived at Heho airport, I discovered I had left my spectacles at reception. Just as we were about to board our flight, I felt a tap on my shoulder and a young staff member from the resort handed me my spectacles. The airport is some 40 minutes from the resort.
I cannot imagine this level of customer care by the staff of any resort in so called more developed countries.
Thank you to all the staff at Inle Lake View Resort. You saved the day.
Grateful Aussie.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Needless to say, this is a very beautiful property that our agent prepared for us-Jr. suite 2nd floor. The room was beyond our expectations, and star gazing from the terrace was really out of this world on the night we stayed. The view of the lake was best in the afternoon, due to the fog in the morning and naturally the darkness at night. For us, the big down fall was the service and the somewhat over priced restaurant. The hotel grounds/facilities were explained to us in one breath, as was the room. There was no feeling of being treated as a guest. Which brings me to another point, when I thanked a waiter for delivering the food, his reply was "You are the customer." At breakfast the friendly well mannered staff did not appear very well trained. First of all, we had to ask for paper napkins, then again ask for butter and jam, then reremind them about our original requests. There appeared to be two type of staff, some with an attitude (management ?) and the rest were friendly and hard working. One other thing that bothered me was when I overheard a conversation between a "guest" and the front staff concerning her "non-smoking" room (that apparently reeked of cigarette) she had requested due to her asthma condition. Possibly the staff did not understand the meaning of "asthma," but the first response was to remove the ashtray and spray the room with an air freshening spray. After the guest went her way there was a little front staff huddle with some eye rolling in the head antics.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time. The hotel is set in some lovely gardens with lovely views down over the lake. The staff were helpful throughout and arranged a great days boat tour for us. The food was really good, especially the chocolate mousse (!) and service attentive.

Room Tip: Ask to arrive by boat rather than car which gets you two extra trips out onto the lake. It takes a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We spent Xmas and was pretty magic and far away of a traditionnal time. The hotel is very nice nestled in a nice garden. The team is pro active and pay attention to the guests. The Xmas eve dinner was well organized with a lot of attention. The food overall is acceptable if you consider the location. We were not very lucky with the closest village playing lound music all the time. But this is part of the experience. The restaurant team is nice and dynamic...

Room Tip: Junior suite on higher level with sun bed and nice view on the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inle Lake View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inle Lake View Resort

Address: Inle Kaung Daing Village, Nyaung Shwe Township, Taunggyi, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Shan State > Taunggyi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Taunggyi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Taunggyi
#3 Spa Hotel in Taunggyi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Taunggyi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inle Lake View Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Inle Lake View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inle Lake View Hotel Taunggyi
Inle Lake View Resort Myanmar/Taunggyi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inle Lake View Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.