We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cats but no acrobatics” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nga Phe Kyaung Monastery

Nga Phe Kyaung Monastery
Taunggyi, Myanmar
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 7 Attractions in Taunggyi
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Better known as the Jumping Cats Monastery for its cats trained to jump through hoops.
uk
Top Contributor
421 reviews 421 reviews
130 attraction reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
329 helpful votes 329 helpful votes
“Cats but no acrobatics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stunning place by the lake. lots of cats but no acrobatics when we visited. we got some nice photos though

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    41
    47
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Monastery with display of thrones but no cats!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The display of coronation thrones was impressive and worth a brief stop but there were no jumping cats, we wondered if it because we were there at the start of the season but one guide said that the cats no longer jump!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Messina, Italy
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“The monastery of acrobatic cats”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Unfortunately we didn't have the chance to see the famous acrobatic cats: there were many of them inside the monastery, but, probably because we went there in the low season, the show did not take place. The entire monastery is built on stilts (as any other building on the Inle Lake) but inside, except for a serie of statues of Buddha, there's a few things to see.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
1,758 reviews 1,758 reviews
932 attraction reviews
Reviews in 332 cities Reviews in 332 cities
913 helpful votes 913 helpful votes
“Lazy Starved Cats”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We read about the acrobatic cats and we decided to check it out. We found 3 slim starved cats lying on the floor. The monastery is just ok. Nothing special about it. The view are nice, though.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norddeutschland
Top Contributor
647 reviews 647 reviews
399 attraction reviews
Reviews in 208 cities Reviews in 208 cities
538 helpful votes 538 helpful votes
“A nice temple in the middle of the lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is one of the attractions under the category: If you are in the region anyway it would be a good idea to see it but for it alone it would not be worth traveling to the Inle lake.

A nice wooden building in the middle of the floating gardens so you can get a good impression of those, the inside a bit cooler (nice on a hot sunny afternoon) and the wood very nice to your feet.

Very friendly Myanmar people all around, some nice pictures on the wall, not too full of ornaments and if you are inclined to do so, full of nice cats to cuddle. All in all a nice 30 minutes stop on the lake.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nga Phe Kyaung Monastery also viewed

Taunggyi, Shan State
 
Taunggyi, Shan State
 

Been to Nga Phe Kyaung Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nga Phe Kyaung Monastery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.