We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean backpackers guesthouse” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lily Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lily Guest House to your Saves list
Lily Guest House
108 Aung Thepye St., Hsipaw 11121, Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hsipaw B&B and Inns
portugal
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Clean backpackers guesthouse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This is really called "Lily the Home", not any other guesthouse called Lily.
This is a backpackers guesthouse, not an hotel. There is a block of rooms

with communal washing facilities and approx 6 other basic rooms with

bathrooms and airconditioning but no television around a completely

shaded courtyard and it is popular because the rooms are clean, the staff

are helpful and the breakfast is generous. There are also few alternatives.

The evening meal is also well priced. However it is noisy partly as Lily

expands her empire and the building noise next door will be going on for

some long time yet and there is also the thump, thump as the women wash

all the sheets etc together with all the staff's clothing and then hang it out

to dry all around the complex wherever there is some sun.

Staff are very helpful arranging treks and transport. As usual Wifi was

free but internet did not really work.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    44
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
56
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

From the moment we arrived, we knew we had found a really gem! We first tried Mr. Charles based on recommendations but they were full, then we walked to another guesthouse called Lily but were not impressed with the quality of the rooms for the $25 USD he was asking. It was then we tried Lily The Home and even though we hadn't made a reservation, were tired and dirty, Lily came up to us and gave us a hug and said welcome! Wow. We've been all over Asia over the last 10 months and have never had a guesthouse owner hug us! Thankfully they had a room for us which ended up being fantastic value at $18 USD per night (share bathroom) as the rooms were spotless, roomy, and fresh towels/soaps/etc. were left on the bed every morning. The bathrooms were equally spotless and had the nicest shower (cleanliness/pressure/temperature combo) perhaps in all of SE Asia, but certainly in Myanmar. We booked our trek through Lily (2 day/1Night) and loved it. Our guide was Mitch Michael and we highly highly recommend him if you have any option in guides as he is very friendly, speaks perfect english and can speak almost every dialect of Shan and Paulong.
Also to note, the Wifi, although slow, worked in the rooms which was nice. The breakfast was of good value. The staff here have all been trained very well by Lily as they are all friendly and attentive to every single guest here.

I would highly recommend this place and am glad we ended up here and not Mr. Charles at the end of the day. Because of the size of this place, the atmosphere, and the staff it has a more close knit feeling and the treks arranged from here will also be more intimate. There were only two other people on our trek during the high season.

The only minor issue that they could fix to make this place even better is to put some more insulation/sound proofing between the share rooms because if you have a snorer next door, you'll probably hear him/her!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly place with a warm welcome. Nice room (302). Absolutely no bed bugs there! Lily organised a good trek, though you may have to insist that the guide gives you a break. The boat trip is also very enjoyable. There is building work next door but it is only a minor inconvenience.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pully, Suisse
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Friendly welcome (map with advice what to do and visit), nice staff, clean and spacious room, comfortable beds. They also organise boat trips and treks. I especially recommand the chicken sandwich I took away as lunch for my train ride.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Very friendly young family is running this guest house. Rooms are tiny, but clean. Good breakfest. WIFI available. The staff is always smiling, caring and ready to help you organize what ever you are up to. Definitely recommend multiple day trekking in the surrounding hills. It's possible on your own but with a guide is much easier and you get more out of it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Michigan
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The correct name is "Lily The Home".
Go there, it is a real value.
Rooms are large, clean with comfortable mattresses and plenty of hot water in the shower.
Lily, her son and daughter-in-law are extremely helpful, and someone is always available.
Lily made our train reservation and made sure we got seats on "the right side" for the best view of Gokteik Viaduct on the way back to Pin Oo Lwin. They will also help arrange trekking if you wish.
Reservations are recommended; two of the people on our bus to Hsipaw were unable to stay at Lily because the rooms were all taken. They are in the process of building another 36 rooms next door, which will be completed around June, 2014. We did not hear any construction noise the two nights we stayed.
Laundry is reasonably priced and was done the same day it was turned in.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

It was lovely to arrive after a long train trip and be welcomed with a kiss and hug from Lily. Our room was comfortable and clean. Unfortunately my partner got a really bad dose of the flu and was bed bound for most of our stay. However it was a great place for him to recuperate. Lily even made him ginger, lemon and honey tea. My only disappointment was that they only told us about a long uphill hike that sounded a bit too much for me. They didn't suggest any other hiking option.I later met some people who had stayed at Mr Charles and he had recommended a couple of easier walks and organised a great guide. So I highly recommend Lily's but check out walks at Mr Charles.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lily Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lily Guest House

Address: 108 Aung Thepye St., Hsipaw 11121, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Shan State > Hsipaw
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hsipaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lily Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lily Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.