We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better in Yangon” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shwemawdaw Paya

Shwemawdaw Paya
Bago, Myanmar
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Attractions in Bago
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Attraction details
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
111 attraction reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Better in Yangon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

This is more then a 2 hour drive and can be much more during afternoon traffic. Fortunately we had a police escort. The sites such as Pagoda are similar, but slightly smaller the Yangon. Just more of the same thing. What amazed us is the human traffic everywhere in this crowded country which us third world. Very tough life.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    29
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Bago is far better than Yangon and this is a highpoint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I entirely disagree with the review that says Yangon is better than Bago. We had a great day out at the many Bago monuments and the Shwemawdaw Paya was the best. Yes, taller than Shwedigon in Yangon but also with many more beautiful depictions of Buddha. I never felt spiritual in Yangon, but in this Paya I was more inclined to peace and contemplation - maybe it was the tinkling bells on top of the stupa. Yes, Bago is less tourist friendly with only one decent restaurant and I wouldn't stay there overnight, but as a place to visit in Myanmar it is second only to Bagan. Yes, you need a car and a driver who knows where to go, but that is easily arranged in Yangon and reasonably cheap. There is a $10 fee that allows you into all Bago monuments, but it was never checked and indeed we toured the Paya before even recognising that we needed to pay. Indeed, if we were stingy we could have got away without paying at any of the monuments, but would rather ensure that we contribute to their upkeep. As for the 300 kyat fee for using a camera, is 30 cents really too much to pay!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paramali
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Not worth travelling to see”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This a very dirty place, charge 300 to use an I phone camera and are quite aggressive taking the money. Awful toilet facilities. All attractions in Yangon are better than those in Bago it's not worth the journey.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slovakia
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
142 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“tallest pagoga in Myanmar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Padoda is 114 m high. In the past was demaged by many earthquakes. Pagoda is reconstructed and for memory is preserved, on one side of pagoda, part of oldest bricks made cylinder from 1917. Golden cover is beautiful. You have to pay for camera using, I was check in area for it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Worth seeing, but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

There are a cluster of religious attractions to be seen in Bago, but if you started your round at Shwemawdaw before 5pm, you would be asked to pay USD$10 (fee to see all of the Bago attractions). There was hardly any curation, English textual commentary or explanation, and even maintenance in the case of some of the exhibits, so the USD$10 is excessive for the zero value-add. Apart from Shewmawdaw, no one seemed to be monitoring the other exhibits. If you had looked at all the other attractions first, then ended up at Shewmawdaw last after 5pm, no one would have asked you to pay the $10 fee. You can't pay to just look at one site, and supposedly, you could look at the sites over two days (but it doesn't say so on the flimsy admission card you're given). You could easily look at all the sites well within one day.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shwemawdaw Paya also viewed

 

Been to Shwemawdaw Paya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shwemawdaw Paya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.