We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yantra Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Yantra Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Yantra Grand Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Opalchenska str | Velchova Zavera square, Veliko Tarnovo 5000, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Veliko Tarnovo
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed for two nights.
Positives: amazing views from the rooms of tsarevez
Rooms were a good size and clean
Room service was good
Enjoyed the spa and massage
Great location in proximity to the old town that's a must see
Good variety at breakfast

Negatives:
Internet was slow and in our room non existent
$170 lev per night so a little expensive compared to other hotels

Overall very nice would stay here again

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    59
    37
    11
    3
See reviews for
29
42
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mons, Belgium
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

First the good- our room had fabulous view of the city from our balcony. The room itself was like stepping back in time into a purple velour cave. Everything was plum colored and smelled like too much perfume. We only stayed one night so it was ok. The on-site hotel was very good serving traditional local food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulburn, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I stayed four nights in the Yantra Grand Hotel and in my humble opinion it was the best hotel I encountered during my two weeks in Bulgaria. The hotel relies heavily on tourist bus trade that may bring tourists for an overnight stay or a shorter stay and a meal but while this can mean a bit of mayhem in the reception area for a short while, it certainly doesn't detract from the overall excellence of the hotel. All of the staff from the ladies who clean the rooms to the management are extremely pleasant and go out of their way to assist with anything at all you may require.
For a four day stay the rooms were very comfortable and the view of the Tzerets Fortress from the picture window in the room was spectacular.
Breakfast was very good with a huge selection to choose from that would suit all tastes and while the coffee shop/light meal section served equally tasty fare, it did not appear to attract many people so lacked atmosphere.
All in all though, This is an excellent hotel. There would be cheaper in town but I doubt that there would be better value for money and if I find myself in Veliko Tarnovo again I will be definitely booking in at the Yantra Grand!

Room Tip: Rooms with views of the fortress are best but if you don't get one, you get the same view from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
468 reviews 468 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
287 helpful votes 287 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We did not stay here but came for coffee and a cake and left very disappointed. The staff serving were pleasant but could smile and interact with the patrons a little more. The coffee would have been one of the worst I have had in Europe let alone Bulgaria and the only saving part of our visit was the sweet biscuits that were served with the coffee. Hopefully the rooms are much better.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Veliko Tarnovo hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed 1 night as part of an Insight Tour. Was allocated an Apartment (2 bedrooms) on the 2nd level just above the gift shop. On one side the windows faced the Tzerets Fortress area and on the other side window overlooks the front of the hotel and the adjacent road (road noise evident during the day but tapers off towards the night). The master bedroom (double bed) had an ensuite bathroom equipped with a bathtub with spa jets. The second bedroom is a twin. The sitting room area located just after the entrance hallway has a sofa, coffee table and another toilet. In all there were 3 aircon units and 3 television sets, one in each of the rooms. Fully carpeted with furnishing a little dated like the rest of the hotel. However it is not out of place as the rest of the town appears to be trapped in time and has its own charm if one overlooks the abandoned, graffiti decrepit buildings in the town. Amenities included free wifi, bathrobe but no slippers and no coffee/tea making facilities. Breakfast was limited with the restaurant staff not able to provide an earlier start to breakfast despite request from the 2 tour groups that stayed in the hotel. The hotel had a spa, gym and swimming pool but these facilities closed rather early and we were not able to use them. The restaurant also had windows facing the Tzerets Fortress however by the time we finished our dinner, it was still bright and the lights at the Fortress was not turned on. We managed to observed the lights being turned on at the Fortress from our room later in the evening. Unfortunately we were disappointed there was no light show on that night. Apparently somebody/some group needed to pay for the light show. So despite information on the website, the light show is not on every night. Overall, the rooms were spacious, functional not luxurious, service was ok if breakfast was discounted but the main plus point is the fantastic day and night view of the Tzerets Fortress. The best view of our tour hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms that have a view of the Tzerets fortress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

excellent view from restaurant, especialy at evening at 9.00 pm when the light and sound show on citadel is on performance.
rooms with dated furniture but very good location close to craftsmen
good health center

Room Tip: rooms at back side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Wonderful view from some of the rooms if you are on the right side. Very large rooms. A little dated decor, big boxy tv's for example. Free wifi. The breakfast was also very nice and had a wide selection. In a very good location, not far from the tsvarets quarter, certainly in walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yantra Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yantra Grand Hotel

Address: 2 Opalchenska str | Velchova Zavera square, Veliko Tarnovo 5000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Veliko Tarnovo Province > Veliko Tarnovo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Veliko Tarnovo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Yantra Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Yantra Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yantra Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.