We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to sleep and eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gurko

Save Saved
You added Hotel Gurko to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Gurko
Gurko Str. 33, Veliko Tarnovo 5000 , Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Veliko Tarnovo
England
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to sleep and eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We had the junior suite. It was spacious, clean and comfortable with a great view and was soooo relaxing. Snowy outside and very warm inside. This was as good as it gets. And the breakfast was one of the best of the many breakfasts we have had in Bulgaria. We will definately stay here again on a return to this area.

Room Tip: The junior suite was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    45
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
74
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We loved this hotel. It has a warm feeling walking into the hotel and we were made to feel welcome on checking in. There was a tiny lift in the foyer to reach the upper floors which presented a great view from the hotel room. The room was large and had a good feel about it and the bed was very comfy. The hotel is well situated in the old town within easy walking distance of all the amenities and sites.
We enjoyed our breakfast which was in a cozily decorated room next to the foyer. This hotel is lovely and we can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

It's a very nice small hotel in old traditional Bulgarian house. The rooms and apartments are decorated with wooden furniture. The balconies are full of flowers and overlook the Yantra river.
The staff is very kind. They made me feel at home, The breakfast is also good. It is served in the hotel restaurant - also a typical traditional restaurant.
Go there and experience Bulgarian hospitality and traditions.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Hotel Gurko. One lady who couldn't speak much English was lovely and helpful. I'm not sure if we did something to offend the other staff we've stayed in hotels all over the world and never felt unwelcome. If for whatever reason they don't like you. You'll know about it.
The location was great. In a very beautiful part of Veliko Turnovo. The room we stayed in also great.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calarasi, Romania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Well, you have to go there to really feel the pleasure of the owners to be kind, to be helpful and to create all the conditions for a great staying in Veliko Turnovo. Everything was just perfect: location, view, Bulgarian food, staff, cleanliness, Bulgarian grape brandy, the surrounding history etc. You should not miss this hotel if you are going to visit Veliko Turnovo. It represent a first-hand contact with the Bulgarian history, with the beauty of the city, with what tourism should be.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have no view at all, just a wall and some pipes. Be sure that you dont book such a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taree NSW Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel would be hard to beat for location and view, overlooking the valley as it does. Our bags were (fortunately) carried up the stairs, as the hotel is ALL upstairs (there is a lift). Our room faced the view (obelisk in the center) and did not have a balcony as some do. It was clean and comfortable. The only down side to the room was the bathroom - no where to place toiletries bag, no curtain with the bath/shower, which made showering a messy affair. Breakfast was plated, but very satisfying and the cats roaming around added to the attraction for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo Heights, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

i love this little hotel. the lobby/hotel is like a lodge. it was cold enough in the evenings that we had the fire going. the restaurant is full of dark wood and stone. the tables are covered with red and white checked tablecloths. lovely! we ate breakfast here and dinner. the food was great. the service was top notch. when we arrived, the guy took our very heavy suitcases and bounded up the stairs with them. the rooms are nicely appointed. we had a perfect view of the obelisk in the middle of the river valley. some rooms have little balconies. the beds were comfortable. the rooms and common spaces were clean. our bathtub/shower was so large that the whole family can bathe at once!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Gurko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gurko

Address: Gurko Str. 33, Veliko Tarnovo 5000 , Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Veliko Tarnovo Province > Veliko Tarnovo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Veliko Tarnovo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Gurko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gurko Hotel Veliko Turnovo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gurko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.