We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe the worst hotel in my life” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Real Hotel

Save Saved
You added Real Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Real Hotel
Kolio Gaytandjiata 2, Veliko Tarnovo 5000, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 46 Veliko Tarnovo B&B and Inns
Bucarest, Rumania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Maybe the worst hotel in my life”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

To be honest, we chose this hotel for its location and the good reviews I found about it. But since our arrival all went wrong. it is not easy to find access to the parking lot, I stopped the car near the hotel while doing the checking and wondering how to enter the parking lot, returned after 15 minutes and my car was blocked by police and had to pay a fine for parking in prohibited place, anyway. Then, we went to the hotel and I was given a family suite, all looked very elegant but nothing more. Beds, mattresses, pillows, terrible quality. The leaky bathroom, jacuzzi not working, the only thing to highlight the quality of the wifi, but with all these problems, we could not enjoy. To complete, breakfast very poor and an absolute simplicity. I do not recommend this hotel for families with children, perhaps only in passing.
The cleanliness of the room very bad. Even found a condom on the floor, behind the curtains, you can imagine how this hotel, anyway. For now I have certainly not return to this hotel and would not recommend.
To highlight that about hotel find good restaurants and shops. For our part we decided to have breakfast outside and left the hotel before we finished our scheduled stay.

The ladies at the reception are very friendly, they probably do not know about these problems.!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Well located on the main street in the tourist center and a short walk from the fortress. There are several cafes and restaurants nearby, the closest of which are straight across the road.

The interiour is modern (looks like it has been recently refurbished), rooms are clean and comfortable with free WiFi. There is a small on-site car park, hidden from the road. The staff all speak good English and were very helpful.

The breakfast was rather basic - coffee and pastry.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Very good location on edge of new town, on way to the fortress, but still close to amenities. Touristy shopping street, bars, restaurants, tourist info, bus stop all within 5 minute walk. Fortress a bit further.

For the money the hotel is very good, with a nice lobby, staff who speak good English, 24 hour reception and big, clean rooms. The bathroom looked good, very modern, but the shower let water out due to ill-fitting doors, resulting in quite a lot of water on the floor post shower.

Breakfast was a big cheesy pastry thing and a hot drink; not overly inspiring, but better than nothing. We would suggest they offer bread and jam as well as simple to do and would offer something for those that don't fancy loads of fat in the morning. The breakfast was a bit strange considering how high quality the rest of the hotel is; but then, if you want a bigger breakfast you can go to the cafes nearby and it helps keeps the costs so low.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

The style of the hotel is a little questionable - wallpaper decor, candelabra, classicist facade with color lights(?), but the location is pretty good - on the main road with a little parking but just at the limit of the old town where you can go by foot. The lobby with the 3 story high opening is nice, the rooms are big and clean. On average is a good place to stay. We only stay one night and missed the breakfast so no info for that.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna, Bulgaria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Good clean hotel high standard and efficient staff. This will give some of the old boring hotels popular with tourists a run for their money.

Excellent value and easily found on the main street.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Real Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Hotel

Address: Kolio Gaytandjiata 2, Veliko Tarnovo 5000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Veliko Tarnovo Province > Veliko Tarnovo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Veliko Tarnovo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Real Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.