We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely venue” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel-Mehana Gurko

Hotel-Mehana Gurko
Gurko 33, Veliko Tarnovo, Bulgaria
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
norfolk
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“lovely venue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our meal here was not as good as our previous visit, it could have just been bad luck, but we both felt a little let down. we had a mixed salad for 2 as a starter which was very pleasant, but our main courses of ribs, was not as good, I had mine with polenta, which is usually great, but this time it tasted like sloppy gruel, very unpleasant.
We still felt the venue was great though.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    15
    11
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Rustic location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

very good traditional food. Average Prices. A great setting. It was a very pleasant evening spent at this restaurant. Very friendly personnel. It is worth go to eat here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Restaurant overlooking the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just finishing up dinner at Hotel-Mehano Gurko restaurant.

Well it's after 7 here in the evening so that must mean dinner time. Im seated in front of my hotel, the Hotel Burko overlooking the river and city. VT is a hill town with a huge castle. Italian hills have nothing on VT! Im on a cobblestone street where there is restricted automobile access. My Ipod is connected to my external  speaker and I'm listening to Lizzies playlist.

After a few JD and cokes it was time for some roasted red peppers stuffed with sirene cheese then lightly battered and pan fried. Of course after that  a little appetizer platter. More white cheese, dark olives, and a local specialty sausage which I can't spell. I asked for a small platter and have enough to feed all of Elmo. Along with that comes the local grilled flat bread which they call a tortilla. A little olive oil and garlic and it's to die for. Accompanied with a local red from the Mavrud grape I'm unsure if a main course will follow. Mavrud is a very old Bulgarian grape which is again becoming popular. I'm here to tell you it's excellent. Bulgaria has been producing wines for hundreds of years. Communism kinda put a cramp in their world notoriety.

Bulgarians know how to eat and drink. They are very conscious of their food sources so "farm to fork" isn't anything new here. Every where I go you see huge fields with sunflowers, corn and wheat. In the villages small gardens abound. With about 25% unemployment self production is a must. Every meal begins with salad. Grilled meats and lots of them are a staple.

Finishing up with a pork shish and a cup of espresso. Dinner with three glasses of wine. Brought my own Jack Daniels. All for $24.00 US. Now time for an espresso and smoke a Padron. Bulgaria is my kind of country!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant with friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Excellent salads in this traditional bulgarian tavern --- staf very friendly -- why is not always the case n VT

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Gurko Tavern has excellent traditional dishes in a rustic space. The tavern is in the center of Veliko Tarnovo, on Gurko Street and you can see Asen Monument from the table.
We ordered traditional food like Hotch Potch, Kavarma or Bulgarian Salad. The food was very good. I ordered Lemonade and I was disappointed when I got a yellow juice.
If you are on Gurko Street see also the traditional houses, the sight and this nice and old part of the city.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel-Mehana Gurko also viewed

Veliko Tarnovo, Veliko Tarnovo Province
Veliko Tarnovo, Veliko Tarnovo Province
 
Veliko Tarnovo, Veliko Tarnovo Province
Veliko Tarnovo, Veliko Tarnovo Province
 

Been to Hotel-Mehana Gurko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel-Mehana Gurko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.