We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay in Sol Nessebar Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Nessebar Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Nessebar Bay to your Saves list
Sol Nessebar Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   7 Nessebar Blvd., Nessebar 08230, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Nessebar
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay in Sol Nessebar Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Sol Nessebar was a good choice to spent my 1st of May holiday together with my family.
Good pools and happy entertainers that speak good Romanian. Food was good and did not exceed expectation - especially fruits category .For this time of the year the hotel is good to spent a short holiday , but the very narrow beach down the hotel should make it attractive only for the outdoor pools. Nice staff that found a solution for warming our room due to the outside temperatures in this season.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janina_SNP, Quality Manager at Sol Nessebar Bay, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Neagu C,

Thank you very much for spending your time and writing a comment on Tripadvisor.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your holiday and we appreciate your very nice comment about our staff and the hotel.

We hope to welcome you again in Sol Nessebar Bay.

Kind regards
Desislava Raycheva
Assistant Quality Manager
Sol Nessebar Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    57
    17
    11
    6
See reviews for
83
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Sol Nesebar Bay is a impressive hotel offering nice views, especially from the upper levels. To go to the sea it takes 3-4 minutes walk in the hotels park; after going down on a slope you arrive in beautiful sandy bay with a lot of vegetation, clean water and... swans on the sea!
The staff is friendly and helpful. However the food was below the expectation we have in a 4 stars hotel belonging to an internation chain. They made efforts to offer us some sea food, fish, 2-3 kinds of meat, but they dind't make it well. The "fruit" juices were horible.
I think the management should focus on this issue because with little effort whey can obtain a much higher level of satisfaction.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice with big balconies. Room of higher floor have a beter view; the best view is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janina_SNP, Quality Manager at Sol Nessebar Bay, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear AlexFromRomania,

Thank you very much for choosing Sol Nessebar Bay for your holiday, as well as for your time spent on reviewing the hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are happy you liked the rooms with large balconies and nice views to our bay and the swans.

On the other hand we feel sorry we could not meet your expectations regarding the food.
Our team of young and enthusiastic cooks is very customer oriented, and takes every feedback very seriously, having the ambitious task to satisfy the tastes of guests coming from different places all over the world. They are now preparing an even larger variety of food choices for the third decade of May, so we will be glad to welcome you again soon. You would than be able to check our enlarged spring menu + juices.

Best wishes and see you soon :)
Janina Ninova,
Quality Manager Sol Nessebar Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed here with my husband for a week end of September 2013. The hotel was clean, tidy and the room was spacious and well equipped apart from the fridge empty and not working. The food was better than we expected, a good choice but did get repetitive towards end of week. However that's where the good points end.

It was the last week of the season and we were made well aware of that! The evening entertainment was non existent in our hotel. The only entertainment was in the sister hotel where we were not allowed to have drinks, even then it was just a singer in the corner of the bar where people were playing pool.

The only place to sit inside was the hotel lobby area which had no atmosphere at all. It was too cold to sit outside. The wine and beer was good but they were running out of other drinks. The hotel closed the day we left but some people had another couple days holiday left and were told they would have to eat and drink ironically in the Palace hotel which we hadn't been allowed to!

The hotel has nice gardens, pools, etc but is surrounded by half finished buildings in the middle of nowhere. The old town Nessebar is lovely and there is a regular bus route. It took us 30 minutes to walk but paths are not very good and wouldn't do it at night.

We will not be returning to this hotel or Bulgaria as the staff , apart from the maids, were mostly very unfriendly nearly to the point of being rude.

Room Tip: Try not to get corner rooms as balcony looks straight onto neighbouring balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here 21st Sept to 28th Sept 2013. The hotel was very well presented and v. clean. When we arrived at 00.30am, they offerd us a sandwich and drink and opened up the dining room. Our room was spacious very clean and well looked after during our stay. Our beds were extremely hard, like sleeping on the floor, but that is just my opinion. The room with a balcony looked over the Sol Nessebar palace hotel's pool and views way beyond, so a great position. The reception staff always smiled, but the rest of the staff was not that friendly. We were all inclusive, the food was good, but very repetitive by the end of the week. You are able to use the 3 hotels facilities because it is called a resort, but not the food and drink. Old Nessebar was the best it took from the hotel 35 min walk down and 35 mins back or on the bus for 1 Lev each way. All in all we had a good week, weather great. New Nessebar was alright, Bourgas is an hour's local bus ride and costs 6 Lev each way, worth going if you want to see every day living. Beer was from 1 Lev to 2.50 Lev and you have to pay to use public toilets cost 1 Lev, so we would have a drink for 1 Lev, people watch and then use the toilet for free.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 517 and had a great view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

it was a good stay for the two days i had been there, the room was big and the balcony too great view, but the swing pool was small for the capacity of the hotel, the furniture is old and not in good conditions, the minibar is competently empty shame for a 4 star hotel neither water was in it. the bath room is ok as space but not in such good conditions. Average quality in everything the hotel had to offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Hotel very nice and very clean, thats where it stops being nice. The food was never hot always luke warm or cold. You never really new what you were eating if it was meat. You could arrive bang on time when the restaurant opened and it still would be only luke warm. One or two of the staff were very pleasant and had a smile but most of them were so miserable. I have never been anywhere and the staff were that miserable. The restaurant manager was the worst one, I never saw him smile once.
If anyone ever decides to go there, remember there are 3 hotels on the complex and whichever one you get booked into that is the one you have to use for eating and drinking, you will not be allowed to get them from the other hotels. We actually did go into the 5 star hotel to get a drink and got one but we had been told we could by the travel agent. When we tried a second time we were told you can have a drink out side but not inside. Talk about being treated like second class citizens, I was furious and asked to see the manager, as I said to him if this is their policy fair enough but not to treat people like this.
We went for 2 weeks on 15th September - 29th September, on the 27th they started clearing away the sunbeds and umbrella's, talk about "you can go home now". Went to Bulgaria 5 years ago and had a lovely time and lovely hotel within the last five years it has changed greatly. Shall definately not be going back. I must just say thankyou to Gorgi, always had a smile, the only one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Please don't be put off by the reviews - we were feeling a little uneasy having booked it (all inclusive) after reading some pretty derogatory reviews, however it feels like we stayed in a totally different hotel to the one some of the reviewers stayed it - everything about it was fantastic. A lot of the reviews mention the bad food and we were expecting to be very much underwhelmed but we found to food to be absolutely fantastic. There are 4 large carts offered at every meal, with about 10 different items on each. Breakfasts offer absolutely everything you could imagine to eat for breakfast - eggs done a number of different ways, lots of different fruits, yoghurts, jams, honeys, sausages, bacon, cheese, tomatoes. toast, pates, croissants, breads, potato products - literally everything you could imagine and everything was delicious. Lunch and dinner is of a similar standard with plenty of choice - different flavour pizzas every day, chips, stuffed vine leaves, pasta dishes, salads, fish dishes, meat casseroles and shell fish. I loved the olive paste so much that as soon as I returned I found a recipe and made it myself at home.

The room was lovely and big, very well maintained and with floor to ceiling windows with a balcony. On the balcony was two patio chairs, a patio table and a clothes dryer which is great if you plan to spend a lot of time in the pool or the sea. The bathroom was nice, with a hairdryer and a very good shower. Also in your room are plenty of places to store your clothes in drawers and a wardrobe. The bedside tables have plug sockets right next to them - a big plus for me. Our room overlooked the Palace to the front, the Black Sea to the left and the mountains to the right - we really couldn't have asked for a better view and spent a lot of time just watching the world go by from the balcony.

We found all the staff to be friendly and helpful. They work very hard, with very long hours. You see the cleaners all day, every day ensuring the hotel is maintained to a very high standard and their work is very thorough. The kitchen staff are cheerful and friendly, as are the bar staff and the reception staff really do all they can to please. They offered great information on travel to nearby cities when we asked, as well as telling us what bus to catch and where from. The animation staff are very friendly and peppy - they pop over and talk to you every now and again and they were really lovely.

The grounds of the hotel are really beautiful, with trees lit up at night, overlooking the black sea. There is a lovely atmosphere and gorgeous surroundings. There are a number of shops across the three hotels (you can use facilities for the other hotels, but you have to get your food and drinks from your own hotel. This really wasn't a problem for us though, especially as when the entertainment is on at the Palace hotel, you can use the bar in the Palace to save you a trip). There are 6 pools in total - 3 outdoor and 3 indoor, a spa, and at least 2 bars per hotel. The beach by the hotel is lovely, there are paid for (where you can hire sun loungers) and free areas of the beach where you can just lay out a towel if you choose at no charge. It is very pretty and the sea is lovely and clear - not really a feature of the hotel but worth mentioning anyway!

Overall, we had a fantastic holiday and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janina_SNP, quality manager at Sol Nessebar Bay, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Lilyrulestheworld,
I am Janina Ninova, the quality manager at Sol Nessebar Resort. Thank you for being our guest and for writing such a detailed and lovely feedback about Sol Nessebar Bay! Our staff is working hard and we are all trying to do our best in our every day work, so we are glad to hear that everything in our resort fulfilled your expectations. Let me express on behalf of the team of Sol Nessebar Bay our sincere thank you for all your good words.
Thank you for choosing us and it will be our pleasure to welcome you again at Sol Nessebar Resort next summer.
Kind regards,
Janina Ninova
Quality Manager Sol Nessebar Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Nessebar Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Nessebar Bay

Address: 7 Nessebar Blvd., Nessebar 08230, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Nessebar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nessebar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nessebar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Nessebar Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Management for Sol Nessebar Resort by Sol Hotels as per 2008. Kids pool area and castle refurbished for safety and quality reasons. New and extended food offers and resort entertainment & sports follow Sol Hotels quality standards. Gardens and Park upgraded. Resort Manager for Sol Nessebar Bay, - Palace, - Mare is Mr. Lubo Lipchev. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sol Nessebar Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Nessebar Bay Hotel Nessebar
Sol Melia Nessebar
Sol Hotel Nessebar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Nessebar Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.