We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly good beach holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Nessebar Bay

Save Saved
You added Sol Nessebar Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Nessebar Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   7 Nessebar Blvd., Nessebar 08230, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 34 hotels in Nessebar
Kent
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
“Perfectly good beach holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

After reading such contrasting reviews on this hotel, I was interested to see for myself what it was really like. The good news is it’s fine! It has one or two faults but doesn’t everywhere?
The food seems to be criticised in many of the negative reviews. I personally found it to be good, if not very good, in terms of quality, quantity and choice. There were a couple of exceptions, the pasta was inedible (I speak with some authority being Italian) and the desserts seemed to be based entirely on artificial cream. Anyone who has mistakenly tasted shaving foam will be familiar with the sensation. I have stayed at a few all inclusive hotels and this has been the best for food so far, one evening both swordfish and fresh squid were on the menu. I rest my case.

Another criticism seems to be aimed at the guests, the majority of whom are Russian. I can only put this down to xenophobia, it’s true they do seem to have a brusque manner and keep themselves to themselves. However, I didn’t see any of them get drunk and hot blooded males will soon see what prompted The Beatles to write Back in the USSR.
The hotel is clean and run efficiently, the staff are polite and friendly. It has the usual facilities and its own stretch of private beach which is fairly narrow and has a strange smell about it, I understand this is due to deposits of sulphur rather than anything more unpleasant. There was never a problem with a lack of sun beds around the pool, I did, however, find the music a little intrusive. The thing with poolside music is it’s fine if it’s the kind of music you like. In Jamaica last year I was in seventh heaven as the PA played the soundtrack of my youth, I might just be getting old but the bubblegum europop played at the Bay’s poolside was a source of minor but fairly constant irritation.

All in all this is a good hotel with good facilities and good food. It is particularly well suited to young families (of which there are many) as there is plenty for children to do. Teenagers may struggle to keep themselves amused and late night revellers should look elsewhere as everything closes at eleven.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    50
    13
    11
    6
See reviews for
70
24
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lanzarote
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

6 of us stayed at the Nessebar bay, wife 52 and I 54, 21 yr old daughter and fiance, 2 16yr olds.
The hotel is part of 3 hotel complex each hotel has it own swimming pool and indoor pool but you can use any theres also a small childrens pool with a castle and a slide into the pool. plenty of sunbeds wherever you were on site there is also an area down near the beach with sunbeds. Rooms we had were very clean and comfortable a bit larger than normal with 2 queen size beds. both rooms had pool views.
The beach is small and not that brilliant but the resort of sunny beach with 4 mile beach is about 20mins bus ride (catch no3 outside hotel) cost 1.4lev about 70p.
Food was really good. I am a bit fussy but always plenty beef chicken pork and local food too. Some complained about queing. but if you go when busy what do you expect!!
Choose the best time to suit you Dont forget brits like meals piping hot whilst so not so in some other countries, be careful with chicken they seem to like to wuickly heat and seal the meat but i didnt have any probs..
Staff very helpful and friendly. entertainment staff young energetic VERY friendly. get to know them and enjoy their company as they try to get you to the events. I did pistol and rifle shooting and a bit of latin dance. most entertainment outside at the stage but in the ballroom if wet plenty of seats but get there early.
Not much to do locally hotel is just outside nessebar. if fit you can walk to Nessebar about 20mins you go over the causeway to old nessesbar with small harbour and various old buildings and narrow cobble streets in the old town. you can walk roundthe island probably about 30mins took us a while because wife is disabled but she managed it. it is flat all way round. Shops are basicaly tourist stuff but well worth a visit.
Bus to nessebar is no3 or no7 though there are a few others that come occasionally. Buses can be a bit crowded early morning as people get about after breakfast.

What else?
Pools are very clean and obviosly there is poolside bar and snacks/ice cream through the day. Try abit of the language it is fun trying and dont be afraid to ask if it is right they seem to appreciate the effort.(plus i found i got bigger measures at the bar)
Eastern block people dont seem to smile or look happy but they are very friendly. Not many english at the resort , which was fine mainly russian romainian, turkish, polish, and few norwegian very few germans or dutch.

Sunny beach will be worth a visit if you want noise .nightclubs bars etc i took the bus but didnt get off mainly coz i didnt have the time but it looks like any other busy resort which is ok for me but wife preferes quiet resorts.

oh make sure you get a room with a poolside view or see view as out side the palace hotel is a derelict military base!!! there is no activity or noise from there ,being nosey i tried to sneak in for a look but the sleepy gaurd dogs awoke to prevent my expedition!!!

Stayed for a week all inclusive about £365 each at end of june well worth it good value
great holiday couldnt find anything to spend money on so spent £35!!! or is that because i'm a tight fisted yorkie???

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011 via mobile

All in all the hotel is very good but the food is terrible poorly cooked and very similar day in day out the animations teams are very unaproachable and don't really bother trying to get that many people joined in unless u have really small kids the only other negative is kids in the hotel are constantly running riot especially in the the restaurant don't mind them having a good time but the food is bad enough then having the kids put there hands in it

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

I have just returned from this hotel complex after 2 weeks with my wife and 2 grandchildren. The resort is formed by 3 hotels, Palace, Mare and Bay. All the nice pictures are of the Palace .Our accommodation was in the Bay which was clean and had very nice staff, the amount of British guests was less than 10%. The food in the Palace looked very good as it did in the Mare. The Bay food was not that good and very repetitive, the manners shown by a lot of the guests left a lot to be desired. Bay guests could use the facilities and pool bars of the other hotels but could not use the dining rooms or inside bars. The entertainment team always put on a good show in the evening and were always trying to get people to join in the days sports. Unfortunately, the interesting sports like shooting and archery were not available to the children. The local bus service is good and costs 1BGL for each person. For an all inclusive hotel you are expected to put a deposit on pool towels and pay if you want a bottle of water. Water machines are available at no cost but watching the habits of some guests it is advisable to buy water in the local shop at a third of the price charged by the hotel, my wife suffered from stomach problems and we can only point to the water. We went to Obzor in Bulgaria last year and enjoyed it, this year has put us off going again. Also although booked through First Choice there was no resident rep, you have to phone if you have a problem.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Arrived very early morning and was greeted by the porter who was smiley and friendly - lulled into a false sense of security when next morning - no rep - reception don't speak English so had no way of communicating!!

The hotel is mainly made up or European/German etc - in fact we didnt hear another voice we understood all week, so had to figure out buses/taxi's/trips out for ourselves.

The hotel is clean and the cleaning staff work very hard - the entertainment staff are also great with kids and keep them entertained all day.

The food was TERRIBLE - worst food in a 4* hotel I have ever eaten - my husband literally lived on chips for lunch and dinner as the rest of the food looked and smelt dire. Salads were reasonable but again, caters for a largely European taste. This added considerably to the cost of our holiday - we booked all inclusive so that we could not worry about running out of money for food - but it was a case of no choice here. One of the dishes served was actually called - cornmeal mush!

The most worrying thing was that one day after returning from the pool, we saw 2 bottles of ambre solaire suncream in our room - thinking the chambermaids had left them for us after a guest had left, I liberally sprayed myself with it only to find my skin coming up in a rash - upon opening the bottle and smelling it, it was strong cleaning liquid!!! This must have been left by mistake in our room, but this could have been a serious incident had it been a child.

The discrepancy bwetween the 4* and the 5* palace next door was huge. This should not be rated more than 3* (at most).

Sadly not a hotel we will be returning to, more than a little deflated that it was our honeymoon so should have been wonderful...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Having seen a lot of negative comments about Bulgaria i was a little apprehensive before we arrived. I need not have worried, this hotel was modern and in a lovely location. The staff were friendly, the food was excellent and it seemed to be fairly efficiently run.

The Hotel - Clean, modern but don't expect British standards. The bathroom looked posh and worked efficiently but if you look closely the finish is very DIY. The balcony doors were metal and tended to swell in the heat of the afternoon sun, so if we opened them we had to wait for the evening cool to close them again. There were 3 panoramic lifts, one of which broke down on our second day and took 4 days to repair. Since there were 2 others working this was not a problem. None of the above bothered us much. If you want perfection don't go to Bulgaria.
Food - The food was superb. After all I'd read about Bulgarian food I wasn't expecting the range and quality we got. As an omnivore of the worst possible kind I'm not really qualified to be a food critic but I can't see that anyone could complain about what was on offer. Lots of lovely salads, pasta, fresh fish and meat dishes and french fries for the junk food eaters. At lunch and dinner there was an abundance of fresh cherries which were just wonderful and also plates of turkish delight. The staff on duty were rushed off their feet but the tables were cleared and re-laid in double quick time. The Bulgarians seem to eat early though. Breakfast was from 7 am until 10 am. Lunch from 12 noon to 2.30 pm and Dinner from 6 pm until 9 pm.
Swimming - I didn't see any evidence of a pool towel service but that didn't matter as I'd packed my own anyway. There was a choice of two outdoor pools as you can use the pool at the sister Sol hotel next door. I thought the pool water was colder than the sea though and also it was getting a bit cloudy with all the kids going in and out with dirty feet. There is a very small indoor pool but it seemed to be very cold. The beach was fantastic. The hotel has a private area with sun beds amongst pine trees and some in full sun. There were little play things for the kids and the usual fresh water showers, toilets and the bar which works on your all-inclusive. Down a few steps there is one of the best beaches I've been on. Long and sandy, the water clear and warm. It slopes gently down, sandy all the way. There is a safe bathing area cordoned off from where the boats etc are. There were no sun bed pedallers on this stretch either.

All-inclusive. We arrived at 2 am their time and in our room they had left us two plates of cold meat and cheese with bread, an apple and bottles of water. A truly great welcome. The drinks were standard AI stuff, decent wine and beer. No imagination in the cocktails but I guess that's not their speciality.

Our room - overlooked the entertainment area which meant it was noisy until about midnight. Not too much of a problem for us.

Out and About - there is a bus service into old Nessebar but it is not as frequent as the buses that go to Sunny Beach. It is also very confusing at the bus station in Old Nessebar trying to find the right bus. However, we managed in spite of the overcrowding which is normal. Old Nessebar is well worth a visit but do expect crowds and lots of souvenir sellers.

Suitable for: People who want a fairly quiet location. Families. There is plenty to do for small children and very little for teenagers. We loved it as all we do is relax and swim and read books.

Room Tip: The rooms which overlook the neighbouring hotel pool and entertainment area will get the noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We found everything ideal for us, Super big room, good service, friendly helpful staff, good food - and plenty of choice.
There were around 220 Loungers around the pool (with another 50 stored nearby) but a maximum of only 30 people using them! Another 2 pools at the Palace & Mare hotels were similar.
Slightly disappointed that the beach was very narrow with no facilities but the resort was excellent with a large fun pool area for the kids. The Animation Team were really good, especially with the kids.
Only downside was the noisy entertainment from the next hotel until 11pm

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sol Nessebar Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Nessebar Bay

Address: 7 Nessebar Blvd., Nessebar 08230, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Nessebar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nessebar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Nessebar Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Management for Sol Nessebar Resort by Sol Hotels as per 2008. Kids pool area and castle refurbished for safety and quality reasons. New and extended food offers and resort entertainment & sports follow Sol Hotels quality standards. Gardens and Park upgraded. Resort Manager for Sol Nessebar Bay, - Palace, - Mare is Mr. Lubo Lipchev. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sol Nessebar Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Nessebar Bay Hotel Nessebar
Sol Melia Nessebar
Sol Hotel Nessebar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Nessebar Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.