We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good, The Bad, and the rude” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Marina Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Marina Palace to your Saves list
Sol Marina Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Ivan Vazov Str., Nessebar, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% discount
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Nessebar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“The Good, The Bad, and the rude”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

THE GOOD: This is a lovely hotel! The views from our room and from the sky bar, swimming pool and deck are amazing! The hotel is situated next to the beautiful old town of Nessabar, which has numerous restuarants and souvenir shops and overlooks the coast of the black sea. The hotel is modern, spacious and clean. The room was large, clean and our particular room had amazing sea views! There were always plenty of available sun loungers on the sun deck, the pool which is situated on the roof was never busy and there were no children at the hotel throughout our stay. The sky bar which is also on the top floor has amazing views of the coast and Nessabar and had a really nice atmosphere. There is free WIFI which you can access at certain parts of the hotel.

THE BAD: the worse thing about our stay was the 'all inclusive package' to me, it wasnt really worth going all inclusive. The food was ok, (personal opinion) we enjoyed breakfast but choose to eat at local restuarants most evenings, there wasnt a huge choice of meals but again, that was personal preference. The main issue i had was drinks. The all inclusive drinks were ONLY available at the restuarant during meal times, and the downstairs Irish Pub throughout the day, drinks could NOT be taken elsewhere in the hotel! This meant that if you wanted a drink around the pool or sun deck, you had to buy them from the Sky Bar, you couldnt take a drink to your room. Also if you wanted to drink in the sky bar during the evening you had to pay for the drinks. The Irish Pub had no atmosphere.

Although most of the staff were polite and helpfull, especially the 2 guys who worked in the Sky Bar who were both really friendly, there was one member of staff on reception who was just damn right rude! When we asked if he could call a taxi for us (we already had a number) he refused and told us to go call the taxi from our room and waved us away from the reception. He had a very rude attitude.

All in all a really nice hotel and we enjoyed ourselves! Watch out for the taxi's (RIP OFF) the lively part of the town is Sunny Beach resort, about 10 minutes away. For a local person they charge approx 8 LEV, the tried to charge us 35 LEV, we bartered but the lowest any taxi charged was 20 LEV each way! Budget for that if you want to go to a more lively part of the resort as old Nessabar is very quiet!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolMarinaPalace, Front Office Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
I would like to thank you that you have choosed Sol Marina Palace for your vacation and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for the time you spent to write such an extensive report in TripAdvisor.
We appreciate your opinion and comments, because they will help us to improve our services.
We are sorry that you had some negative experience during your vacation in the hotel.
We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    53
    28
    10
    3
See reviews for
18
75
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Situation:
The hotel is in a good condition (although not perfect ) and the location is just at the beginning of the old town befor the bridge.

Service:
The reception officers were professionnal and helpful, they showed us the flat before the reservation.
However the staff did not help us to take some luggages as it is normally the case for 4* hotels.
The staff lend us a small baby bed which was just perfect.

Flat:
The flat was quite big: 2 rooms with 2 beds, a living room with TV, sofa and armchairs and a room with toilet and shower cabin: it was perfect for us with 4 adults + 1 baby. It was on the last floor and the view was very nice on the old town of Nessebar.

Comfort:
The bed were big and very comfortable. A little problem with one room: the music of the bar terrace next to this room starts at 9am and even it is not a high volume it can disturb the people sleeping in that room. The bar just next to the flat is convenient and they can brings the drinks straight to your room. It closes at midnight, then you are not disturbed during the night.

Extras:
They have a underground parking and it cost 10 BGN per night which is a bit higher than the public parking, but it is underground which was very helpful in this hot weather. The restaurant is only a buffet and we expected to have some waiters but finally we understood that the restaurant is only for the customer with full included service and only provides buffet. It is just a pity for that kind of hotel not to be able to provide a real gastronomic restaurant with waiters, but there are many small restaurant (although not very formals) in the old town.

Conclusion:
The value of this hotel was very good and we got all the services we were expecting. They did accept credit cards which is not so common in Bulgaria (Officially the shops/hotels/restaurants take them but often the apparel is not working)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolMarinaPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management department and all the staff of hotel Sol Marina Palace, I would like to thank you that you were our guests and that you shared your experience in Tripadvisor! I would like to thank you for the nice words you wrote about the hotel and the survice and we will be happy if you will choose to stay in our hotel again.

With Regards;
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Marina Palace is excellently located with views of the old town of Nessebar and/or the sea.We were on the East facing side, so had a partial view of the sea from our balcony, which was lovely.We went in September (just back 10 hours!!) and although we were not in other bedrooms, we reckoned that it got pretty hot in the south facing rooms.

The room was clean, with decent facilities.The hairdryer worked but there was a hole in the hose bit and the shower was a bit finicky to use.Towels were changed regularly and the cleaning staff were very nice.The room also had a safe which you pay to use.There were no coffee making facilities, and staff didn't allow us to take tea/coffee or water from the restaurant up to the room, but there was a mini fridge in the room.

The reception staff were extremely rude, indifferent and unhelpful.If you can, try to have as little contact with them as possible as their responses will upset you.Although we booked a double room, we were given a twin room, with the beds shoved apart.When we queried this with the woman with short dark hair in reception (who does not wear a name tag and who we think has been mentioned in a previous review), she shrugged and her facial expression varied from disdain to confrontational.We hated when she was on reception and would avoid her as much as possible.

There was another young guy on reception who was also rude to us.He shooed us from the reception and said "go, go", when we tried to confirm if we needed a receipt having just paid for dinner in the restaurant.He didn't update our key when we extended our room stay and then we had to deal with the short haired woman on that one.When we asked the young guy to order a taxi to bring us to the airport, we overheard him tell the taxi man where we were from and they attempted to charge us more than the price we had been quoted earlier by another staff member.He was very reluctant to help us and he admitted that he did not care.

Breakfast staff were mixed, the majority were lovely.Being allergic to wheat, I found the chose of breakfast foods limiting.I also got foodpoisoning on the last day.I'm not sure if it was from the eggs or some pork thing I ate for breakfast.

The acoustics of the hotel were poor and we could hear the music from the bar in our room, which meant accepting that we would not sleep until 1am each night.The air con also vibrated and never sounded off.

If you are going with children, just be aware that there are no kids channels or childrens movies on demand.This did not affect us though.The pool was lovely with beautiful panoramic views and the beautican was extremely friendly and looked after me very well.

In summary, this is brilliantly located hotel with good facilities.Unfortunately, the staff let it down and depending on your interactions with them really have the potential to affect how you feel about your stay.

Room Tip: room 103 would be probably be the best room to choose as its East facing (ie cooler during the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolMarinaPalace, Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear “Rainey329”

First of all I would like to thank You for choosing h-l Sol Marina Palace for Your summer holiday! We appreciate shared experience in Tripadvisor as well!
Unfortunately, from Your review is clear enough, that You haven’t enjoyed the holiday as we would wish You to, but never the less thank You for the nice words about the hotel location and views.
After a short investigation among our employees I would like to share our opinion in here and to clarify some details You have mentioned in Your comments, which could be not clear for our future guests!
The double rooms in the hotel are all twin-bedded and because of constructional and design nature we are not able to set beds together. Double bed could be offered by the hotel only in units, directly facing the black sea and in the apartments, for which the price is different than Your original booking. According to our reception You have been explained and offered many times about the opportunity for an extra charge and the specific hotel equipment!
For this season we have had more than 3 clients, allergic to wheat, and all of them have been provided with the correct meals or bread! We only needed to know about Your allergic and we would do the same for You! Even some clients are mentioning about this healthy feature in front of the tour operator, that we could prepare ourselves, to provide the best service and welcome! Meanwhile the day of Your departure and even after, we haven’t had “Food poisoning” case in our registers or among our guests! Maybe You can send us more information for the menu You have had that day?
I appreciate Your worries about our family guests, but please note, that on our channels list we have the most popular international kid’s channels and namely: CN (Cartoon network), Boomerang and Disney channel!
I will totally agree with You, that staff in a hotel could really ruin Your holiday! As a service orientated business, hotels and management companies are straight orientated to pick up the best and to train the employees as good as possible! After all, it is also very important what are the clients looking for!?!
If You give us a second chance to welcome You again in our hotel in the near future, we would be very happy to show You our professionalism and good manners in order to satisfy every detailed request You may have!

Sincerely yours

Tsvetosalv Angelski
Quality Manager
Sol Marina Palace, Nessebar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed at Marina Palace in the beggining of the month of August 2012 with my boyfriend. I absolutely had the best of time!! First of all, the rooms were very clean and cosy but the best feature certainly was the rooftop pool overlooking the sea from which you could see the sunrise (for the early birds or late partygoers), very romantic :) Also, I might add that this hotel has a ideal location between the beach and the old town so we could easily walk to restaurants, shops, etc. I definitely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolMarinaPalace, Front Office Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
I would like to thank you for the nice words you wrote about Sol Marina Palace hotel We appreciate that you shared your experience in Tripadvisorll! We will be happy if you come next year again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed at Marina Palace for a week in july (2012). We booked a double room with semi all inclusive. It was good value for the money. The hotel restaurant is serving good and varied food. With semi all inclusive all drinks (soft drinks, beer and vine) is free, although there is no coffee at lunch. Since we wanted to experience the old town, we went out for dinner. The prices at Bulgarian restaurants is cheap, and the food is very good. Many of the restaurants in the old town has amazing views over the Black sea.
Be aware that all inclusive is not applicable in Sky Bar or Day Bar. Sky Bar has the greatest views over the old town, so it is worth paying the little bit extra for drinks. The staff is helpful and polite.
We found the room basic, but clean. The room has AC, but it wasn't working very well.
The balcony was very small, so there was only space for a small table and two chairs.
The beauty salon was rather poor all tough the prices was nice (check picture).
The hotel has a nice atmosphere. Most of the guest are Scandinavians.
The pool at the top of the hotel was nice, and there was almost sun beds for everyone.
If you like to go to the beach, you will find it very nice.
Two sun beds and one parasol costs from 21 to 30 BGN (2.20 BGN is about 0,6 EUR or 4 NOK).
It was nice to experience that there is no hassling in the shops. And you do not have to bargain. Most of the goods has a price tag. Over all we had a pleasant and relaxing stay, with amazing sunsets.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view - then you'll get a bigger balcony with stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolMarinaPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our happiness for choosing our hotel for spending your summer holiday. We appreciate your opinion and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again next summer.

With Regards;
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoham, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for our anniversary holiday weekend.
This hotel is sort of new, well designed and very suiting for tourists who want to walk around the town and especially to the old fishing village of Nessebar. The view from our room and from the rooftop pool was beautiful. One sandy beach is very close-by and so is the scuba diving port, the boats, the tourist train along the promenade and sightseeing along the rocky beach. The main promenade and tourist attractions at Sunny Beach are just a short bus-ride away.

Some negative comments about the hotel service:

The dinner buffet is varied and plenty of food choices, although if you come late the food is somewhat dry (open buffet).
If you have to leave early for the flight, the breakfast is open only from 07:30 and there is no coffee or anything else available. The hotel offers a very poor breakfast package with bottled water and a sandwich.
There was no extra key (electronic) for the room.
The safe in the room is not even attached to the wall or cabinet.
The mini-bar is not cold.
There is only one electric outlet in the room for connecting electrical equipment (chargers, computer etc.).
The rooftop pool is small but nice, with a corner whirlpool. Not much, but OK for kids.

In summary - the hotel and the room are OK and the personnel are friendly, but the service could be upgraded more for a better experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolMarinaPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is important to us that you share your experience in Tripadviser. Thank you for your negative comments, we surely need a feedback from our guests so we can improve our service and work. Hope to be our guest again :)

With Regards;
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This hotel is in a good location but you really don't get what you pay for! We paid for a double room with a sea view all inclusive and we got a twin room with the view of a building site! The all inclusive food doesn't cater for vegetarians apart from a bit of salad every day! The all inclusive drinks only include beer, wine and coke in the restaurant and the Irish pub both which are open at limited times! The maid barely cleans the room and you don't get fresh towels every day only on the first day. The staff arent very pleasant and welcoming either!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolMarinaPalace, Front Office Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Sol Marina Palace hotel for your summer holiday! We appreciate that you shared your experience in Tripadvisor!
Unfortunately, from your review is clear enough, that you haven’t enjoyed the holiday as we would wish you to. We really sorry that we did not live up to your expectations.
The chambermaids are changing the towels every day if you put them on the floor. They are cleaning the rooms every day.
The All Inclusive drinks are from 07.30 till 23.00 in the evening which are usually the hours in most of the All Inclusive hotels in Bulgaria.
We are training the staff to be helpful and polite to the all the guests.
I hope that you will give us another chance and we will have the privilege to welcome you one day again at our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Marina Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Marina Palace

Address: 7 Ivan Vazov Str., Nessebar, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Nessebar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nessebar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nessebar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Marina Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four stars Sol Marina Palace hotel is located between the new and the old part of Nessebar, only a few steps away from the most preferred Bulgarian beaches and is among the best hotels of Nessebar. With its unique location and quality of services, Sol Marina Palace is a very good choice for relax, holiday and business events. Modern conference rooms for formal meetings, elegant restaurants and bars, comfortable rooms with stunning view will make your stay unforgetable.At the disposal of the guests are 123 double rooms, 1 single room and 4 apartments. Most of them have unique sea view and are equipped with satellite television, information system, cable Intrenet, mini-bar, individual safe, central air conditioning system and ventilation.There is an underground paid parking and Wi-fi in public areas like Lobby, Sky and Day bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Melia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Sol Marina Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Palace Nessebar
Marina Palace Hotel Nessebar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Marina Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.