We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Balanced review of our experience in this hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Marina Palace

Save Saved
You added Sol Marina Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol Marina Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Ivan Vazov Str., Nessebar, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 34 hotels in Nessebar
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Balanced review of our experience in this hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Marina Palace is excellently located with views of the old town of Nessebar and/or the sea.We were on the East facing side, so had a partial view of the sea from our balcony, which was lovely.We went in September (just back 10 hours!!) and although we were not in other bedrooms, we reckoned that it got pretty hot in the south facing rooms.

The room was clean, with decent facilities.The hairdryer worked but there was a hole in the hose bit and the shower was a bit finicky to use.Towels were changed regularly and the cleaning staff were very nice.The room also had a safe which you pay to use.There were no coffee making facilities, and staff didn't allow us to take tea/coffee or water from the restaurant up to the room, but there was a mini fridge in the room.

The reception staff were extremely rude, indifferent and unhelpful.If you can, try to have as little contact with them as possible as their responses will upset you.Although we booked a double room, we were given a twin room, with the beds shoved apart.When we queried this with the woman with short dark hair in reception (who does not wear a name tag and who we think has been mentioned in a previous review), she shrugged and her facial expression varied from disdain to confrontational.We hated when she was on reception and would avoid her as much as possible.

There was another young guy on reception who was also rude to us.He shooed us from the reception and said "go, go", when we tried to confirm if we needed a receipt having just paid for dinner in the restaurant.He didn't update our key when we extended our room stay and then we had to deal with the short haired woman on that one.When we asked the young guy to order a taxi to bring us to the airport, we overheard him tell the taxi man where we were from and they attempted to charge us more than the price we had been quoted earlier by another staff member.He was very reluctant to help us and he admitted that he did not care.

Breakfast staff were mixed, the majority were lovely.Being allergic to wheat, I found the chose of breakfast foods limiting.I also got foodpoisoning on the last day.I'm not sure if it was from the eggs or some pork thing I ate for breakfast.

The acoustics of the hotel were poor and we could hear the music from the bar in our room, which meant accepting that we would not sleep until 1am each night.The air con also vibrated and never sounded off.

If you are going with children, just be aware that there are no kids channels or childrens movies on demand.This did not affect us though.The pool was lovely with beautiful panoramic views and the beautican was extremely friendly and looked after me very well.

In summary, this is brilliantly located hotel with good facilities.Unfortunately, the staff let it down and depending on your interactions with them really have the potential to affect how you feel about your stay.

Room Tip: room 103 would be probably be the best room to choose as its East facing (ie cooler during the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolMarinaPalace, Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear “Rainey329”

First of all I would like to thank You for choosing h-l Sol Marina Palace for Your summer holiday! We appreciate shared experience in Tripadvisor as well!
Unfortunately, from Your review is clear enough, that You haven’t enjoyed the holiday as we would wish You to, but never the less thank You for the nice words about the hotel location and views.
After a short investigation among our employees I would like to share our opinion in here and to clarify some details You have mentioned in Your comments, which could be not clear for our future guests!
The double rooms in the hotel are all twin-bedded and because of constructional and design nature we are not able to set beds together. Double bed could be offered by the hotel only in units, directly facing the black sea and in the apartments, for which the price is different than Your original booking. According to our reception You have been explained and offered many times about the opportunity for an extra charge and the specific hotel equipment!
For this season we have had more than 3 clients, allergic to wheat, and all of them have been provided with the correct meals or bread! We only needed to know about Your allergic and we would do the same for You! Even some clients are mentioning about this healthy feature in front of the tour operator, that we could prepare ourselves, to provide the best service and welcome! Meanwhile the day of Your departure and even after, we haven’t had “Food poisoning” case in our registers or among our guests! Maybe You can send us more information for the menu You have had that day?
I appreciate Your worries about our family guests, but please note, that on our channels list we have the most popular international kid’s channels and namely: CN (Cartoon network), Boomerang and Disney channel!
I will totally agree with You, that staff in a hotel could really ruin Your holiday! As a service orientated business, hotels and management companies are straight orientated to pick up the best and to train the employees as good as possible! After all, it is also very important what are the clients looking for!?!
If You give us a second chance to welcome You again in our hotel in the near future, we would be very happy to show You our professionalism and good manners in order to satisfy every detailed request You may have!

Sincerely yours

Tsvetosalv Angelski
Quality Manager
Sol Marina Palace, Nessebar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    42
    26
    9
    3
See reviews for
15
66
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed at Marina Palace in the beggining of the month of August 2012 with my boyfriend. I absolutely had the best of time!! First of all, the rooms were very clean and cosy but the best feature certainly was the rooftop pool overlooking the sea from which you could see the sunrise (for the early birds or late partygoers), very romantic :) Also, I might add that this hotel has a ideal location between the beach and the old town so we could easily walk to restaurants, shops, etc. I definitely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolMarinaPalace, Front Office Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
I would like to thank you for the nice words you wrote about Sol Marina Palace hotel We appreciate that you shared your experience in Tripadvisorll! We will be happy if you come next year again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed at Marina Palace for a week in july (2012). We booked a double room with semi all inclusive. It was good value for the money. The hotel restaurant is serving good and varied food. With semi all inclusive all drinks (soft drinks, beer and vine) is free, although there is no coffee at lunch. Since we wanted to experience the old town, we went out for dinner. The prices at Bulgarian restaurants is cheap, and the food is very good. Many of the restaurants in the old town has amazing views over the Black sea.
Be aware that all inclusive is not applicable in Sky Bar or Day Bar. Sky Bar has the greatest views over the old town, so it is worth paying the little bit extra for drinks. The staff is helpful and polite.
We found the room basic, but clean. The room has AC, but it wasn't working very well.
The balcony was very small, so there was only space for a small table and two chairs.
The beauty salon was rather poor all tough the prices was nice (check picture).
The hotel has a nice atmosphere. Most of the guest are Scandinavians.
The pool at the top of the hotel was nice, and there was almost sun beds for everyone.
If you like to go to the beach, you will find it very nice.
Two sun beds and one parasol costs from 21 to 30 BGN (2.20 BGN is about 0,6 EUR or 4 NOK).
It was nice to experience that there is no hassling in the shops. And you do not have to bargain. Most of the goods has a price tag. Over all we had a pleasant and relaxing stay, with amazing sunsets.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view - then you'll get a bigger balcony with stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolMarinaPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our happiness for choosing our hotel for spending your summer holiday. We appreciate your opinion and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again next summer.

With Regards;
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoham, Israel
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for our anniversary holiday weekend.
This hotel is sort of new, well designed and very suiting for tourists who want to walk around the town and especially to the old fishing village of Nessebar. The view from our room and from the rooftop pool was beautiful. One sandy beach is very close-by and so is the scuba diving port, the boats, the tourist train along the promenade and sightseeing along the rocky beach. The main promenade and tourist attractions at Sunny Beach are just a short bus-ride away.

Some negative comments about the hotel service:

The dinner buffet is varied and plenty of food choices, although if you come late the food is somewhat dry (open buffet).
If you have to leave early for the flight, the breakfast is open only from 07:30 and there is no coffee or anything else available. The hotel offers a very poor breakfast package with bottled water and a sandwich.
There was no extra key (electronic) for the room.
The safe in the room is not even attached to the wall or cabinet.
The mini-bar is not cold.
There is only one electric outlet in the room for connecting electrical equipment (chargers, computer etc.).
The rooftop pool is small but nice, with a corner whirlpool. Not much, but OK for kids.

In summary - the hotel and the room are OK and the personnel are friendly, but the service could be upgraded more for a better experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolMarinaPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is important to us that you share your experience in Tripadviser. Thank you for your negative comments, we surely need a feedback from our guests so we can improve our service and work. Hope to be our guest again :)

With Regards;
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a good location but you really don't get what you pay for! We paid for a double room with a sea view all inclusive and we got a twin room with the view of a building site! The all inclusive food doesn't cater for vegetarians apart from a bit of salad every day! The all inclusive drinks only include beer, wine and coke in the restaurant and the Irish pub both which are open at limited times! The maid barely cleans the room and you don't get fresh towels every day only on the first day. The staff arent very pleasant and welcoming either!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolMarinaPalace, Front Office Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Sol Marina Palace hotel for your summer holiday! We appreciate that you shared your experience in Tripadvisor!
Unfortunately, from your review is clear enough, that you haven’t enjoyed the holiday as we would wish you to. We really sorry that we did not live up to your expectations.
The chambermaids are changing the towels every day if you put them on the floor. They are cleaning the rooms every day.
The All Inclusive drinks are from 07.30 till 23.00 in the evening which are usually the hours in most of the All Inclusive hotels in Bulgaria.
We are training the staff to be helpful and polite to the all the guests.
I hope that you will give us another chance and we will have the privilege to welcome you one day again at our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Hotel's architecture is extremely interesting - resembles a ship set out to sea - and it complement's extremely well its position: on a cliff, right above the sea, very near the bridge to the old Nessebar. Best location in Nessebar if you ask me.

The bar&pool on the roof and the glass elevators oriented towards the sea give guess great views.

Rooms are big, modern and very clean. But the best thing is the floor-to-ceiling windows that (in most rooms) show exceptional views of the Black Sea, straight from the bed (which is very big and comfy).

For me, staying on the bed and feeling like on the deck of a ship was the best thing with this hotel. From your room you can also see the old town of Nessebar and, as the hotel is on a cliff, you generally see very far away.

Totally loved it and that's the only place we are going to stay in Nessebar.

Room Tip: ask for a room right next to the elevator (those are facing directly at the sea), as high as possibl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolMarinaPalace, General Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sol Marina Palace for your summer vacation. We are happy to find out that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to come back again. Thank you for sharing your experience in Tripadviser!
Hope to see you again :)

With Regards;
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

I stayed at Marina Palace with my boyfriend during our summer holiday, in July 2011. It was a very pleasant experience. The hotel is perfectly located very close to the beach, so besides the fact that you do not have to waste a lot of time to go/return to/from the beach, you can also relax at the pool on the roof or at the Sky bar, where you can enjoy the nice view; also, the hotel is very close to the old city which is really interesting to visit. The rooms were clean with a beautiful view to the old city and the sea. We had an all-inclusive package so we ate at their restaurant most of the time; I found food to be plenty and very varied, especially breakfast.
All in all, I recommend this hotel if you want to spend a relaxing time on the Black Sea seaside.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sol Marina Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Marina Palace

Address: 7 Ivan Vazov Str., Nessebar, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Nessebar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nessebar
#2 Spa Hotel in Nessebar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Marina Palace 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four stars Sol Marina Palace hotel is located between the new and the old part of Nessebar, only a few steps away from the most preferred Bulgarian beaches and is among the best hotels of Nessebar. With its unique location and quality of services, Sol Marina Palace is a very good choice for relax, holiday and business events. Modern conference rooms for formal meetings, elegant restaurants and bars, comfortable rooms with stunning view will make your stay unforgetable.At the disposal of the guests are 123 double rooms, 1 single room and 4 apartments. Most of them have unique sea view and are equipped with satellite television, information system, cable Intrenet, mini-bar, individual safe, central air conditioning system and ventilation.There is an underground paid parking and Wi-fi in public areas like Lobby, Sky and Day bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Melia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Sol Marina Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Palace Nessebar
Marina Palace Hotel Nessebar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Marina Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.