We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with great views.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Marina Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sol Marina Palace to your Saves list
Sol Marina Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Ivan Vazov Str., Nessebar, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Nessebar
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hotel with great views.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed at Marina Palace for a week in july (2012). We booked a double room with semi all inclusive. It was good value for the money. The hotel restaurant is serving good and varied food. With semi all inclusive all drinks (soft drinks, beer and vine) is free, although there is no coffee at lunch. Since we wanted to experience the old town, we went out for dinner. The prices at Bulgarian restaurants is cheap, and the food is very good. Many of the restaurants in the old town has amazing views over the Black sea.
Be aware that all inclusive is not applicable in Sky Bar or Day Bar. Sky Bar has the greatest views over the old town, so it is worth paying the little bit extra for drinks. The staff is helpful and polite.
We found the room basic, but clean. The room has AC, but it wasn't working very well.
The balcony was very small, so there was only space for a small table and two chairs.
The beauty salon was rather poor all tough the prices was nice (check picture).
The hotel has a nice atmosphere. Most of the guest are Scandinavians.
The pool at the top of the hotel was nice, and there was almost sun beds for everyone.
If you like to go to the beach, you will find it very nice.
Two sun beds and one parasol costs from 21 to 30 BGN (2.20 BGN is about 0,6 EUR or 4 NOK).
It was nice to experience that there is no hassling in the shops. And you do not have to bargain. Most of the goods has a price tag. Over all we had a pleasant and relaxing stay, with amazing sunsets.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view - then you'll get a bigger balcony with stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolMarinaPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our happiness for choosing our hotel for spending your summer holiday. We appreciate your opinion and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again next summer.

With Regards;
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    52
    28
    10
    3
See reviews for
18
75
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shoham, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for our anniversary holiday weekend.
This hotel is sort of new, well designed and very suiting for tourists who want to walk around the town and especially to the old fishing village of Nessebar. The view from our room and from the rooftop pool was beautiful. One sandy beach is very close-by and so is the scuba diving port, the boats, the tourist train along the promenade and sightseeing along the rocky beach. The main promenade and tourist attractions at Sunny Beach are just a short bus-ride away.

Some negative comments about the hotel service:

The dinner buffet is varied and plenty of food choices, although if you come late the food is somewhat dry (open buffet).
If you have to leave early for the flight, the breakfast is open only from 07:30 and there is no coffee or anything else available. The hotel offers a very poor breakfast package with bottled water and a sandwich.
There was no extra key (electronic) for the room.
The safe in the room is not even attached to the wall or cabinet.
The mini-bar is not cold.
There is only one electric outlet in the room for connecting electrical equipment (chargers, computer etc.).
The rooftop pool is small but nice, with a corner whirlpool. Not much, but OK for kids.

In summary - the hotel and the room are OK and the personnel are friendly, but the service could be upgraded more for a better experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolMarinaPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is important to us that you share your experience in Tripadviser. Thank you for your negative comments, we surely need a feedback from our guests so we can improve our service and work. Hope to be our guest again :)

With Regards;
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a good location but you really don't get what you pay for! We paid for a double room with a sea view all inclusive and we got a twin room with the view of a building site! The all inclusive food doesn't cater for vegetarians apart from a bit of salad every day! The all inclusive drinks only include beer, wine and coke in the restaurant and the Irish pub both which are open at limited times! The maid barely cleans the room and you don't get fresh towels every day only on the first day. The staff arent very pleasant and welcoming either!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolMarinaPalace, Front Office Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Sol Marina Palace hotel for your summer holiday! We appreciate that you shared your experience in Tripadvisor!
Unfortunately, from your review is clear enough, that you haven’t enjoyed the holiday as we would wish you to. We really sorry that we did not live up to your expectations.
The chambermaids are changing the towels every day if you put them on the floor. They are cleaning the rooms every day.
The All Inclusive drinks are from 07.30 till 23.00 in the evening which are usually the hours in most of the All Inclusive hotels in Bulgaria.
We are training the staff to be helpful and polite to the all the guests.
I hope that you will give us another chance and we will have the privilege to welcome you one day again at our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Hotel's architecture is extremely interesting - resembles a ship set out to sea - and it complement's extremely well its position: on a cliff, right above the sea, very near the bridge to the old Nessebar. Best location in Nessebar if you ask me.

The bar&pool on the roof and the glass elevators oriented towards the sea give guess great views.

Rooms are big, modern and very clean. But the best thing is the floor-to-ceiling windows that (in most rooms) show exceptional views of the Black Sea, straight from the bed (which is very big and comfy).

For me, staying on the bed and feeling like on the deck of a ship was the best thing with this hotel. From your room you can also see the old town of Nessebar and, as the hotel is on a cliff, you generally see very far away.

Totally loved it and that's the only place we are going to stay in Nessebar.

Room Tip: ask for a room right next to the elevator (those are facing directly at the sea), as high as possibl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolMarinaPalace, General Manager at Sol Marina Palace, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sol Marina Palace for your summer vacation. We are happy to find out that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to come back again. Thank you for sharing your experience in Tripadviser!
Hope to see you again :)

With Regards;
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

I stayed at Marina Palace with my boyfriend during our summer holiday, in July 2011. It was a very pleasant experience. The hotel is perfectly located very close to the beach, so besides the fact that you do not have to waste a lot of time to go/return to/from the beach, you can also relax at the pool on the roof or at the Sky bar, where you can enjoy the nice view; also, the hotel is very close to the old city which is really interesting to visit. The rooms were clean with a beautiful view to the old city and the sea. We had an all-inclusive package so we ate at their restaurant most of the time; I found food to be plenty and very varied, especially breakfast.
All in all, I recommend this hotel if you want to spend a relaxing time on the Black Sea seaside.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Unfortunately our stay here was at the end of the season, and we were the last guests to check out. Perhaps First Choice should have advised us of this when we booked. First impressions were very good, nice reception area, room clean and tidy. We went down to breakfast on the 1st day and noticed some tables outside that were all occupied, on the second day they had been taken in and so it started, each day something else was gone. On the 4th day they ran out of 'normal' tea bags' when we asked the waitress for some, she said they had finished!, then some other guests complained and the matradi came in with a new pack. On the last day we went down for breakfast and were handed a plate of cold meats and cheese!! No cereals on display, nothing in the servery. Just toast and cold food including a cold hard boiled egg, probably left from the day before. We asked about facilities for showering etc before leaving and were told we could use the spa shower, we checked it out the day before and all seemed ok, however when we went to use it on the final day, even the shower curtain was missing. We were intending to have a final drink in the skybar while waiting for our coach, but looked up and could see that all the chill cabinets were empty. The nice floral display in the foyer was dismantled while we were still there and we were told by another couple that they went up to the roof to have a final swim on the last day and found that the pool had been drained. The Irish bar referred to was not open at all during our stay. I would not receommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

The location was excellent and only a short stroll across the causeway to the old town, which still retains it's charm
A very good hotel, with friendly helpful staff. The rooms were cleaned daily to a high standard.
Any problems were dealt with promptly by staff.
The meals were a simple buffet, but were served in a clean and hygienic atmosphere
The views over the harbour were a delight and every room had a private balcony with pleasant views. The hotel is ideal for singles or couples but not ideal for a family.
Congratulations Marina Palace

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sol Marina Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Marina Palace

Address: 7 Ivan Vazov Str., Nessebar, Bulgaria
Phone Number:
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Nessebar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nessebar
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nessebar
#4 Family Hotel in Nessebar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Marina Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four stars Sol Marina Palace hotel is located between the new and the old part of Nessebar, only a few steps away from the most preferred Bulgarian beaches and is among the best hotels of Nessebar. With its unique location and quality of services, Sol Marina Palace is a very good choice for relax, holiday and business events. Modern conference rooms for formal meetings, elegant restaurants and bars, comfortable rooms with stunning view will make your stay unforgetable.At the disposal of the guests are 123 double rooms, 1 single room and 4 apartments. Most of them have unique sea view and are equipped with satellite television, information system, cable Intrenet, mini-bar, individual safe, central air conditioning system and ventilation.There is an underground paid parking and Wi-fi in public areas like Lobby, Sky and Day bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Melia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sol Marina Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Palace Nessebar
Marina Palace Hotel Nessebar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Marina Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.