We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mirage of Nessebar

Save Saved
You added Mirage of Nessebar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mirage of Nessebar
Old Nessebar, Nessebar, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Nessebar
east anglia, uk
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed here in the last week of September, their last week of opening.
The hotel is in a fantastic location, right on a sandy beach with lifeguards every 200m, and a gentle sloping beach that means you can walk out about 1/2 mile and the water is still just over waist height.
The rooms all ovelook the beach and have great views of Old Nessebar from the balconies. They are very clean and well furnished with a large bathroom, and mini fridge and TV.
The hotel is modern and kept very clean and spacious. Towels are changed every "tree" days, and the bed once during the week. The staff mostly speak/understand english and are helpfull.
Sunbeds are free on the patio around the pool but there is a fee for the ones on the beach.

The breakfast is ok with the normal continental style, and various hot bulgarian sausages, bacon, fried, boiled or scrambled eggs and pancakes, bread and a toatser etc.

Dinner however was not good. The usual buffet was suspended the previous week after complaints by the guests and replaced with a choices menu that looked good, but the descriptions on there did'nt match what was served, ie salad with egg, arrrived minus the egg, and the pork skewer with stewed veg arrived with chips and no veg! The pasta was so waterlogged the the sauce was tasteless. Complaints to the staff about this was met with indifference. This was very disappointing, but as it was the last week and the number of guests were low, maybe that was the reason.

However nearby are some very good restaurants serving fantastic local dishes that were very cheap and tasty.

Would we go back, a definate YES, but only on a B&B basis.

The area is very safe and the shops nearby, its a lot quieter than Sunny Beach, but only a short bus ride away, so the best of both worlds.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    11
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Just arrived back from the Hotel Mirage. Brilliant central location and the view from our hotel room was spectacular especially at night when Old Nessebar was all lit up. The room was very well furnished and comfortable. Breakfast was adequate and as we were on a bed & breakfast basis I cannot comment on the evening meal. Staff could have been more friendly but as it was the last week of their Season perhaps they were just tired. I would certainly go back to this hotel but not the last week in September as they were starting to clear up for the winter and at times you felt you were hindering them especially as they cleared away nearly all the sunbeds and all the parasols by the middle of the week.

Room Tip: Front seaview rooms have brilliant view of Old Nessebar
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich norfolk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Good things first, the hotel is lovely in a prime location, staff are helpful and breakfasts are plentiful and suitable for all tastes, rooms are very comfortable and spacious. Rooms are cleaned every day and beds and towels changed twice a week. Staff can all speak reasonable english. The resort old town is the best part to go as there are plenty of restaurants and bars and shops all mixed in quaint cobbled streets, it takes about 15 minutes to walk there along the sea front from the hotel. Now for the not so good things a minor one first the pool at the hotel is to deep if you cant swim and are under 5ft 2". Next outside of the hotel english is not widely spoken and it can be very difficult to make yourself understood especially if trying to ask for something a little bit unusual ie a glass of shandy!!! Meals can be very hit and miss to say the least, i found the Bulgarian dishes to be the best more English derived food might not be what you are expecting and if you try to ask them anything or heaven forbid complain they just did not understand what you were trying to say and we consequently found ourselves just paying the bill and leaving after purchasing substandard food that sometimes wasnt even cooked. Also although things were cheap compared to England it was not as cheap as we had been led to beleive from broucher information which claimed pint of beer £0.50 bottle of wine £2-4, 3 course meal for two people with wine £16.00. Expect to pay around triple these prices. In conclusion my opinion is if Bulgaria wants to fully embrace tourism they have a lot more work to do on customer relations and health and saftey issues outside of the hotel complexes.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor with sea view you wont be dissapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

The hotel was beautiful and the sea view spectacular we were bed & breakfast and the breakfast gave quite a good choice, but beware there is a disco from 10.30pm to 5.30am and also music playing from 7.00am in the morning to late on and it is quite heavy music take ear plugs.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

This hotel is situated right at the beach (there is a lift from the bedrooms direct to the beach) and only a few minutes walk from new Nessebar where there are a lot of places to eat. In general the hotel staff are friendly and the rooms are clean. They provide at the entrance of the beach and main door with brushes to remove the sand from your feet.
The only downfall is that the breakfast buffet is not really suitable for a 4 star hotel, and if some Eastern Europeans are also staying at the hotel, then forget about getting much (they tend to empty the trays pretty quickly).
Now time for a few tips:
- the parasols and lounchers at the beach are not free, and if you don't want to spend the money, there are areas a bit further up the beach where you can just place your towel
- there are a lot of jelly fish in the sea
- the old town of Nessebar has been spoilt with shops, the new part of Nessebar is better
- there are other ways (apart from the bus) to go to Sunny Beach without having to share the experience in a hot day), try the mini train or a taxi-boat
If you like a quiet holiday but still with planty of places to go, eat, then I would recommend to stay in new Nessebar. We went to Sunny Beach for one afternoon and that was enough, full of young people "enjoying" themselves, and no peace on the beach

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

This hotel is amazing and if ur lucky enough to stay here you will rave about it the same way i am going to. You cant get any closer to the beach, it is the perfect location for ur stay in Nessebar. The pool is not too big and it doesnt have a slide but it was perfect for us. The hotel is imaculate as is the pool area and the beach. The staff in the hotel are friendly and professional, in fact we didnt come across any Bulgarian who wasnt!
There are hundreds of places to eat and drink in both New and Old Nessebar, every restaurant that we went to was excellent and the most we spent on a meal for the 3 of us was 78lv (about 36-37 quid) and that included drinks.
My son is 8 and the locals thought it was great that he had learned a few Bulgarian phrases, Dobber Den is Hello, Blago Darya is Thank You and Nogo Dobray is Very Good (phonetic spellings).
From the hotel, Old Nessebar is about a 15-20 minute walk. it is very busy and its well worth walking all the way round to discover some wonderful, quiet views and restaurants.
Restaurants provide for all tastes, you will not be stuck for something tasty to eat, pancakes are a local specialty!
Cafe Italia was our favourite place to eat in New Nessebar and Uncle George's our favourite in Old Nessebar.
We went on an off road adventure which gets you right into the countryside and is lots of fun to do (tip: do not wear white!). And we also spent a day at the aqupark at Nessebar which is very well run and lots of fun for kids and grown ups!
Our favourite thing to do at the end of the day was to have a drink on our balcony looking out at all the lights and listening to the water lapping on the beach below.
All in all noone could ask for more from a beach hotel and resort.

Room Tip: Defo ask for a sea view in the hotel side not the apartments. Rooms are cleaned daily, and towels ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupper Lake, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

I am sorry to have to directly respond to the last comment but there is something fishy about a tourist who`d say "...and I did complain WHEN WE RETURNED but they would not REFUND any MONEY AS I HOPED."
Eitherway I don`t want to be rude and to waste time, so this is my experience:
1. The hotel was built last year or so, so everything was shiny new 10/10 for the class
2. Excellent rooms, great view if you get a room with a sea view, very clean and proper all the time. 10/10 for the class
3. Bathrooms were spacious enough, new and simply said very very good. 10/10 for the class
4. The elevator has a button that says "Beach"... and the doors open right on the sands - This my friends was something new for me. 20 out of 10 ans it surpassed my expectations
5. Hotel bar/cafE is located on terrace, right above the waves. Prices are moderate to cheap.10/10 for the class
6 The restaurant is also right above the beach. I found that it was OK, a the light was a bit dim because of the heavy curtains and it definitely did not compel me to wear a necktie, but in regards of all rest I can forgive them that. 8/10.
7. Food - the included breakfast was good and rather abundant. No complaints here as well. Other than that we never buy all inclusive - I believe that once per year on my vacation we deserve to pick our food and pay for it. 8/10
8. Pool - Good, has a children section. Nice and perfectly clean. Right above the beach. A bit cold and not very big 8/10 (By the way considering the pristine water in the sea and the fine sands we barely ever went the pool)
9. Staff: Very polite, very helpful and frankly said the receptionists were sexy ;-). Rooms were cleaned and put in order every day while we were at the beach. To my surprise staff were not habituated to expect tips. 10/10
10. Internet - this is my only negative remark. Free WiFi was available at the lobby and the bar. WiFi access in the rooms was available but for an extra fee. I might be a spoiled American but I believe WiFi access should be free all over the hotel. 4/10
11. Unrelated to the hotel but it`s itching me to say it.... this is an European beach... and you know what that means when it comes to women's bathing suits, right! 100/10
12. AND NOW THE BIGGEST PERK - PRICE is really cheap.The room cost us USD$ 100 per night. It was cheap. 10/10
Considering I can barely find a cheap motel upstate NY that sells rooms under 120$ these days, there I got luxury for a 100 bucks.

Bottom line I am going there this year as well. Hope everything is the same and the price was not raised.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mirage of Nessebar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirage of Nessebar

Address: Old Nessebar, Nessebar, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Burgas Province > Nessebar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nessebar
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nessebar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mirage of Nessebar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirage Of Nessebar Hotel Nessebar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirage of Nessebar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.