We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely go back.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iglika Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Iglika Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Iglika Palace Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borovets, Bulgaria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Borovets
Newport-on-Tay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Will definitely go back.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Just spent a week here on half board basis. Travelling 2 families consisting of 4 adults and 3 children (9, 9 and 6). Wasn't going out there to expect a palace after reading some of the reviews on line. However, we're pleasantly surprised. Compared to a lot of similar hotels the Iglika comes out on top. There's reviews that criticise the food......choice at breakfast and evening meal was more than adequate. Kids ate well and didn't turn their noses up. Coffee wasn't that bad really. Although we always had it from the urn on the left. Think the right one had different coffee which wasn't too nice. All meals are buffet with plenty of choice. Lovely salads and hot cold buffet at breakfast. Yep there is a microwave but if you get to dinner early 6.30 it's all piping hot. Bar is nice and relaxed and service was first class. Some reviews criticise the staff as being a bit grumpy. Basically if you smile and say hi the staff respond straight back. Possibly some people may have taken the staffs respectfulness as being grumpy. One thing is you can't buy a drink in the bar and take it through to the restaurant. The Waiters in the restaurant take your drink orders (same price as bar).
We took a 4 way extension lead with us which was a godsend as there was only one plug socket available in our room. The room was huge (310A) with a bath, second floor up by the staircase. We had no noise from the bar. Only issue here was some stupid teenagers that had a few too many drinks in the town and were far too noisy on their return to the Iglika. Hope they felt rough the next day.
If you like tea and coffee on tap then take a travel kettle too. The decor in the room was OK. It could do with a lick of paint in a few areas and there was a bare patch of concrete on the ceiling of the bathroom. But on the very positive the hotel and room were extremely clean and kept so throughout our stay. The pillows were like bricks but we just got them changed. Oh, and there was a rather strange art deco style bedside lamp with a spot light bulb and no shade. We found this quite amusing. The room did have a tendency to get a little hot but hey, just open a window. Always plenty of hot water available which was needed as the bath was huge. Typical for Eastern European countries, no shower curtain.
We travelled with BalkanSki and they advertise as free wifi in the rooms. This is however very intermittent. The Hotel advised us there is not wifi in the rooms but we managed to get hooked on most evenings and mornings.
The hotel is 150m away from the main drag but his really is a positive. No bar noise and a stones throw from the slopes.
What you need to remember is that the holiday isn't expensive compared to the likes of France and Italy etc but the service you get when considering this and the fact that you are in an Eastern European country makes the IP a great choice. We have no complaints at all. The reception staff even let us look at 3 other rooms on our arrival to allow us choice. We stuck with 310A for the size really.
Negative points...... Rock hard pillows and tired towels but clean everyday. Positives........put it this way we'll be returning next year.
If you're looking at ski packages we went to Hunters. Booked passes and lessons up about 4 weeks before going. We took our own equipment out so the cost for us wasn't huge but we never had more than 5 people per group. Whereas those who had booked through their tour operators had Borosport. We saw groups of 10 plus snaking down the slopes. No thanks.....
Could go on and on about things so will give close there. Enjoy and remember where you are going and how much you have paid.

Room Tip: We were happy with 310A. Not much storage but plenty of room for a family of 4. No balcony but huge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    69
    37
    13
    14
See reviews for
55
38
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

please dont b put off by bad reviews. we have just returned after a lovely weeks stay at this hotel. there was a group of 8 of us. 2 of which were children age 4 and 7. the hotel was really cleaning welcoming and far from noisey. we had a large room for 2 adults and 1 child. yeh it needed work but it was clean and beds were comfy. room was very warm. showers were always hot. food is basic bulgarian food but we always found something to eat and it was hot not like other reviews. the rep george was always about and was always there to help. even when we arrived at 9pm he carried our luggage up to room . the bar was very cheap and welcoming always found seats. knowbody told kids off for runing round and the bar staff were very friendly. the only bad thing i can say bout hotel is the 4 steps leading into hotel very very slipery all the time and dangerous. borovets its self is ok u did get pestered alot to go into bars but we ignored them in friendly manor. the snow when we arrived wasnt the best but by end if week was fab. i wouldnt return to bulgaria cuse its more aimed at skiers and not boarders and not over amount of runs. i would def reccomend this hotel to anyone as long as your not looking for 5*. its a 3 star hotel but lovely

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just back from spending Christmas week in Borovets. We (me and the wife) chose to stay in one of the "villas" directly behind the main hotel on a self-catering basis as we like the freedom to eat when we want and not when told to. The villas are really wooden chalets on the edge of the tree-line that can sleep up to six people. While ours (No:6) certainly could, it did look bigger than the others so I'm not so sure if that statement is true of all of them. Our "villa" had a spacious open-plan kitchen/lounge area, two double bedrooms and a bathroom. One bedroom had a double bed, the other had two singles. The lounge had also had a large sofa bed (untested) which would sleep a further two people. On the whole we found the villa spacious, warm, comfortable and, because they are tucked away behind the hotel, quiet. While this was a self-catering villa they're idea of self-catering does differ from ours. The kitchen only had a halogen two-hob plate. No oven, grill, microwave or even a kettle. It did however have a small but adequate fridge and sufficient crockery and cutlery. Also there was not any table and chairs to sit and eat at. Obviously you are being steered to change to some sort of meal option with the hotel or to eat out all the time. I should also point out that the "supermarkets" in Borovets have a very limited choice so eating out is really the only way to go. The only other downside was the lack of a shower curtain in the bathroom which resulted in evrything getting wet. The bulgarian pumbing is still as reliable as ever; the bathroom drain blocked on our last day resulting in a flooded bathroom and being moved to a room in the hotel for our last night. The room however was a very nice spacious double so it wasn't so bad.
This was our third trip to Borvets and two years since our last visit. We've stayed in the Lion (recommended but requires transport) and the Rila (s'OK). Despite the lack of self-catering equipment we would happily stay in the villas again. Overall we found them ideal for us giving the space, warmth, comfort, privacy and quiet we like. They're sited close enough to the chair-lifts and it's not too far to stomp in ski boots to the gondola.
Something else to bear in mind, if you go over Christmas and New Year you take a gamble on the amount of snow there'll be. The end of January and February are recommended. Finally; take a travel kettle!

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 6 and as far as we can tell were not charged any "under-occupancy" supp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just got back from a festive break (22-29th Dec).

As other report its not the Hilton, but for the price it is fantastic. Location is great and a very short walk through Rila to Ski depot and slopes. Actual stayed in the same room as i did in beginning of march. It had a lick of paint, though couple of broken things had not been repaired yet, though very minor items.

9mths on from last visit, and still the staff of the hotel, ski depot and the ski instructor still remembered us. The locals are very friendly and helpful.

From earlier visits the food is Bulgarian, and we did wonder what the festive meal on Xmas day was going to be, though we had an idea from doing a bit of research on Bulgarian traditions. This was spot on and was a truely Bulgarian Traditional Festive 4 course meal. Not to everyones taste though we all gave it a go and was plenty to fill you up (incl. trad drink.... very strong!). There was also a bit of live entertainment at end of the meal of singing and dancing.

I'd do it again and stay here.

Thank you for another fantastic week.

Room Tip: stayed in both sectors of hotel, no real difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Remember your going borovets not Calgary.
This is a great hotel. We went all inclusive, breakfast and evening meal. All buffet stuff. Breakfast is basic but warm. Coffee is really bad but it was everywhere.
Evening meal is good lots of choice repeated every few nights but filled me up and the kids always liked something.
Nice bar area and look out for happy hour.
The hotel is close to everything at the back of the rila.
The room was large two double beds in one big room with a small bathroom with shower over.
The skiing was great too which always helps. Kids loved their classes and were more than happy to go off. We covered every run and it was all open and covered apart from one of the top runs which had too much snow.
It's always a gamble what the snow will be like but I would recommend staying at this hotel.
Unless you paying loads at the top hotels this is one of the best.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Accommodation and food was first class. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Enjoyed the stay, but it was very tired. Needs to be updated. Not a 4 star at the moment.
location good, staff good, food good

Room Tip: Possibly north side for better views, but don't really know
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iglika Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iglika Palace Hotel

Address: Borovets, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Sofia Region > Borovets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Borovets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Iglika Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Iglika Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iglika Palace Borovets
Hotel Iglika Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iglika Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.