We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing steak!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Main Street, Borovets 2000, Bulgaria
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 30 Restaurants in Borovets
Price range: $6 - $19
Good for: Bar scene
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Amazing steak!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Friendly staff and great food! Three of us had fillet steak and all were cooked to absolute perfection. The biggest and most tender piece of steak I've ever had the pleasure of eating. Cheap too - three fillet steak and chips, steak sauces, onion rings and two rounds of drinks for £75 which included a nice big tip. Magic. We will definitely go back when we return to Borovets next year.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    4
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best fillet steak i have ever eaten!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our group of 15 were brought here by our instructor, the food is amazing and the service is fantastic. I can honestly say that I ate the best steak I have ever eaten in my life..it was huge!
We each had steak and countless drinks with waiter service and the total cost was 60 levs each (around £26) couldn't believe how reasonable it was!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We recently stayed in the samakov hotel in Borovets which was lovely but on our last night we decided to try somewhere different for food..The food in the Red Lion was delicious, the staff were friendly and the prices were quite good, definatley worth a visit!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

A new party destination for Borovets, staff was helpful, music was nice, atmosphere was great for party. We enjoyed a nice evening in the Red Lion!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We were in Red Lion every day of our holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I can honestly say the best restaurant in Borovets is the Red Lion, we were in there every day of our holiday, although we didnt always eat when we did the food was fantastic, massive portions for very little money. The staff were fantastic. Deffinetly worth a visit

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Borovets, Sofia Region
Borovets, Sofia Region
 
Borovets, Sofia Region
Borovets, Sofia Region
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.