We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but adequate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Sao Paulo Sao Joao

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sao Paulo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ibis Budget Sao Paulo Sao Joao
Save
You added Ibis Budget Sao Paulo Sao Joao to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Sao Joao 1140 | Centro, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01036-100, Brazil (Formerly Formule 1 Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #184 of 309 Hotels in Sao Paulo
1 review
“Simple but adequate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Simple hotel room without excesses, but perfect service, comfortable room to sleep. Hosting satisfactory. Service perfect. The only really bad thing is that the hotel's surroundings are not very nice and seem uninviting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruna Belic L, Gerente geral at Ibis Budget Sao Paulo Sao Joao, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate your review regarding to your stay at the Ibis Budget São Paulo São João. It's always a pleasure to receive positive impressions.
These will be shared with our teams. I'm sure your feedback will be an encouragement to continue improving the quality of our services.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    523
    467
    122
    66
See reviews for
223
161
171
546
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

typical Ibis Budget, very basic, but ideal for such a short Trip. Easy CheckIn and the Staff there did speak english. Room was very basic, but in the usual Standard this Hotels have mostly and we could sleep well there. There was a small choice of Breakfast, but we did not make use of it, due it had to be paid extra. We can recommend this, for short Stay. For longer Stay, maybe it will be too basic and boring.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruna Belic L, Gerente geral at Ibis Budget Sao Paulo Sao Joao, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Your opinion is very important to us so we can seek the continuous improvement of our infrastructure, service and care at ibis Budget São Paulo São João.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inglewood, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I was there after taking a long trip to Rapa Nui (Easter Island) for a few days before heading to my home city. The building is huge and accomodations are fine with enough space for 2 people and luggage, no frills, it must be said but this is something you should know already. Location is perfect, lots of taxis and bus lines, metro line is not so close but you can walk through the park and get to it. It is also near by the bus line that connects international airport to the area. You can walk to 25 de março avenue. There are many spots to be seen in the area, buildings and all. I felt pretty safe, there are some bars and restaurants, of course it is a super big city so the same caution should be taken when walking by. There are two police stations around it. The area is gay friendly and many bars, restaurants and people walking freely. There are several hotels around it and cinema complex also. The metro takes you basically every where. I always use it when I am there, taxis are not expensive as well. Internet is charged R$ 3,00 a day (around $1,30 dollars) it is fast a reliable. A/C heater and nice hot water. They have a shop downstairs where they sell water, sodas, frozen food and snacks which is handy and inexpensive. They have a breakfast room where you can buy it for R$11 ($6.50) which is fine and somewhat diverse, if you feel like trying it go ahead and if you do not like it just do not go back and try something else in the area. Rooms has double glass windows so it is quiet and comfortable.

Room Tip: High floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruna Belic L, Gerente geral at Ibis Budget Sao Paulo Sao Joao, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate your review regarding to your stay at the Ibis Budget São Paulo São João. It's always a pleasure to receive positive impressions.
These will be shared with our teams. I'm sure your feedback will be an encouragement to continue improving the quality of our services.

Sincerily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, Brazil
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel promises to be economic, but it´s so expensive! It doesn´t offer value! is necessary to be revised values ​​to generate cost / benefit. To write two hundred characters to express your opinion is also not cool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruna Belic L, Gerente geral at Ibis Budget Sao Paulo Sao Joao, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Your opinion is very important to us so we can seek the continuous improvement of our infrastructure, service and care.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Altough it's an Ibis budget hotel, so with a declared low cost structure, we found the hotel unsatisfactory.
The structure is quite old, some towels were not clan, the shower were broken and we had to prepare the third bed by ourselves.
Not at the level of the Ibis brand.
No restaurants near the hotel, in the dark you must use a taxi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruna Belic L, Gerente geral at Ibis Budget Sao Paulo Sao Joao, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear guest,

I appreciate your review regarding to your stay at the Ibis Budget São Paulo São João. It's always a pleasure to receive positive impressions.
These will be shared with our teams. I'm sure your feedback will be an encouragement to continue improving the quality of our services.

Sincerily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, Brazil
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I use to go practically every week from aprox 2-3 days per week since January 2012, to your F1 hotels in São Paulo: mainly São João, Jardins 9 de Julho, ou Consolação, I understand its smart hotel concept but I think it should be nice if you reward somehow my royalty.

And the worst thing I had is once I made a mistake on F1 9 de Julho when internet reservation fullfilment (I reserved a Sunday night instead of a Monday night) when I arrived to the hotel they charged the Sunday night aswell, it is legal but due to my loyalty I expected a flexibility about not charging what a I didn´t use.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Budget Sao Paulo Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Sao Paulo Sao Joao

Address: Avenida Sao Joao 1140 | Centro, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01036-100, Brazil (Formerly Formule 1 Centro)
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Budget Sao Paulo Sao Joao 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Also Known As:
Formule 1 Sao Paulo Centro Hotel Sao Paulo
Ibis Budget Sao Paulo Sao Joao Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Sao Paulo Sao Joao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.