We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first Churrascaria is still the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fogao Gaucho

Fogao Gaucho
Av. Marques De Sao Vicente, 1767 | Barra Funda, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo, Brazil
+55(11) 3611-3008
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 26,590 Restaurants in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Brazilian, Barbecue, Grill
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Countryside, Illinois
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“My first Churrascaria is still the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

I first visited this eatery in 1995 during a visit to Sao Paolo. The meats are fresh off the ranch and you know it immediately. This place set the standard for all Churrascarias in the world. My son was 18 yrs old and before this experience he did not like meat. This changed him forever now. The best delicacy was the roasted chicken hearts which are not found in most Churrascarias in the world.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    33
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This churrascaria is amazing - quite simply the best meal I have ever eaten. The decor is rather plain but don't let that put you off. The extensive salad and starter bars are impressive enough but the meats...oh my gosh....the meats here are mouth wateringly delicious and all cooked/seasoned to absolute perfection. The waiting staff were so attentive and helpful as they have so many different cuts of meat on other and take the time to explain which part you are eating. The waiting staff come around to your table in rotation and just keep on coming with one large skewer of meat after another which they slice onto your plate. I should be embarassed to admit this but I must have eaten half a cow when I went here as I just couldn't stop trying all the cuts of meat. Unbelievable and I still lick my lips when I think about Fogao.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“Even suitable for vegetarians!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I came to Fogao Gaucho with two meat-loving colleagues, and was very pleasantly surprised by the quality and selection of salad items available for vegetarians. Not only is there a cold buffet full of very fresh vegetables, there are also Japanese rice rolls and sushi, as well as hot items brought to your table such as roasted cheese, polenta chips, yucca, fried banana etc.

The salad bar contained probably 40 or more items including mixed salads as well as lightly steamed vegetables. There was a large cheese selection and many different dressings to choose from.

It isn't cheap but the food is very good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The BEST churrascaria in Sao Paulo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Its worth taking the trip to the edge of downtown to go here. This is the best in all of Sao Paulo. It is located next to the Brazilian Football Federation and Palmeiras stadium/headquarters so you often see Brazilian soccer celebrities dining here...if not the entire Palmeiras team. This churrascaria has a slight edge on Fogao de Chao...much of the same amentities and impeccable service but the quality of the meats is a step above. You'll end up paying a premium for this (around $60/head) but it is 100% worth it.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent steakhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

Excellent ambient, steaks for eat en São Paulo. Nest Congonhas International Airport.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fogao Gaucho also viewed

 

Been to Fogao Gaucho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fogao Gaucho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.