We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pack a torch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Sumare Ave

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Sumare Ave to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sumare Ave
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Doutor Homem de Melo, 1206, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 05007-002, Brazil   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #102 of 300 hotels in Sao Paulo
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pack a torch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Convenient location, nice breakfast, clean rooms...all the standards of holiday inn express. The above standard features was the size of the room (palatial compared to Europe) and extras in the room (coffee makes - a rarity in Brazil, iron, good quality toiletteries). The staff could manage English and were prompt in billing, arranging taxi etc. Its close to some nice restaurants and a shopping mall but if you need to be close to the nightlife, its a 10min taxi drive Ave. Paulista

The power went off on both days of my stay there plunging us in darkness and no a/c for almost 2 hours daily. If power failures are this frequent, the hotel should invest in a generator.

Room Tip: Pack a torch and essential supplies in case the power goes off
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sumare Ave, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Shyam R,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is delightful to know that our location was convenient for you and you found our rooms to be clean. It is always hugely motivating to receive positive feedback from guests like you. I am sorry for the unusual incident regarding the power outage. Please be advised your comments have been noted and will be used to consider enhancements needed.

I hope the next time you're in the area, you choose us again for your lodging needs.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    43
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
10
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I was leery to stay here as I do not know the area and have never been in that area very much. I have been to Sao Paulo 40 times over the years but normally stay at the Intercontinental Hotel downtown or the Renaissance. I am so glad I found this hotel. The Holiday Inn Express met and exceeded my expectations and I am so happy I chose this hotel over the other ones.

The location is in a very upper middle class area and I felt perfectly safe day and night. There were many good restaurants in the area and I walked to most of them. I was at the hotel for 8 nights. I felt very safe the entire time.

The rooms are very basic and noting amazing but the staff is exceptional. They are knowledgeable and helpful and friendly. I could not have asked for a better front desk group.

The Breakfast was sufficient and always several choices. The hotel is very clean and things just run well.

The Bourbon Mall is a short taxi ride away or about 25 min walk. I walked it several times and enjoyed the walk. The taxi ride was about 5 min to the mall.

The subway stop is nearby and it also walkable and the hotel is always willing to call a taxi for you.

I had a great stay and the staff is to be commended on running such a great hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hotel has a great location, near a big mall, as well as parks. Their room have a regular size, very good beds and pillows, free wi-fi, 24 hours self serving restaurant. Good breakfast buffett. They have a very efficient and friendly staff. Nice and safe location. 10 minutes away from Avenida Paulista. I would return to this friendly hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna, Italy
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Reception , price , Room are OK .
A bit noisy but I was facing the street .
Inside rooms should be better .
Essential services as per H.I. Express standards . Nothing outside !
Just to sleep one night in transit is perfect . No more !!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Personally I didn't feel that this property was in a great location, it's a safe location and near to some shopping and parks in Sao Paulo but it was not that convenient to the main business district, though the cab ride there was short and inexpensive. The property itself feels modern, there's a nice self-serving 24-hour pantry, the free breakfast was more than ample and included hot food as well as typical continental style with fruit and muffins. The staff was very helpful and all spoke English and Spanish and very attentive to any needs or questions I had. The room was quite large and comfortable, the wi-fi fast and reasonably priced, the bed quite comfortable and there was a mini frig in the room. Sao Paulo is an expensive city and this is quite a reasonably priced hotel, even factoring parking fees and/or taxi fares to get to/from where you need to be. The Shopping Bourbon is within walking distance and is quite a nice mall with lots of stores and restaurants. The shower set up was a bit frustrating as there was no way to avoid leaking lots of water onto the bathroom floor when you took a shower, they really need to install shower doors, not curtains. Overall it was quite a pleasant stay and I was very happy with what I got for the price at this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are quieter, away from the traffic below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sumare Ave, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear WorldTravelerTodd,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good and the opportunities to improve. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Sao Paulo and are glad to hear you were happy with the hotel accommodations and amenities. Whilst I am pleased with the really good comments, I truly value your feedback as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Thank you again for your review. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I get used to Holiday Inn Express hotel chain and this hotel is in line with many many other HIEXs. Breakfast included hot dishes and fruits, but still the same limited style one.

Pros:
- large room (for HIEX standard). plenty of space and good basic amenities;
- nice location in business district, a lot of restaurants nearby, area seemed to be safe enough (in comparison with the centre of Sao Paulo);
- attentive personnel, their English was good enough;
- the stadium of Palmeiras is in walking distance;
- free in-room internet (but only slowest option is free).

Cons:
- 150 USD per night for a 3-star hotel is not very valuable rate, though it's absolutely common thing in Brazil;
- strange insect was observed in the bathroom;
- in-room safe is not laptop (15 inch) sized.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

The room is good, clean and the bed is comfortable. There are the usual amenities (bath kit, pen, hair dryer, etc). But the telephone didn`t work (and it was not fixed until we left) and the bathroom has only a plastic curtain, that isn`t enough to avoid the whole place to get soaked when the shower is on. The breakfast is simple. Because of all this and location (not really near to interesting points in São Paulo nor to the subway station), it should be a lot cheaper. The service in the front desk is good.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the street if you want a quiet one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sumare Ave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sumare Ave

Address: Rua Doutor Homem de Melo, 1206, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 05007-002, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#109 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Sumare Ave 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to sunny Sao Paulo, home of the Holiday Inn Express(R) Hotel Sumare Avenue - Sao Paulo. This hotel's location in Sao Paulo, near the Financial District, offers the utmost in comfort and convenience for an affordable price, ensuring a pleasant travel experience. Business travelers have all the resources they need to be productive when they stay with us. Free Wi-Fi access is provided in every room, and the 24-hour Business Center provides guests with free local fax, copy and print services. With the Financial District on Av. Paulista less than five kilometers away, guests enjoy an easy commute to and from the many major businesses nearby. Sao Paulo offers many great parks, museums and architectural attractions. Let the hotel's amenities make your Sao Paulo trip more convenient. Start your day with the free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar, which serves coffee, local pastries and much more. Host your meetings in one of our four on-site meeting rooms. You can save time and money by staying with us on your next visit to Sao Paulo! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sumare Ave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sumare Ave Hotel Sao Paulo
Holiday Inn Sao Paulo
Sao Paulo Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Sumare Ave Sao Paulo, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Sumare Ave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.