We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed for the night, that's it!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Paulista

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Paulista to your Saves list
Melia Paulista
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Paulista, 2181, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01310-300, Brazil (Jardins)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 309 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bed for the night, that's it!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

No gym
No Pool
internet poor, mind you all are???
Street noise, just pray there is no protest on paulista!!! Very noisy, often violent and more often than you think, makes access to the hotel difficult at best.
Rooms generally quiet. No real bar to speak of and breakfast just about OK.
Check in and out can be very long due to lack of staff.
would not recommend, try Renaissance round the corner!!

Room Tip: Room at the back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    212
    57
    17
    13
See reviews for
71
78
33
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

i've stayed happily at the Tryp Paulista, and this hotel is just a bit closer to where I needed to be, has an excellent locations, and was also a Melia property. I expected professional, modern surroundings that would be exceptionally clean and with exceptionally professional and friendly and capable staff - and front desk staff that were comfortable in English. That's what you find at the Tryp Paulista.
What I found was a difficult checkin, and smelly hallways above the lobby, and a musty nasty odor in my closet. Brown carpet looks like you need to wear those hotel slippers (that they DON'T provide). The evening staff has very poor English. The dining room menu is exactly the same as the room service menu - good in that there's no price jump except a service charge, but poor because there's no reason to dine in the hotel. I'm here for a few more nights, but am definitely disappointed in the experience.

Room Tip: don't get the 4th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulista_Melia, Gerente geral at Melia Paulista, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Sir, Sherri S

We would like to ask you to accept our most sincere apologies about our failures and affirm that we will take corrective actions to avoid new occurrences.
Allow us to inform that we were without system to a maintenance of improvement to result in a better service to our guests.
We hope to see you soon at Meliã Paulista.

Grateful,
Jacques Bezençon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The initial impression of this city centre is quite a positive one....the reception has a very contemporary air but alas, once you step out of the lift on your desired floor, it all goes sadly downhill. The room decor is very tired....tones of '70s brown just leave you feeling very depressed in such a vibrant city. The bathroom or should I say shower room as there are no baths, are small to say the least, but I suppose functionality is acheived. Too many cracked tiles and dirty floor grouting for my liking. I used the restaurant facilities every morning and the buffet isn't extensive but more than adequate. The wait staff are more than attentive restocking the Buffett and clearing dirty plates and glasses quickly and efficiently. However, the chef on the egg station is the most miserable man I have ever encountered in a hotel. I appreciate that making omelettes and pancakes may not be fulfilling, but if you hate your job as much as your face conveys, look for alternative employment. We stayed here on business but if I had to return to São Paulo at my own expense, this wouldn't be my hotel of choice....and São Paulo has a vast amount of choice.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulista_Melia, Gerente geral at Melia Paulista, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Sir, Absolut 1969

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Meliã Paulista. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Meliã Paulista, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Cordially,
Jacques Bezençon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

very good location, just outside the door is an elevator that takes you to the metro. the staff are very helpful, the breakfast is varied and plentiful. the rooms are a good size with a good bathroom and clean, the soundproofing is average, sometimes ykou get some street sounds.

Room Tip: get a room not facing main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulista_Melia, Gerente geral at Melia Paulista, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Sir, Jack R

I would like to thank you for your comments about our Hotel, our priority is to serve you well and exceed the expectations of every guest.
I will pass all your compliments to our staff.
To us, it will be a pleasure be able to receive you again.

Grateful,
Jacques Bezençon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Om my... What went wrong? Everything!!!
Me and my wife arrived at the hotel early (due to our flight) and were hoping for a earlier check in. The staff immediately told us that this was not possible and that we had to wait till 2pm. No exceptions, we were not even able to check in a few hours earlier. We would have to pay 174 raeis to get an early check in.
We asked if we could get free breakfast with that (also because we would not take it the next day, as we we had to check out early for our next flight), but that was also not possible. No service at all.
When we talked to the manager in the afternoon, she was very helpful at first and said she would get us a discount. When she called to our room at 17:30pm, she said that she could offer us a free lunch (at 17:30?????), we were not allowed to choose any dinner items (!!!).
Then, when we left: we ordered a taxi at the hotel at 3pm for 11:30pm. When we came down to get the taxi, it was not there!!! We were forced to find a taxi ourselves.

The service of this hotel is absolutely terrible! Especially for 5 stars!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulista_Melia, Gerente geral at Melia Paulista, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Sir, Roald 22

Thank you for telling us about your stay and sorry for what happened. We take corrective actions to avoid new occurrences.
I hope we can continue worthy of your confidence and I put myself with all the Meliã Paulista team, at your service.
To us, it will be a huge pleasure to receive you again.

Cordially,
Jacques Bezençon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winslow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

City centre hotel. No outside space. Slow wifi . Gym under bubble wrap & tiny. My room was an executive room, v dirty. Mouldy bath room dirty tikes in there, hair on floor. Fraying carpet in bedroom. Noisy air conditioning . Staff polite but in caring.
Thank goodness I didn't pay. I would not recommend this hotel. The rooms need re furnishing and deep cleaning

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulista_Melia, Gerente geral at Melia Paulista, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Ma’am, Sarah

Thank you for your comments on behalf of the entire Meliã Paulista team, they motivate us to always keep looking for improvements.
Allow us to inform that we will treat your comments with full attention and respect.
Come live a great new experience of accommodation with us.
It will be a pleasure to receive you again on Meliã Paulista.

Grateful,
Jacques Bezençon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fes, Morocco
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great and fast check-in and check-out! I stayed four nights in a tiny and dirty room. The bathroom has grime and mold. The carpet in the bedrooms has very nasty stains. The worst for me was to cope with the musty smell, as they did not want to give me another room. The food was okay. I ordered a room-service and got the worst chicken during my time in Brazil: overcooked, dried and tasteless! The breakfast buffet was correct. The wireless was great. Taxi service too. Lovely staff at the front-desk. Staff in the restaurant needs to smile and be more helpful. It was honestly a really bad experience that I will not recommend to anyone. Nevertheless, the hotel is very well located, but management needs to improve the services and renovate the building.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulista_Melia, Gerente geral at Melia Paulista, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Mrs, Dideva

We consider all comments from our guests as a priority and of utmost importance.
Thus, we ask our sincere apologies for what happened during your stay with us. Such an event does not show the quality we seek and practice daily with all our guests.
Allow us to inform that the responsible boss, as the quality sector is taking the appropriate actions to avoid that similar cases occur again.
Again, we apologize for the occurreds and hope to receive you on Meliã Paulista soon.

Cordially,
Jacques Bezençon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Paulista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Paulista

Address: Av. Paulista, 2181, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01310-300, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Jardins
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#60 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melia Paulista 3.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Melia Paulista Business and leisure travellers in Sao Paulo are bound to find themselves on the Avenida Paulista, one of the most famous streets in Brazil. And it is here, at this important address, where you can find the Melia Paulista Hotel. As well as being located in Brazil's main business district, it is also close to all kinds of shops and leisure facilities. Enjoy the hustle and bustle of Sao Paulo and also a comfortable and welcoming place in which to relax. The Melia Paulista is this and so much more, allowing you to leave the frenzy behind and appreciate the peace and quiet of the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Melia Paulista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caesar Business Sao Paulo Paulista Hotel Sao Paulo
Melia Paulista Sao Paulo, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Paulista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.