We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saw the ballet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Theatro Municipal De Sao Paulo

Theatro Municipal De Sao Paulo
Praca Ramos de Azevedo, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01037-010, Brazil (Republica)
+55(11)33970300
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Theatro Municipal De Sao Paulo like an insider
Private Tour
$83*
and up
Private Tour: São Paulo City Sightseeing
Ranked #4 of 534 things to do in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Boston
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Saw the ballet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Nicely refurbished a few years ago I understand. We saw an italian ballet company that was touring Brazil in July. It was Giselle. Beautifully done and glad that I went. We sat about 8 rows from the stage on the left side.

Walked up the marble staircase to see the other rooms upstairs. there is a doorway that leads to an outdoor terrace with a nice view of the area.

There are parking lots around the area. We parked in one and walked a block to the teatro. There were plenty of police in the area and many other people there also attending the teatro so it felt secure.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,070 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,432
    572
    58
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh,NC
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Lovely building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stopped here on a daylong walking tour. The building is very beautiful with amazing details. Our tourguide explained it's history to us. A must see on any walking tour!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinhedo
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“beautiful but old seats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

interesting to visit but as it is vey old the seats are not confortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Necochea, Argentina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Really nice from outside.. don´t make visits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Could see inside but the architecture is Beautiful! Next time with more time I´ll get some tickets.. As many friends suggest me!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

While not in the nicest part of the city, the building is absolutely gorgeous.If you find the time to go inside as well I think you will be amazed. It's like walking back in time to a grander era. I loved it.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theatro Municipal De Sao Paulo also viewed

 

Been to Theatro Municipal De Sao Paulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Theatro Municipal De Sao Paulo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.