We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hahahahaha” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Century Paulista

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Century Paulista to your Saves list
Century Paulista
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Teixeira da Silva 647 | Bairro do Paraiso, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04002-033, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #230 of 306 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hahahahaha”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

I'm not one to write reviews on the internet, but felt compelled to write about this place. Of all the international traveling I have done, this place is by far the worst. Every last detail about this detail spells cheap and outdated. I have seen youth hostels with better amenities and service than this place, for much cheaper price.Starting with the front desk staff, who seem to have perfected the art of indifference in a country of the friendliest people on earth. They don't speak a word of English, and don't even try to understand what your saying with hand gestures or improvised Portuguese. Room service is very likely hang up on you if they don't understand you rather than understand what you are saying. I understand that not everyone in world speaks English, but come on, at least try and understand what yr guest is saying.The room is tiny, with about one foot walking space around the bed. There is no place to put your suitcase. The TV is a 12" tube( yup those still exist), with most channels missing. There was one METAL chair (seriously!!!) with the a removable (or broken, depending on yr perspective) seat. Very cheap and outdated wall desk, with an almirah that smelled of moth balls, with really cheap plastic hangers. No iron in the room (in fairness, that might be a Brazilian thing) and no prospect of getting one. All lighting is flourescent. Then there is the mini bar fridge, a fine soviet contraption that also doubles as an alarm clock...if you ever need to be woken up 7 times in a night. The assigned alarm clock however, wouldn't turn on. Now we go to the bathroom. Frayed and dirty towels, or clasically antique once used by Pele to wipe his butt. Mysterious knob that sticks out of the wall near the sink, where you set the temperature of the water before stepping into the shower. The shower leaks, flooding the rest of the bathroom, as the water tries to drain off for the rest of the morning. Test your reflexes as you struggle to control the flow and temperature of the water without either freezing or scalding yourself. Refresh yourself with soap treated with specks of the finest Brazilian industrial dirt.The internet is R$20 for all of the 15 mins that it is usable in 24 hrs. And if you can't stand to stay in your room, enjoy dubious sushi at a Restaurant Cipriani's. (Go figure!!!) I wouldn't be so tough on this hotel if it weren't charging my client R$220 a night.Like I said, I have been to some crappy hotels, but none had the arrogance to charge this much. Luckily i got to move to the Mercure today. Much cheaper and waayyyyy nicer.

Room Tip: get in cab ask to go to mercure or capital.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CenturyPaulista, Diretor de vendas at Century Paulista, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Google Translation
Infelizmente entendemos como um exageiro desnecessário por parte do Sr. Vinzak de Dallas, Texas.
Quanto ao staff não falar inglês, informamos que reformulamos a equipe e a grande maioria está habilitado a falar o idioma. Referente aos apartamentos, o hotel possui duas categorias, o STD de 13m2 e o luxo de 26m2, o que diferem é o tamanho e consequentemente o preço. Caso a opção seja por um apartamento mais econômico, certamente a acomodação é feita no apartamento menor. As TVS foram todas trocadas por LED 22" e com 60 canais da NET, inclusive Telecines e canais internacionais, o frigobar e o ar condicionado também foram trocados. Quanto ao enxoval, periodicamente é trocado de acordo com o desgaste e se eventualmente fora encontrada alguma peça em desacordo, há serviço de governança 24 hs por dia a disposição para atendimento e troca.
Cremos que um hotel que atende a 6500 hóspedes por mês, mais 3000 participantes de eventos, e mais 2000 pessoas de público flutuante mensalmente e com nível de aceitação acima de 90% não seja merecedor de uma crítica tão severa e isolada.
Outrossim, nós da gerência de relação com cliente fazemos questão de novamente atender o Sr. Viznak, acomodá-lo em padrão superior, apresentá-lo as melhorias feitas para possa assim apagar a impressão negativa causada. Pois em 2011 houve somente esta reclamação sobre a estrutura do hotel. Logo, entendemos que algo pontualíssimo ocorreu com este distinto hóspede.
agradecemos a valiosa oportunidade de melhoria que foi nos dada através desta opinião e estejam certos de que todas as providências foram tomadas para sanar as observações apontadas.

Atenciosamente,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    54
    57
    21
    15
See reviews for
22
9
6
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

I'm trying to call a friend who's in Brazil for work and I've tried calling twice to get transferred to his room. First time, the guy said no speak English. So, I looked up the translation of "transfer me to the room of senor whatever" in portuguese and called back. The idiot left me waiting with some crappy music playing and was wasting my minutes so I hung up. WOW, what a dump if you have people in the hospitality industry who can't understand basic hotel english! Even illegal Mexicans learn a bit of English to get by here. These people don't even try...

Room Tip: dont stay here ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CenturyPaulista, Gerente de relações com clientes at Century Paulista, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Google Translation
O hotel passou por uma reformulação de staff e a grande maioria do front desk é recepcionista com conhecimentos em inglês. Desta forma, entedemos ter sido um caso isolado que não compromete a qualidade dos serviços prestados em hospedagem, alimentação e eventos.
Agradecemos pela opinião e esperamos ve-lo novamente no hotel para que esta má impressão seja apagada.
Atenciosamente,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Stayed twice in July once for 2 nights and another for 1 night.
Rooms were large and very comfortable, food (Breakfast good.)
No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CenturyPaulista, Gerente de relações com clientes at Century Paulista, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Mr. Mike,

Thanks for the compliments to Century, confirming the quality of our services. We know that all opinions are valid, because provide us opportunities for improvement. We fully agree with your comments, as there are often greatly exaggerated criticism by sitações simple. But it behooves us to thank everyone, fix the problems really relevant, lamenting the hype and reiterate our thanks to customers like Mr. cordial
Thank you,
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

Stayed here with a group of friends for 1 night - and we tried to make the night very long so we didn't have to stay here for too long. The rooms are extra tiny, we only traveled with 2 hand luggage suitcases but had problems putting them somewhere in the room. Everything's very old, the lobby has the charme of a 1970s train station restaurant, most cab drivers took ages finding the hotel. Location however is quite good, but in the middle of a residential area, so if you stay here, it's absolutely crucial to take a map from the hotel to show the taxi drivers where to go. Overall, not an experience I would want to repeat, especially not for 210 Reales a night (100 USD).

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CenturyPaulista, Gerente de relações com clientes at Century Paulista, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Google Translation
O Century possui dois padrões de apartamento o STD de 13m2 eo Luxo com 26m2. Certamente o luxo atenderia melhor à necessidade de muita bagagem. Estas informações de tamanho constam em todos os portais de reservas e estamos a disposição também para adicionar informações que se fizerem necessárias.
A localização do hotel é no bairro do Paraiso, coração financeiro de SP, a 500m da Av. Paulista, a 5ª avenida de SP. Mesmo para alguém de fora do país, não dificuldade alguma em chegar, esceto se motoristas de táxi tiverem alguma intensão que não levar o cliente diretamente ao destino.
A tarifa de US$ 100, é o valor abaixo dos hotéis da região.
Agradecemos pela colaboração e nos colocamos a inteira disposição.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2007

wow! this could be a great hotel,unfortunately the staff are very hard to deal with. the general manager is very rude. we came upon this place,we liked the location and general appearance.we we're specificly looking for a hotel that had a pool,and fitness center.before booking in we asked if we could view a room first,the front desk said yes...we waited 55minutes as the girl appointed to show us the room chatted on the telephone with a friend.when we informed them we could return later to view a room they informed us to wait as they were waiting for the room to be made up..that it would only take a few minutes...another 35 minutes later we were taken to the room. it was very very small,but clean and adequate.then we ask to see the fitness center and pool,once again we were told the pool was open 24 hours a day for our convenience...this seemed odd as the pool had a tarp on it..when we questioned this we were informed it was tarped to keep the rain out?that night after checking we tried to use the pool...after trying to get someone to remove the tarp for over an hour..we gave up...they had employees at the pool ready to sell us beer...but apparrently none of them had authority to remove the tarp ??? when we returned to our room we found we were in need of pillows..this took two hours to obtain and 8 calls to the front desk...with several pass the buck stories,very frustrating at midnight when you're tired and just want to get to sleep! after two days of still being told we were welcome to use the pool,but informed we were not allowed to remove the tarp to access it, we asked to talk to the manager. i briefly explained my issues.his response was amazing...he demanded to know why i needed a pool...then yelling at me informed me that he was not running a hospital and abrubtly hung up on me.i would not reccomend this hotel to anyone..ther are many other hotels in the area that offer more for a lot less..and they don't have staff and managers that continually lie and yell at customers in an attempt to intimidate them.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — managers aggressive arrogant rude attitude
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CenturyPaulista, Gerente de relações com clientes at Century Paulista, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Google Translation
O Century possui toda a sua estrutura de lazer à disposição de seus clientes sem custo adicional nenhum e com todas as funcionalidades de um bom hotel da região nobre da Av. Paulista.
Temos a informar que esta situação ocorrida, certamente foi atípica e pontual e acrecentamos que todos os colaboradores envolvidos neste eventual episódio não fazem parte de nosso staff, inclusive o gerente que prestou este tipo de atendimento.
O Century está há dois anos em uma nova etapa onde valoriza ao extremo o relacionamento com o cliente, prezando pela sua plena satisfação.
Entendemos que todos são importantes e que episódios isolados com o descrito estão praticamente extintos em nosso rol de serviços.
Century Paulista, certificado ISO 9001 em qualidade.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Century Paulista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Paulista

Address: Rua Teixeira da Silva 647 | Bairro do Paraiso, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04002-033, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 306 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Century Paulista 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Century Paulista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Paulista Sao Paulo, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Century Paulista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.