We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good location, few facilities lacking, noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Hotel Nova Paulista

Save Saved
You added Comfort Hotel Nova Paulista to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Nova Paulista
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Vergueiro 2740, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04102-001, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 303 hotels in Sao Paulo
Cuernavaca
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Clean, good location, few facilities lacking, noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Let me start by admitting that it was someone else's money I was spending here. I don't even know how much a room costs or the food in the restaurant, it was all prepaid. So I can't comment on value for money. But I can comment on the rest.

I had a twin room with single beds, not a huge amount of room but adequate. Cleanliness was excellent in room and rest of hotel. Bathroom well appointed although the shower was somewhat noisy. Safe in room worked fine, flat-screen TV with plenty of channels, mini-bar available. Bed neither luxurious nor uncomfortabel, I slept fine in that sense.

Where I did lose some sleep was with the street noise, even on the 13th floor. Half the hotel rooms point the other way from the main drag outside, I definitely recommend getting one of those rooms. It also meant that the window had to remain closed, which had the knockon effect of exposing the lack of ventilation in the bathroom - there's no extractor fan or anything, so after a shower or two the room gets stuffy and humid and if that's at night, you can't open the window for the street noise. There is air-con, but in winter it's unnecessary, maybe in summer the humidity would fall quicker if you had the air-con functioning. WiFi was good in my room.

The restaurant buffet is OK, I had breakfasts and evening meals there, but there is practially zero variety day to day, so over a longer stay that quickly gets very boring. My major criticism is that there is no bar area so to speak, or lounge or salon or anywhere in which one can socialise or meet up with friends etc. There is a bar, but apart from a few stools, nowhere to sit. So it wasn't very sociable place to stay.

There is a small gym with a couple of treadmills, a bicycle and a few dumbells nothing more. The small pool is outdoors and unheated, which makes it way too cold in winter to venture in. I'm sure that in summer it would be inviting.

Around the hotel, across the street there are a couple of bars, albeit quite expensive (around 4 to five dollars for a tiny beer, no more than 200mls at best) but busy and popular with locals. I didn't find the area at all sketchy or full of drug users as another reviewer put it. In the street behind the hotel are many banks. The hotel is between the Ana Rosa and Vila Mariana metro stops, and just past the Ana Rosa metro is a small supermarket where one can stock up for longer stays and avoid the minibar prices.

Overall this is a reasonable hotel, by no means charming or homely but it does the job just fine for a mid-range place to sleep.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back, away from traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrijo R, Gerente geral at Comfort Hotel Nova Paulista, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Guest:

I would like to thank you for the feedback about your stay at Comfort Nova Paulista, on June 2011. Your comments were very important to help us to improve our service.
From your stay at Comfort Nova Paulista, in June 2011 until today, we have made several changes, including a renovation of rooms and social áreas.
It will be a pleasure to host you in Comfort Nova Paulista again on your next trip to São Paulo city to prove that our improvements.
I´ll be waiting for your reservation!

Sincerely,

Regina Carrijo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    75
    57
    11
    2
See reviews for
20
15
11
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

I have stayed here for a day during a weekend. Rooms are very good: spacious, clean and well mantained. But you can find the same quality for slightly lower prices in more convenient locations. Breakfast is average.

I could not decide wether to give 3 or 4 stars, but decided on 3 because the wireless internet was not working and although I called reception it still would not work. Actually the staff guy who answered said he would call me back with a solution, but never did.

Room Tip: As there could be street noise, higher is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrijo R, Gerente geral at Comfort Hotel Nova Paulista, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for the feedback about your stay at Comfort Nova Paulista, on June 2011. Your comments were very important to help us to improve our service.
From your stay at Comfort Nova Paulista until today, we have made several changes, including exchange of employees to a renovation of rooms and social áreas.
It will be a pleasure to host you in Comfort Nova Paulista again on your next trip to Sao Paulo city to prove that our improvements.
I´ll be waiting for your reservation!

Sincerely,

Regina Carrijo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2008

The hotel accomodation are pretty clean. The staff is very helpful.
The broad band service is too expensive.
I felt concerned about walking down the streets at night due to beggar, drug dealer on the streets when it grows dark.

  • Liked — staff, cleaness
  • Disliked — network service very expensive
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggeralcnp, Gerente de recepção at Comfort Hotel Nova Paulista, responded to this review, January 29, 2011
MrsThali,

Thanks for your comments.

We provide broad band wi-fi acess totally free at all floors. We only charge for the use of computers in our business center. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2005

Stayed there in January 2005. The surrounding area is somewhat barren, being bang on a very busy highway. Once you get over that, the room is good value for your money. Very clean comfortable bed, and the armchair in the room was one of the most comfortable chairs I've sat in. Roomy, clean, bright, bathroom, Cable TV. Limited closet space. Close to two subway stations, supermarket and shops, and fast food outlets. The hotel features a functional restaurant, and 'business centre' for internet access, taxis outside, and couteous staff.
Good value for a small budget.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggeralcnp, Gerente de recepção at Comfort Hotel Nova Paulista, responded to this review, January 29, 2011
Google Translation
Hello dear Guest,

Thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Hotel Nova Paulista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Nova Paulista

Address: Rua Vergueiro 2740, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 04102-001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 303 hotels in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Nova Paulista 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Comfort Hotel Nova Paulista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Nova Paulista Sao Paulo, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Hotel Nova Paulista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.