We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Hotel with annoying aspects” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tivoli Sao Paulo Mofarrej

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tivoli Sao Paulo Mofarrej to your Saves list
Tivoli Sao Paulo Mofarrej
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alameda Santos, 1437, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01419, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 306 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Reasonable Hotel with annoying aspects”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

I have stayed now at this hotel on two separate occassions within two months of each other, both for extensive periods of time.

Make sure you request one of the "club" style rooms as these are the ones rennovated. The classic lower floor rooms are very dated. You also need to be lucky with what room you get as half the rooms would classify as shoe box in size.

AIR COND is garbage. I discovered after a few nights of waking up in the middle of night to a hot room that the hotel actually switches off the compressor during the wee hours in order to save money. Nice move to increase profits but pretty deceptive and misleading to the guests paying 5 star rates.

The breakfast is reasonable and the gym is excellent - this is run by an outside gym operator so you will have to pay extra but worth it !!

There is free wi-fi if you join their loyalty club (for free) but they will not tell you this in order to charge you (another nice move in customer service !!)

I travel to Sao Paulo regularly. I have stayed at Fasano, Emiliano and Tivoli. Unfortunatley Sao Paulo lacks good quality hotels so there is not much choice. I think Fasano is by far the best but very pricey. Emiliano would be a second and Tivoli is a distant third but the gym is the best of all.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    126
    61
    20
    19
See reviews for
34
74
23
226
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Great hotel with excellent service. The hotel is kinda like a boutique with big chain services. The bed was very confortable and wifi internet worked very well throughout. The concierge was so helpful with suggesting things around town and making reservations for us. All in all, would stay here again if I ever get the chance to make it back to Brazil!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

I stayed at the Tivoli for 5 days. It is well-situated for business travelers who need to be near the Ave Paulista and close to bank headquarters such as Citibank. Hotel lobby staff from the entrance to check in are attentive and professional. The lobby area is modern and well designed, as is a lobby level bar and restaurant. Floors are also modern with fresh carpeting and modern signage. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. Yet there are quirks: the bed is well-dressed but the mattress feels cheap and was a letdown from the JW Marriott bed I'd slept in the prior night. Bathroom grout has long since turned black. Basic services are over-the-top expensive even for a hotel (i.e. US$15 to clean a shirt, US$20 for a can of nuts, US$50 for internet access for 3 days). The Gym is well-appointed. The equipment is top notch. However it is under-served by staff and seems to be used primarily by local members who have a separate street level entrance.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed here for one night just to enjoy a half day and a night alone. The room was one of the recently refurbished ones when Tivoli starte to take care of the Hotel and it looks very confortable and clean with amenities such a Nespresso Cafeteria in it. We ordered some food to eat in the room is it was very, very good. It arrived quiclky too. One minor flaw is that in the middle of the noght we started to hear some very boring air conditioning metalic noise and at 3 AM there's not so much will to change rooms, complain, etc. If it was not for that it would receive a 5 star. It's a pricey hotel though, we wanted to know the hotel and we loved it, but next time will look at prices around.

Room Tip: Go over the 14th floor, has a better view and the.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

i did spend quite a long time in this hotel in may and all i can say is a big bravo for every and any service provided. from the door of the hotel to your bed a magical trip to really make you understand what perfection is. the only thing i would say is that time there went too fast for my taste.........very personnalised and attentive service in all fields.

Room Tip: i would highly recommand the executive plu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

A really comfortable stay in a trendy hotel made this business trip that bit more enjoyable.

I had a fantastic room on the 21st floor which offered great views across the city and the hotel was generally of high spec.

The only slight disappointments that I had here were with the quality of the food (twice) from room service and the restaurant and I'd recommend eating out as it was quite poor. Also, there was a lack of attention to service around the swimming pool which was noticeable.

Minor issues but overall a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

For a 5 star hotel I have to say I was disappointed. The hotel has nothing memorable. It is an averae hotel in every aspect of the word. If you want a safe place to stay, and all the standard services of a hotel, then stay here. You will also pay dearly for it.

The lobby has an ecelctic decoration. It also has a bar with very expensive drinks. I ordered a Macallan 12 years and they charged me 120 Reals for it (about $75 US for one drink)

There is a breakfast buffett every morning and it is pretty good. The only thing is that they do not change the variety of the food at all. It is the same food all week.

The rooms are spacious but need to be decorated better. They have no iPod players in the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a corportae rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tivoli Sao Paulo Mofarrej? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Sao Paulo Mofarrej

Address: Alameda Santos, 1437, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01419, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Sao Paulo
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#32 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#33 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
#55 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Sao Paulo Mofarrej 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Jardins area, just a block from Avenida Paulista, discover the new Tivoli São Paulo Mofarrej, in the very centre of the city. Whether you are travelling on business or for pleasure, this hotel has everything you need for an unforgettable stay. Totally redecorated rooms, excellent meeting rooms, the largest presidential suite in South America, heated outdoor swimming pool and an Elements SPA by Banyan Tree, the prestigious Asian chain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tivoli Sao Paulo Mofarrej reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Sao Paulo Mofarrej Hotel Sao Paulo
Tivoli Hotel Sao Paulo
Tivoli Sao Paulo Mofarrej Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tivoli Sao Paulo Mofarrej, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.