We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TRYP Higienopolis Hotel - Sao Paulo, Brazil” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tryp Higienopolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tryp Higienopolis to your Saves list
Tryp Higienopolis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Maranhao 371, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01402-002 , Brazil (Formerly Melia Confort Higienopolis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 306 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Indianapolis, IN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“TRYP Higienopolis Hotel - Sao Paulo, Brazil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was my first trip to Brazil. I was attending a business meeting with a couple of days of free time on each end of the meeting. I had no idea or preconceived notion of what Sao Paulo or the hotel would be like. I was pleasantly surprised by the TRYP Higienopolis Hotel. It is located in an upscale, tree lined, pleasant neighborhood with lots of shops, restaurants and public parks. Higienopolis is convenient to downtown and many interesting sights.

The rooms in the hotel are very large and well appointed but not, by any means, lavish. Our room had everything we would need for a pleasant stay and then some: robes, minibar, safe, internet, a desk, comfortable chair. The bed was very comfortable, with plenty of extra pillows of various types. The bathroom was small but well appointed. The shower was a deluge of water. The major negative was the toilet. It tended to slow and clog up with little provocation. A call to the front desk resulted in very quick service.

I found the front desk staff to be very helpful. Most or all of them spoke some English. The consierge, Alex, was very helpful and resourceful. He arranged a great tour to Santos and surrounding areas, and scored free tickets to a Sunday morning concert for my wife and I.

We got to meet the General Manager of the Hotel, Golda, on a couple of occasions. She was very friendly and helpful to us and very enthusiastic about her hotel and her job.

The restaurant in the hotel was very nice. We had all of our breakfasts there (included with our stay) and one dinner and one lunch. The food was very good and the staff, very attentive and friendly.

The TRYP Higienopolis is a gem of a hotel in a nice neighborhood in Sao Paulo. It contributed greatly to our enjoyment of Sao Paulo.

Room Tip: Get a high floor if you can. The views of Sao Paulo are impressive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golda_TrypH, Gerente geral at Tryp Higienopolis, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Mr. JayINDY,
First of all, many thanks for your kind review to TRYP Higienópolis Hotel. It was a pleasure to have you and your wife staying with us. We are happy that we could help to enhance your experience in São Paulo through our “Own the City” program designed by Melia Hotels International to make our guests feel at home in our city. We´ll be more than happy to have you here any time you come to São Paulo, there are many other places that you can enjoy.
Thank you & Best Regards, Golda Boruchowski – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    176
    52
    19
    5
See reviews for
77
49
31
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a nice place to stay in a very good neighborhood near downtown and Paulista Avenue. The accomodations are fine and well maintained. The breakfast gives you a lot of options but the restaurant is small and its cause some lines with the guests in charge of coordination. The front desk is totaly chaotic, huge lines at the check-in and check out.... missing rooms, missing reservations, incorrect billing and so on. Needs some process review and actual management.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golda_TrypH, Gerente geral at Tryp Higienopolis, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Mr. Felipe V,
We would like to thank you for the time spent to evaluate our hotel and the opportunity to improve our front desk services with the information provided by you. I hope I can see you on TRYP Higienópolis in your next stay in São Paulo, and if you have any issue, please feel free to contact me directly: gergeral.higienopolis@tryphotels.com.br .
Thank you & Best Regards, Golda Boruchowski – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wädenswil
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The hotel is OK and clean. The rooms are rather 3-star quality, certainly no more. The personnel in the breakfast room is excellent and friendly. Language skills of reception staff is largely limited to Portuguese.

All in all it is OK if you plan no more than 3 nights.

The photographs promise more that what the reality looks like. Pricing is OK.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

As fellow travellers has written, then the hotel is well located. But that is pretty much it.

The service is in general quite poor. Me and my colleagues had to ask to get our rooms cleaned several times because they apparently forgot it. They do not have a real concierge function, so the info regarding the city, maps, tours etc. was very limited as the receptionists apparently are not experts in ”things to do” and there is the language barrier if you do not speak Portuguese. Check in/check out was extremely slow and cumbersome. When ordering a taxi through the hotel it could take 15 minutes to get, even though the streets were full of them. If you have 2-3 devices which need internet access, then it is a major problem as they can normally only manage one device per room – not suitable if it is a business hotel..

The fitness room would need a big refurbishment; really out-dated weights and machines and some of the fitness machines did not work and looked like it has been in that state for months. No music in the fitness room. The worst is though, that the swimming pool was not suited for swimming at all! I addressed the issue twice at the reception but nothing happened. Then I took the manager out to see the ”green” pool – full of algae and fungus (see pool pictures…). In the end of the pool under the building, the pool got all green when I was swimming because I stirred the green stuff up. He said he was ashamed and that they could not offer a standard like this to the guests, but… nothing ever happened..

So if you enjoy a clean healthy pool and good service, avoid using this hotel.

Room Tip: Bwtween 7-13th floor you will have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golda_TrypH, Gerente geral at Tryp Higienopolis, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Mr. Vinking,
First of all, we would like to thank you for your time and attention spent to offer your review. We are deeply sad that you couldn´t enjoy your stay with us as usually our guests do. In regards to your concerns, I would like to collect more information about your whole experience so I´ll be able to provide you with a better feedback, please feel free to contact me at gergeral.higienopolis@tryphotels.com.br. You can rest assure that all those issues will be taken care immediately and, should you consider us for your next stay in São Paulo, I´ll be more than happy to speak with you personally.
Thank you & Best Regards, Golda Boruchowski – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Very nice hotel in a safe, residential, tranquil neighborhood (Higienopolis), while close to Paulista neighborhood and beyond (nightlife). High End shopping Mall around the corner (by foot), and more charming residential walks nearby.(As a North European, I was impresse by the extensive "cemiterio". Definite plus here the charming neighborhood.
Very good (local-standards) service and efficiency (this is not a Grand Hyatt, whose "New Brooklyn" location and neighborhood does not allow for 3 steps outside on foot). Ok breakfast, ok Gym,

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golda_TrypH, Gerente geral at Tryp Higienopolis, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear FrequentTraveller77,
Thanks for dedicate some of your time to review the TRYP Higienópolis Hotel, our entire team is more than happy to know that we could deliver good times for your stay in São Paulo. We hope to have you here soon, in this opportunity we would like to show you more about the city we are passionate about and make your stay even more enjoyable.
Best Regards,
Golda Boruchowski, Gerente Geral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Surprisingly similar to Novotel (even the room furniture), this Tryp hotel had a nice location in a quiet residential area, still close to downtown São Paulo and Paulista. Breakfast was nice and service was friendly. Shopping mall just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Tryp is a nice hotel in a very comfortable and safe part of Sao Paulo. The rooms are clean and comfortable, cafe is good for breakfast and it is just a short walk to lovely high end shopping mall and in the other direction a number of nice restaurants.
Check in/out can be slow, which is the only hinderance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golda_TrypH, Gerente geral at Tryp Higienopolis, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Mr. George G.
First of all, I would like to thank you for taking your time to comment about the TRYP Higienópolis Hotel. It is a pleasure to read it and learn how we can improve our services and keep up the good work we are doing so far. I would like to apologize about the time you spent during your check in/out, however, you can rest assured that we´ll be working hard to correct it, then you´ll have more time to enjoy the venues our hotel offers. I hope we can see you again to deliver an exceptional service during your next stay.
Thanks & Best Regards,
Golda Boruchowski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tryp Higienopolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Higienopolis

Address: Rua Maranhao 371, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01402-002 , Brazil (Formerly Melia Confort Higienopolis)
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#21 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
#40 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Higienopolis 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Melia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tryp Higienopolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Higienopolis Hotel Sao Paulo
Tryp Sao Paulo
Tryp Hotel Higienopolis
Tryp Higienopolis Sao Paulo, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tryp Higienopolis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.