We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves the 5-Star Reputation, Especially for Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hotel Porto Bay Sao Paulo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added L'Hotel Porto Bay Sao Paulo to your Saves list
L'Hotel Porto Bay Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Al. Campinas 266 | Jardim Paulista, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo, Brazil (Bela Vista)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 309 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stittsville, Canada
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Deserves the 5-Star Reputation, Especially for Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was my second stay at the L'Hotel Porto Bay, which I specifically rebooked after my first stay. Sadly my subsequent trips were further south of the city, and it's wasn't feasible to stay here again.

As before I arrived straight off a red-eye flight dreary, but Carolina was working again and was able to quickly get me a room to relax in. This room was on one of the lower floors this time, and didn't seem to be as newly renovated as my previous room. At the same time, it still provided me with everything that I needed, and was very comfortable to relax in.

Quickly went up to the top level to go for a relaxing swim in the open swimming pool, and enjoyed a good workout in the gym which had a few new items within it.

Breakfast - 5-star! Always a wide selection and prompt refills of coffee. As I previously mentioned, there was always an English printout of The Times to read as I tried to wake up and prepare for the day. Also ordered room service a few times, with their delicious burger.

Hotel staff were always friendly with great service, and although I don't usually take advantage of "full-service" hotels, they were able to help me out with a late departure.

Always a great choice, with a safe location off Paulista Ave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    124
    37
    7
    5
See reviews for
60
219
46
219
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I just finished a stay of a few days in Sao Paulo on a business trip. My choice for this hotel was based on the reviews and the rating on TripAdvisor. It's an excellent hotel indeed. I arrived rather early in the morning and got a room right away. The reception people are very friendly and helpful and the restaurant is a marvel. The breakfast is one of the best I ever had in South-America. It's a combination of a very nice buffet with other things you can order. I also had dinner with a collegue at this reataurant once and it was really very good well.
Location is a plus as well with a metro station very close by.
The only downside was that the Wifi wasn't stable, actually half of the time there was no Wifi at all and this at various moments, but I also experienced this in other nice hotels in Brazil, I am not sure if you have to blame the hotel or the Brazilian Internet. When the Wifi was working, it worked very good though.
To be recommended indeed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Revisited Porto Bay before staying at the Fasano. This hotel offers similar quality for half the price. A bit of a walk to the luxury brand stores and art galleries, but given the price differential with Fasano, this is a very good bet. Only disappointment is the gym which offers virtually nothing in the way of equipment...fix that and this would be a definitely "go to".

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Not the largest and in the main business area in Sao Paulo but the Hotel cannot be faulted for comfort and service. A really comfortable stay. We would recommend to both business and leisure travellers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was my first stay and I'm sure will be my preferred choice next time. You feel welcomed all the time, the staff is gentle, very well trained, helpful: they really look after you! The breakfast is fabulous, specially the pastries, the atmosphere is very elegant and the location is just perfect. The room is clean and comfortable. Can't wait to come back!! I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Being a brazilian, stayed there last year to a couple days off, for a romantic time with my wife.
She's aware of how picky I am when we're in a travel and how I care about nice rooms and some time away from our kids noise.
That was a nice surprise on my bday!

Location is the middle of Av Paulista, but somehow they manage to keep the noise and frenzy outside.
Clean, smells, good, Nespresso machines at your disposal in-room, great breakfast - only behind Sofitel's.

Linens and mattress the way you care.

Great bed, strong showers and to top it off, well trained staff.

A tad expensive but you won't find any miracles in this city. Low rates in São Paulo means bad, very bad experiences.

If you live in the city, a nice getaway. If not, a safe bet.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

When visiting Sao Paulo service wasn't so good in most places but this Hotel offered world class service and the location was within minutes of the great restaurants and shops. I highly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: check travelocity or hotels.com for great deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Hotel Porto Bay Sao Paulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel Porto Bay Sao Paulo

Address: Al. Campinas 266 | Jardim Paulista, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Bela Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sao Paulo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#7 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
#7 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L'Hotel Porto Bay Sao Paulo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosmopolitan city of São Paulo, the financial capital of Latin America, is the setting for the five star L' Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo. Situated on Alameda Campinas, 50 metres away from the corner of Avenida Paulista, and close to the best restaurants, bars, museums and stores selling the most emblematic brands in the world, L' Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo offers a central location without the bustle of the main avenue. Designed in a European style, the sophistication of this boutique hotel is perfectly complemented by high standards of service and comfort. Particular care has been taken with the quality of products and materials used in the hotel. Single pieces of Art can also be found, for example the presence of a Flemish tapestry woven in Brussels in the second half of the XVIth century bought at a Christie's auction in London. This 83 room boutique hotel has a restaurant, SPA, indoor pool, gym and offers a very personalised standard of service. Special occasions, weddings, shopping, art and culture... Special, personalised events designed to meets its guests' requirements. L'Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Splendia and Priceline so you can book your L'Hotel Porto Bay Sao Paulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Hotel Porto Bay Sao Paulo Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hotel Porto Bay Sao Paulo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.