We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant oasis from the madness of São Paulo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Hotel Porto Bay Sao Paulo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added L'Hotel Porto Bay Sao Paulo to your Saves list
L'Hotel Porto Bay Sao Paulo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Al. Campinas 266 | Jardim Paulista, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01404-000, Brazil   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
R$400 (BRL)
Ranked #6 of 306 Hotels in Sao Paulo
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A pleasant oasis from the madness of São Paulo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

It's a hell of a place, São Paulo, for those of us used to the structured urbanism of the west. It took me time to adjust and having the sanctuary of this hotel certainly helped in that process. It has a European air to it, both in terms of decor and service. It's also perfectly located just off Avenue Paulista so offers easy access to some of the most pleasant parts of the city. The rooms aren't huge but that's more than compensated for by the overall ambience. The restaurant is great too.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rúben L, General Manager at L'Hotel Porto Bay Sao Paulo, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Mr. James, Thank you for your review and for highlighting so many positive points during your stay. Our location is definitely a great attribute and this is a major factor when you are choosing a hotel in Sao Paulo. I look forward to welcoming you back in a near future. Your faithfully, Rúben Leme – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    110
    33
    6
    3
See reviews for
55
190
41
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stittsville, Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I chose this hotel primarily based on it's price and location - it was far less expenses than most international hotels in the area, and located slightly off Paulista Ave, one of the main (and safest) streets in Sao Paulo.

Upon arrival I was immediately welcomed, and coming off an 11-hour red-eye was immediately given a room at noon. The room itself was possibly one of their more recently renovated rooms, spacious and with everything I needed. The view was to the west over a construction site, but I didn't mind that - it was actually quit interesting to watch them work, and their noise didn't disturb me.

The hotel staff was amazing - especially Carolina, whom every morning would greet me by name. Breakfast was great as well - 5-star service and very friendly staff, and daily printouts of the English New York Times was a great feature, even if I was Canadian!

The little touches were the icing on the cake - the closeness to Paulista for both shopping and supermarkets for water, as well as the nightly turn-down service. I normally was in my room and didn't take advantage, but the mint and daily weather updates were fantastic.

The exercise room was small, but infrequently used - I never had a problem getting on the treadmill, although some free weights would have been great to have. I like the open pool as well, and the late hours available for it as well. I didn't take advantage of the spa, but would next time!

The only issue I had was the outlets - it looks like Sao Paulo is in the process of changing electrical sockets, and I found three different types in my room. Very hard to plan for travel adapters!

All-in-all, I'd chose this hotel first over any others in Sao Paulo!

Room Tip: I enjoyed the higher floors, where there seem to be more recently renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rúben L, General Manager at L'Hotel Porto Bay Sao Paulo, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Jeff, I would like to thank you for your detailed review and for complimenting our staff. It is good to see that your enjoyed your stay at L'Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo. Your recommendation is truly important to us. We look forward to welcome you back again. Yours sincerely, Rúben Leme - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I agree with all the reviews here. Perfect boutique hotel in a perfect location. Located right off Avenida Paulista, the hotel is walking distance to 2 metro stations. There is HSBC and Citibank less than 5 minute walk away. 10 minute walk to Sao Paulo Museum of Art. 30 minute downhill walk to Ibirapuera Park. On Avenida Santos, which is 2 blocks away, there is a large Starbucks and many small restaurants and cafes. For a taste of local Brazil, I went to Lanchonete Cinderella, which is on Ave Santos and Rue Pamplona. If you don't feel like local food, there is McDonalds and many small cafes/resturants on Rue Pamplona.

As for hotel, the customer service is sublime. The rooms are nice and high end. Nice lounge on second floor. Small pool and workout room on top floor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rúben L, General Manager at L'Hotel Porto Bay Sao Paulo, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and comments about the L´Hotel Porto Bay. São Paulo is a cosmopolitan city, being next to Paulista Avenue is a really nice opportunity to know the best of it. We look forward to welcome you back soon. Your sincerely, Rúben Leme – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico city
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The service is excellent ! The hotel comfortable and very clean.
An elegant place to stay in Sao Paulo! I will recommended it for sure! The people at the reception is very attentive Breakfast very complete. I felt I was in europe!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rúben L, General Manager at L'Hotel Porto Bay Sao Paulo, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review regarding your stay at L'Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo. It is good to see that your enjoyed our services and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back in a near future. Your faithfully, Rúben Leme – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This well-located boutique hotel provides excellent, unobtrusive service, good value for money (especially by current Brazilian standards), a helpful 24-hour business centre, fine and varied breakfast, and well equipped rooms (even though they are quite small). On balance, the best hotel I experienced during a 12-day trip to Brazil involving six establishments. I could not recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rúben L, General Manager at L'Hotel Porto Bay Sao Paulo, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at L'Hotel Porto Bay. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us and also for the recommendation. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back soon in our hotel in your next trip to São Paulo . Your sincerely, Rúben Leme – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is an excellent option in Sao Paolo. It´s located just a half block from Av. Paulista very close of shopping centers and downtown. The hotel is a small property but is very nice and comfortable. My room was facing to the back street so also was very quiet. All services are very good. Staff is friendly and helpful. Also the breakfast is very good and food is excellent.

Room Tip: Any room is very well located and nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rúben L, General Manager at L'Hotel Porto Bay Sao Paulo, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Mr. David, thank you very much for your comments about the L´Hotel Porto Bay´s team, services and the food quality. Our location is definitely a great attribute and this is a major factor when you are choosing a hotel in Sao Paulo. I look forward to welcoming you back in a near future. Yours faithfully, Rúben Leme – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I love this hotel. I was in Sao Paulo on holiday. The breakfast was the best - sit out side and get your champagne and fresh fruit.
The location is great and close to the Jardim where all the good restaurants are. Would love to come back to this hotel

Room Tip: Remember to get a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rúben L, General Manager at L'Hotel Porto Bay Sao Paulo, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at L'Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo. The room with a terrace actually has a cozy and elegant atmosphere at the private outside area. We hope to welcome you back soon. Yours sincerely, Rúben Leme – General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Hotel Porto Bay Sao Paulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotel Porto Bay Sao Paulo

Address: Al. Campinas 266 | Jardim Paulista, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01404-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#3 Spa Hotel in Sao Paulo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#6 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L'Hotel Porto Bay Sao Paulo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosmopolitan city of São Paulo, the financial capital of Latin America, is the setting for the five star L' Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo. Situated on Alameda Campinas, 50 metres away from the corner of Avenida Paulista, and close to the best restaurants, bars, museums and stores selling the most emblematic brands in the world, L' Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo offers a central location without the bustle of the main avenue. Designed in a European style, the sophistication of this boutique hotel is perfectly complemented by high standards of service and comfort. Particular care has been taken with the quality of products and materials used in the hotel. Single pieces of Art can also be found, for example the presence of a Flemish tapestry woven in Brussels in the second half of the XVIth century bought at a Christie's auction in London. This 83 room boutique hotel has a restaurant, SPA, indoor pool, gym and offers a very personalised standard of service. Special occasions, weddings, shopping, art and culture... Special, personalised events designed to meets its guests' requirements. L'Hotel Porto Bay São Paulo offers free Wi-Fi throughout the whole hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your L'Hotel Porto Bay Sao Paulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Hotel Porto Bay Sao Paulo Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Hotel Porto Bay Sao Paulo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.