We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true boutique gem - understated luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emiliano Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Emiliano Hotel to your Saves list
Emiliano Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Oscar Freire 384 | Jardins, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01426-000 , Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 306 Hotels in Sao Paulo
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“A true boutique gem - understated luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

I selected this hotel after reading reviews and also as it was part of the Fine Hotel Programme with Amex. As an overall comment it certainly did not disappoint.

Unfortunately I did not receive the room upgrade as they were full during the stay but did take advantage of the 50 minute massage. The pool area, next to the day spa, has some great views across the city (if you like tall buildings).

The rooms themselvers were very, very cool filled with wood and elegant beige. Complementary internet, fruit and wine were fantastic touches. The addition of an Eames airmchair really finished the room off. One of the coolest things in the room was the minibar. The fridge was in two drawers rather than your traditional fridge.

The bathroom was of an excellent size and great bathrobes and towels. I also strongly encourage you to use/steal the soap - fantastic stuff.

Breakfast in the hotel is also an excellent treat. There was a great range of bakery items and other delights on offer. The staff were fantastic. We also dined in the restaurant one night. Again the service, food and wine were second to none.

We did have a couple of problems. Firstly with the lighting in the room which refused to turn off! It baffled maintenance for a while to the point where they switched them all off for the night. It was fixed by morning. There was also a mess up on departure where i had ordered the hotel car to take us to the airport but they forgot to book it. They claimed we had not done this but it was confirmed to us the night before. It was a shame as the staff had been very good.

I would definately recommend the property generall and cerainly over any of the main chains.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    40
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
23
92
26
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

We are fortunate to have stayed in some wonderful hotels in different parts of the world but we think this wins our prize for the best. We loved its amazing but discreet service; the efficient but friendly reception on arrival; the fact they remembered our name even though we only stayed one night; the bag they brought me to put my shopping in; the bottles of water they brought out to the car when we left.

Our room had all the amenities we could wish for. We loved the flip flops instead of slippers and the turn-down staff, noticing my shoe size was smaller than the flip flops in the room, went and found a pair exactly my size. All without a word. This is our idea of service.

The hotel is beautifully decorated in modern style. Sadly we didn't have time to use the spa even though we were offered a complimentary massage.

The restaurant was excellent. Breakfast was good (not a buffet) although not the best we've ever had.

Every hotelier should learn from this one.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

Absolutely wonderful experience! From the moment we stepped in to the sad goodbye! This is what every five star hotel should be. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

Wow! What a fantastic place to stay. This small boutique hotel has great service and wonderful rooms. The location is fantastic, as it is close to shopping and dining. The concierge is especially helpful with restaurant and shopping recommendations. Make sure to enjoy the continental breakfast at the hotel, which is probably the largest portion of breads and pastries with delicious jams, cheeses, and meats. This hotel is a wonderful place to stay! I would highly recommend it if you are on your way to Sao Paulo!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisbon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2008

What a experience !!! Fantastic Hotel !! Very nice location !!!
The Hotel is really good , very nice rooms , weell decorated !!
and the bath rooms are nice !!
Breakfast isnot a buffet , but is ok !!!
Staff - very helpfull , and nice !!!!!
I really recomnend this boutique Hotel
All the ambience in Hotel - Bar , Restaurant is "super" !!!!

  • Liked — The Room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

I've stayed at the Emiliano, Fasano, Grand Hyatt and Renaissance in Sao Paulo and would rate the Emiliano as my favourite hotel in Sao Paulo. All of the small touches are there to make it a fantastic experience, the complimentary massage, the free internet, the fresh fruit etc. Additionally the bed and bedding is probably the most comfortable i have ever experienced. It's a very modern hotel - if you prefer old world look with similar luxury i would recommend the Fasano.

One small gripe i did have with my last trip (and the first gripe i have every had with the hotel )was the taxi ride to the airport. I wanted a regular taxi and not the hotel car. When the regular taxi arrived i was told that it was a flat rate of R$110 to the airport and i could either pay the hotel or the taxi driver. In retrospect i should have argued as we were travelling to the airport on a sunny sunday afternoon with no traffic and i'm sure the cost would have been roughly half of this had we used the meter. Partly my fault for not arguing with the hotel employees.

  • Liked — Boutique luxury
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aracatuba, SP
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2008

Stayed there for a night on my honeymoon and it was great! Service is perfect and food wonderful. They gave us a massage at the spa wich has a magnificent look of the entire city.

  • Liked — Confortable and service
  • Disliked — nothing...
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Emiliano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emiliano Hotel

Address: Rua Oscar Freire 384 | Jardins, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01426-000 , Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#10 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Emiliano Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emiliano is Brazil’s finest example of world class luxury hospitality. The hotel introduced a unique and exclusive luxury experience to São Paulo, the world’s fifth-largest city, which has confirmed its place as the artistic and cultural capital of South America. Emiliano is located in the charming Jardins neighborhood, on Brazil’s most fashionable shopping Street: Oscar Freire. Oscar Freire represents to São Paulo what Rodeo Drive is to Los Angeles or Rue due Faubourg Saint-Honoré is to Paris, and is surrounded by upscale boutiques, art galleries, fine restaurants, cafés and headquarters of major corporations.Emiliano has set the pace in redefining luxury accommodation in São Paulo and has become a luxury icon since our opening in June 2001. Our guests experience authentic and modern Brazilian sophistication through our contemporary ambience, refined cuisine and singularly warm service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Emiliano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emiliano Hotel Sao Paulo, Brazil
Emiliano Sao Paulo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emiliano Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.