We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary hotel which will be hard to top” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emiliano Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Emiliano Hotel to your Saves list
Emiliano Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Oscar Freire 384 | Jardins, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01426-000 , Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 306 Hotels in Sao Paulo
savannah, GA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Extraordinary hotel which will be hard to top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed in the marvelous Emiliano in Sao Paulo. Arriving late at night, we were called by name from our arrival to our last moment there. The service was astounding. The staff was so cordial, helpful and accommodating. The sumptuous beds were exquisitely appointed, the linen covered table with delectable desserts and fruit plus a bottle of premium wine awaiting our arrival, massages for each to welcome us in the lovely spa, huge fragrant soaps in the bathroom with heated Japanese toilet, powerful shower, and every detail of our room just right. The continental breakfast was served in a tranquil dining room, and the fruits, juices, cheeses and pastries top-notch. All recommendations from the concierge staff were spot-on excellent. The neighborhood is choice, with gorgeous shops and restaurants, and the hotel is near many interesting attractions. We felt pampered, and we were rested and restored after a week of business in northern Brazil where hotels are mostly third-world and barely habitable. We were so delighted with the Emiliano. It was a treat to be there, and was probably one of the best hotels we have stayed in during our many years of travel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Sao Paulo. It was memorable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Emiliano, Proprietário at Emiliano Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Dear Mr. Greenberg,

We are extremely happy with all the compliments you have done to the Emiliano and to our team and we will definitely extend your comments to them who will feel much rewarded. The complementary items and details offered by our team are definitely the difference we aim for.

Moreover, the sidewalk is been refurbished and the Oscar Freire Street will look even better!

We hope to see you back soon in the Emiliano.

Best Regards,

Gustavo Filgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    40
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
23
92
26
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

As a fellow hotelier, I was very excited to stay at Emiliano Hotel, on a business trip to São Paulo. And my stay was beyond expectations! Being a hotelier makes you an annoying person during trips, because you notice and criticize everything on other hotels. I have to say that Emiliano Hotel nears perfection when it comes to customer service. I stayed at a deluxe twin room, and absolutely loved it. The room is large, beds are super comfy, bathroom full of light (very rare). Bathroom amenities are very nice, natural and made of Brazilian products (flowers, fruits, and nuts). Minibar also offers the best products. We were greeted with a wine bottle in the room, fresh peaches, and during turndown service, housekeeping left the most delicate pastries for us (so much better than those chocolates over the bed!), and personalized Havaianas (flip flops)close to the bed. The room was very quiet and the rooms have curtains that make it totally dark, providing perfect sleep quality.
If you stay at Emiliano, be sure to have dinner at their restaurant. Food was absolutely amazing, and the wine list is great.
All said, the hotel provides an amazing, classy and elegant hospitality experience, and they spoil you so much, that it is worth every cent. Very important to say: unlike some other hotels in São Paulo, Emiliano Hotel is not a snob place. They truly make you feel at home.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Emiliano, Proprietário at Emiliano Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Dear Amanda,

As hoteliers we do have strong opinions and criticisms however yours couldn’t please us more. From the “Brazilianess” of our service and amenities to our minimal details, you hit them all.

Thank you very much for your feedback and comments!

Sincerely,

Gustavo Filgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

1/3 of their rooms are suites and 2/3 are standard rooms.My colleagues stay in the standard rooms and they are excellent.
I stay in the the suites,they are beautiful,very large,excelent interior design,feels like being in a wonderful home not a hotel room.Fantastic entertaining and dining spaces.
Great bathroom.Beautiful toiletries.

Service.Unbeatable......So friendly,helpful and professional.
2 free items a day for pressing.

Location Great for restaurants and shopping and just walking around.

The Lobby is understated so dont expect to be blown away and the restaurant though light and pretty is not special in design.

Negatives
The lifts are appalling...slow slow slow..only 2 for this tall building...the hotels biggest weakness.
It is very expensive.....but so is everywhere in this city.But hey it is all that is good about San Paolo,so i dont want to quibble.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

nice stay,but not the Fasano,excellent service,carpet in lift very dirty,eggs benedict awful,
Warm toilet seat nice,very well located.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

I spend over 100 nights per year in hotels - 4 and 5 star properties. The Emiliano Hotel is one of the best Latin American properties I've ever experienced.

The good and the great:

1.) Rooms are supremely comfortable with high quality furnishings and decor. We had a suite and a standard room for a friend travelling with us. Go for the suites! The standard rooms were very nice but unexceptional. If you're going to splurge and stay in a very expensive property like the Emiliano go all the way and enjoy a suite.

The suites are decorated with blond woods, zen-like decor moderated with plush comfortable furnishings. They are spacious and very well decorated. Bathroom amenities are high quality and suite bathrooms feature a claw-foot bathtub.

If you enjoy a luxurious hotel room and plan on spending a lot of time relaxing and enjoying your suite the Emiliano is perfect for you!

2.) Location is excellent. Jardins area is the only area of Sao Paulo that I find pleasing. The city is enormous and drab. Jardins area is a pleasant pedestrian friendly area and the Emiliano is located in the heart of Jardins.

3.) Service - amazing. The employees of the Emiliano are exceptionally well trained service professionals. The front desk and bellmen / doormen speak English fluently. Believe me this is a genuine luxury in Sao Paulo! F&B staff spoke English farily well but not as fluent as I expected. Some service difficulties were apparent in the dining room due to language barriers.

Service here is genuine. No fake pleasantries. The employees of the Emiliano know they work at the best hotel in Sao Paulo and are proud dedicated professionals.

Breakfast is ample, delicious and served in a gorgeous dining room with a garden wall and lots of natural light with beautiful jazz & blues playing in the background. Perfect start to the day.

The gym / spa are a bit disappointing. As the Emiliano is a very small hotel it doesn't offer the luxury of space so the gym and spa facilities while aesthetically pleasing are a bit small and underwhelming.

Value for money? As with everything in Brazil at the moment the Emiliano is not a great value.. Expect a credit card melting experience.

Upon request a Nespresso machine will be provided in room. Coffee capsules are billed for which I find irritating for a hotel of this price point.

We experienced a few internet, airconditioning and hot water in the shower problems. These issues were handled immediately by the highly efficient staff.

Overall an exceptional small hotel with an amazing staff. Does it compare to the best hotels of Asia? No. Is it one of the best in Latin America. Yes, beyond a shadow of a doubt. Is it outrageously expensive. Yes. This is a hotel for aesthetically oriented people who delight in excellent service and have an ample budget to indulge themselves. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

Great hotel, perfect location! Cafés, shops and restaurants in walking distance. Staff is very friendly, breakfast is exceptional.
Rooms are comfortable, clean. Here and there they should change carpets esp. in hallways.
Spa on the other hand is a bit disappointing. Perfectly located on the top floor but only hot tubs?
Nevertheless, since one can't compare Brazilian 5* with e.g. Asian 5* hotels, this is the place to stay in Sao Paulo!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Emiliano, Proprietário at Emiliano Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
All feedbacks are very important to our hotel, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as our location and facilities. Regarding our Spa, we have two distinctive areas being the Ofuros and Jacuzzis along with the quick massages chairs one of them and the Massage Rooms and Dry Sauna the other. We will renovate the Emiliano Spa this year and we hope we can host you again in order to undo your initial impression.

Thank you again for all your compliments.

Best wishes,

Gustavo Filgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

First of all: Brazilian 5-star hotel are never as good as American or Asian 5-star hotels. So you really can't compare them on an international level but within Brazil.
The Emiliano is the best in Sao Paulo. Fantastic staff, the best location, nice design. The carpets throughout the hotel needs to be exchanged and there are little hidden faults if you really look hard - but in general the hotel is the best to pick.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emiliano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emiliano Hotel

Address: Rua Oscar Freire 384 | Jardins, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01426-000 , Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#10 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Emiliano Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emiliano is Brazil’s finest example of world class luxury hospitality. The hotel introduced a unique and exclusive luxury experience to São Paulo, the world’s fifth-largest city, which has confirmed its place as the artistic and cultural capital of South America. Emiliano is located in the charming Jardins neighborhood, on Brazil’s most fashionable shopping Street: Oscar Freire. Oscar Freire represents to São Paulo what Rodeo Drive is to Los Angeles or Rue due Faubourg Saint-Honoré is to Paris, and is surrounded by upscale boutiques, art galleries, fine restaurants, cafés and headquarters of major corporations.Emiliano has set the pace in redefining luxury accommodation in São Paulo and has become a luxury icon since our opening in June 2001. Our guests experience authentic and modern Brazilian sophistication through our contemporary ambience, refined cuisine and singularly warm service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Emiliano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emiliano Hotel Sao Paulo, Brazil
Emiliano Sao Paulo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emiliano Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.