We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Unique

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Unique to your Saves list
Hotel Unique
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Brigadeiro Luis Antonio, 4700 | Jardim Paulista, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01402-002, Brazil (Jardins)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 309 Hotels in Sao Paulo
England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

Just arrived back and wanted to say how great the Unique hotel is. From arrival to departure I could not fault a single aspect of our stay. We stayed 2 nights at the begining of our holiday, arrived at 9 am after a 12 hour flight ,no problem with an early check in ! Glass of champagne , ok a tad early to be drinking but it was offered so we accepted. Room upgrade , nice touch . The rooms themselves are not huge but I would say more than adequate, Bed comffy loads of different sized soft pillows great bathroom with whirlpool bath and great shower above all very clean too. Another nice touch was at night they put a coconut in the room for you to drink the fresh coconut milk. Bar and restaurant on the roof fantastic , the martinis are amazing have to try them. Service and food first class. After nearly 3 weeks of traveling I stayed again at the hotel this time alone , on checkin the guy recognised me and got the upgrade etc etc . In the evening I went for a drink and some dinner again the staff recognised me . To sum it all up if your looking for a modern chilled Hotel with great friendly informal service then this is the place for you ,

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    151
    21
    8
    5
See reviews for
37
221
62
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

The Hotel Unique is a stunning, interesting and great property. It is architecturally unique - a very modern place with great touches. The room was very comfortable - bed, desk, dressing area and large bathroom. Everything was white and immaculately clean. Loved the iPod dock so that I could listen to my own music! The bathroom had a weird (but cool) levered window that could be opened onto the room. The staff was always gracious and helpful. The rooftop is spectacular. From this spot in a low-rise area of Sao Paulo surrounded by a park, you have a stunning view of the city. The rooftop itself is impressive with the red-tiled pool, a nice restaurant and an eye-popping crowd. It's quirky in a very cool, ultra-hip way.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2008

I had room 413. I was woken at 1am by incredibly noisy plumbing. I phoned the desk who told me it was probably the shower in the next door room. Eventually it stopped and I went back to sleep - for about 10 minutes, before it started again. Eventually a maintenance crew appeared, agreed it was a problem (not a neighbour) and I moved to a new room at 2am. This room was quiet, but incredibly hot. And you can't control the A/C from the room....again, I eventually got a crew to appear. With a ladder.

It could have been funny, but I think they focus on the bar and restaurant, not the rooms or the hotel guests. Another example was that having asked for a hotel car with driver, they gave us a driver who really did not know Sao Paulo. He kept getting lost...

Oh, and it took 30 minutes to check in.

The bar on top is great, very cool, excellent views, good drinks and food. But stay elsewhere

  • Liked — The bar on top floor
  • Disliked — The noise, attitude
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2008

I stayed at the Unique during the F1 Grand Prix weekend (due to work commitments - I love my work). Its the funkiest designed hotel ever, with an ultra cool and trendy crowd staying there, coming to eat at the restaurant or drink at the sky bar. But don't let that put you off as the experience is worth wading through any front desk pretenion or ponciness. My girlfriend joined me for 3 nights, has nothing to do with F1 but still loved the funky design, individual room layouts and overall vibe. The rooftop pool is long and narrow, so not much good for workouts, but provides an awesome panaroma of Sao Paulo. There is also a basement pool, gym and water slide - yep, water slide. The Unique is half way between the super-rich 'Jardins' area and Morumbi business hotel district, but sits walking distance from the city's best park, so not too bad for touristy monument spotting things. If you can afford it, stay here or at least visit the sky bar one night. The 'Unique' lives up to its name.

  • Liked — Design - good design and funkiness exudes throughout. Lifts are a bit dark thou !!
  • Disliked — A bit 'too cool for school' at times - but go with the flow and all is good
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

We stayed here for two nights, the first two of our honeymoon. The service was impeccable. The room we had was small, but quaint. Like a studio apartment in a trendy building. Beautiful bathroom and comfy bed, loved the stereo with ability to plug our iPod in! The first night, there was a treat every hour or so, first chocolate strawberries, then coco gelados and then chocolate turn down service...my wife was in heaven.

The hotel restaurant had a nice crowd and descent food. Pool was great, would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — The pool and service were great!
  • Disliked — Neighbourhood is ok, near the park, but not much else.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

The hotel is extremely beautiful, with very modern architecture, a beatiful lobby and really nice and clean modern rooms. The restaurant on the top is very trendy and serves an amazing (but expensive) breakfast and the pool provides one of the most amazing views of Sao Paulo's skyline.

The problems here:
- The restaurant on the top keeps busy and noisy into the night. The noise does spill to the top room floors
- The staff has a serious attitude problem and are pretty useless to provide information / sort out problems.

All in all, a good experience.

  • Liked — Hotel design and architecture
  • Disliked — Very noisy
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

I have stayed travelled to Sao Paulo several times on business. This is the only hotel that I have stayed multiple times - I can't get enough of it.

The rooms are very comfortable.

The spa and workout are is first-class.

The roof deck and food is delicious.

Visiting this hotel is a real treat - I can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — great service, clean, cutting edge
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Unique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Unique

Address: Avenida Brigadeiro Luis Antonio, 4700 | Jardim Paulista, Sao Paulo, State of Sao Paulo 01402-002, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Sao Paulo > Sao Paulo > Jardins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sao Paulo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sao Paulo
#2 Business Hotel in Sao Paulo
#4 Family Hotel in Sao Paulo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Unique 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Unique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unique Hotel Sao Paulo
Unique Sao Paulo
Hotel Unique Sao Paulo, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Unique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.